That’s all she wrote

After 4 years of writing, studying, presenting,  analyzing…and writing, it’s officially over. I have graduated with my PhD, an incredible feat, especially considering the imposter syndrome I used to struggle with. Getting a PhD–the highest degree a university confers–is not easy, if it was everyone would do it. I’m more proud of myself today than I ever have been. I have worked so hard toward something great, persevered through many challenges, and accomplished something BIG 🙂

I feel very emotional when I think about the past 4 years. My first year was ROUGH personally but the rest were all so memorable (if not just ridiculously stressful). I grew up big time over the past 4 years and accomplished many personal and professional things.  This past weekend was a celebration of everything I worked toward and it feels like it’s the end of an era.

DSC_0363DSC_0379DSC_0395DSC_0431SAMSUNGDSC_0510DSC_0518DSC_0461DSC_044218SAMSUNGDSC_0477SAMSUNGI have been blessed to have had so much support from family and friends throughout this whole journey. I now feel a bit of what we runners call post-marathon blues. You train for so long for an event, then it comes and it is AMAZING, then you’re left feeling like “now what”. I know that I am just starting my career in academics, but it is still a bit bittersweet to know that my time as a PhD student is over.

I hope writing about my new experiences on this blog will help me to figure out the new chapter that is starting in my life. Thank you to everyone who has read this blog and provided such encouraging, supportive comments over the past two and a half years. It’s been an incredible ride and I can’t wait to set my next goal…and get after it.

Have you ever struggled with a “post-event” or “post-race” depression (where you worked hard toward a goal, achieved the goal, and felt a bit depressed after it was all over)? 

What is your favorite way to celebrate a big accomplishment? 

Subscribe

This entry was posted in balanced life, Celebrate!, Happy, life in cville, professional life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to That’s all she wrote

  1. Amanda says:

    Congratulations again! Getting a PhD is such a major accomplishment, and I’m glad you’re proud of everything you’ve accomplished. And I totally understand the post-race blues… I have a touch of it now! I think once you get started in your career and do some new things, you’ll be golden 🙂

  2. Congratulations on becoming a DR.! That’s such a big deal!

  3. Congrats lady. This is an amazing accomplishment with a lot of hard work put into it. And holy smokes you and your sister look so much alike

  4. JK says:

    Well done you. Amazing achievement.

    Think you deserve a nice holiday to celebrate.

    I was at uni for 6yrs. The next chapter was very different to the preceding. But at least you get paid and when you leave on a Friday you are done.

    Enjoy the time off. Do things and go places you’ll never get chance to repeat in later life.

  5. Congratulations!! What an amazing accomplishment — that’s fantastic! 🙂

    I totally can related to the post-race/post life-event blues. Whenever I reach an end point that I’ve been working towards for a long time, I spend a few weeks trying to find my footing. When I finished grad school, I found that having the time and ability to read purely for fun was what kept me anchored — and even then, I found that I needed concrete goals to strive towards. That said, congrats again on your Ph.D.!

  6. Julie says:

    Congratulations! 🙂

  7. Hello Dr. Claire! 🙂 Congratulations! Your family must very proud of you! 🙂

  8. Melissa says:

    Congrats, Dr. M! So proud of you–I know how hard you’ve worked and I’m so glad you get to see the fruits of your labor now. I’ve no doubt your next chapter will be equally amazing. MUAH!

Leave a Reply

