A2 –> WV

Happy Friday friends!

SAMSUNG

I’m just wrapping up another busy week of writing, interviewing, teaching (yup, along with talking about my research I get to teach grad students on my on-campus, day-long interviews, yipeee!), and very little sleep. I’m actually feeling pretty good right now despite the lack of sleep so let’s roll with it.

I have 2 conference calls today for my research jobs and then I’m OFF to drive to Pittsburgh to pick up my sister who is flying in from NYC. Then we will be driving one more hour to Morgantown, where the FI will be waiting for us 🙂 I haven’t seen him all week and I miss him!!! (<— that is overly mushy and annoying, I know).

mcWe won’t be getting into Morgantown until really late…that always seems to happen to me the night before a race! I’m excited although admittedly a little hesitant about this race for other reasons too. If you’ve been with me long enough on here, you know the troubles I have running in the heat and humidity (last summer: fainting, migraines, heat exhaustion, etc). It’s actually the main reason why I decided not to train for and run any full marathons this year. It just wasn’t worth having to put in all the mileage during the crazy hot and humid Virginia summer. Saturday in West Virginia looks like it will be 90 degrees so I’m really nervous about how I’ll feel when I am running. There’s no “pushing through” my heat sensitivity since I feel like I will faint (literally I will feel like I am blacking out), so I might just have to implement a walk-run strategy. UGHHHH not what I was planning but I gotta work with my body.

REMEMBER THIS?

heat exhaustion during the Alexandria Half Marathon

I still have fond memories of that race even though it was hotter than a mother and I had to walk-run the last 4 miles. It’s so fun to do these things with my twin sis. I just can’t believe it’s been a year since we ran this race in D.C.!

uslastyear

looking fresh and ready to go at the start of the race

 After the race on Saturday we’re driving back up to Pittsburgh and staying there for the night. We have tickets to go see a Pirates game so that should be fun! Last time I was in Pittsburgh it was summer of 2009, before I moved to Charlottesville, so it’ll be cool to go back.

me in pittAlright, I’m off to go on the first of 2 conference calls today then I’ll be jamming in my car all the way to Pennsylvania.

What do you have on tap for this weekend? Any fun plans? 

Subscribe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A2 –> WV

  1. pickyrunner says:

    Good luck this weekend!!!

  2. Amanda says:

    I’m the same way with heat and humidity. It’s okay to modify goals 🙂 Good luck and have fun this weekend!

  3. Good luck in the race this weekend — I agree that it’s totally ok to modify goals as you go along. The most important thing is that you stay safe (i.e., not getting heat exhaustion) while having fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

