Signs of Life

Yes, I am still here just inundated by…well, by life. I realized that I never got around to making the big announcement I had talked about in my last post (and was wondering why some ppl were asking me on instagram, until I realized that I never announced on here). The FI and I are moving to Michigan!!!!

michigan

He is going back to school at the University of Michigan (GO BLUE!) and I accepted an appointment as assistant professor at a liberal arts college nearby. We’re so excited because Ann Arbor is just a fantastic place to live–and I say that not just because I am from there. We will totally miss all of our Cville friends and everything that makes living here unique: vineyards, mountains, music, southern charm, UVa. But I have this inkling that we may be back in the future.

What else is new in my world:

My fourth bride blogger post is up today on Charlottesville Wedding Blog. It highlights the engagement sessions we had with two photographers so you’ve probably already seen all the pictures here on my blog, but I like how that post puts them all together. So go take a gander.

cwb

I’ve been super busy trying to fit in all that is Cville before I have to move in August. In just a week and a half I’ve gone to a wedding at Keswick, the Pink Polo Charity Match (remember last year’s?), a charity dinner by Hill and Holler, summer solstice party (flowers in hair required! ๐Ÿ™‚ ), picnicked at Jefferson Vineyard, and dined alfresco on my friend’s rooftop patio. WHOA we’ve been busy!

SAMSUNGDSC_0822DSC_0837alfresco2DSC_0903alfrescoSAMSUNGhill hollerSAMSUNGSAMSUNGSAMSUNGjeffersonSAMSUNG

On the fitness front, I’ve still been running–although my knee is acting up again. I’ve also been doing a lot more yoga this summer. I’m not sure how I feel about that yet. My arms are getting a little too muscular for my taste so I might scale back a bit. Making that difficult is the fact that we have a new yoga studio here in town, Opal Yoga. It is soley a vineyasa studio, which I love. It’s the only kind of yoga I do. None of that heated, Bikramย bull for me (sorry, but the whole heat thing is kind of a bunch of malarky). Opal has a whole bunch of different iterations of vineyasa and even one class that has a live DJ. AMAZE!

opalย opalrunningSo tons of stuff going on in my world right now. Just trying to balance it with the research projects I am working on this summer. I can’t believe it is already the end of June, time has just flown by. I’ll be heading back to Michigan for a week next week and I’m so excited, we’re going to go to our lake house on Lake Michigan for the 4th of July weekend. We bought the house when I was 6 years old and have been spending summers there every since ๐Ÿ™‚ The FI has never been and I can’t wait to take him!

ourlakehouse

The back of our house (with my parent’s frenchie Zinnie!)

ourlakehouse2

View from the house ๐Ÿ™‚

What’s new in your world?

Has summer flown by for you too? What fun summer activities have you done so far?

Plans for 4th of July?

Subscribe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Signs of Life

  1. So jealous you’re moving to Ann Arbor but that’s also incredibly exciting! Congrats!

  2. Jorie says:

    Congrats on the big move! Sounds like lots of excitement in your life right now. ๐Ÿ™‚ I will also be spending the 4th in Michigan, on a smaller lake near Lake Michigan. The best place to be for the long weekend!

  3. this is awesome but I am sad to see you leave this area! cville is amazing but I am sure you will have so many adventures in michigan.

  4. jumpeatrun says:

    Yay!! I am super excited for you guys! And now maybe we will actually be able to meet up in real life some time since most of my family still lives around AA and I am back a couple times each year ๐Ÿ™‚
    Summer is completely flying here too and I am not happy about it!! Enjoy the rest of your time in Cville!

  5. I love all your dresses! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Goodluck! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

