Novelty Races–Foam Fest 5k

I’ve been away for a bit, I know. The job hunt has basically hit a “stage 10” time suck level. I have multiple opportunities, which is awesome, but first interviews, then second Skype interviews, then on campus job talks take up time. I’ve also been preparing to graduate with my PhD next weekend. My whole family is coming to town so I am super excited. I got this little beauty in my inbox the other day. Dr. Mitchell? HELLO! Felt so good

dr. I did take time out this past weekend for a little fun. Some of my friends were doing this 5k “Foam Fest” run (I’m not kidding…they have foam runs now) and since I have never done one of these novelty runs–you know, mud runs, color run, etc–I decided to participate. Just a crazy coincidence that this month’s RW had a color run 5k highlighted on the cover

SAMSUNG

We decided to get some floaties and googles. I wouldn’t really say that there was much running since we had to wait in line once we got to  each “obstacle”, but it was really fun nonetheless. I ran between each of the obstacles and slip n slides just to try to get some exercise but I estimate that 80% of the run participants walked the whole thing. We were running past most people and the race was SUPER easy. You could tell that a majority of people there couldn’t run a mile straight. So it makes me wonder whether these races really do get people into running more OR if they are just a fun crazy thing for most people to do on a given day. I was kind of hoping the former, but from what I saw with the Foam Fest 5k, the latter seems to be true.

5kfoam

foam SAMSUNG foam5 SAMSUNG SAMSUNG SAMSUNG SAMSUNGI probably won’t do another one of these runs again, first because it was expensive and second because there just wasn’t much running involved (I swear it was less than a 5k, but maybe that’s because I never run that short distance anymore). But I’m glad I finally did one of these novelty runs. It was a fun reprieve and now it’s back to my #yearofthehalfmary 🙂

Today was Mother’s Day, and since my Mom is up in Michigan, I spent it with the FI and our fur baby. We took advantage of the beautiful weather and went on a nice long walk

sophwalk3

just look at that happy smile frolicking through the grass

SAMSUNG SAMSUNG Sophie was such a happy girl. Now we’re settling in for one of our favorite nights of TV, with Game of Thrones and Mad Men.

Have you ever run a novelty race? Color run, mud run, obstacle race, foam fest? What did you think?

Subscribe

This entry was posted in active life, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Novelty Races–Foam Fest 5k

  1. pickyrunner says:

    HOW DID I MISS THIS?!?! I would be in heaven, no joke! What a fun “race” 🙂

  2. Melissa says:

    Yeah, I don’t think I’d do one of those races for the exact reasons you said, but fun to do all the obstacles and just be goofy with friends for sure 🙂 Good luck with the job search–no fun at all! But super fun to be a DOCTOR!! woot woo!

  3. Congrats on the job interviews and on your impending graduation — those are some seriously amazing accomplishments! 🙂

    I love the looks of that 5K; I can’t run long distances anymore due to my knees being total haters, but I love the idea of obstacle courses and general goofiness. This one looks awesome, and it’s great that you were able to do it!

  4. Marissa says:

    I’ve never heard of a foam run before! That sounds fun! I also have been wanting to try a novelty race because I have never done one… but the wallet is saying no! I think that in the future if I do one it will be a mud run/obstacle course run.

  5. Amanda says:

    I signed up to do the Color Run a few weeks ago, but forgot to set an alarm. I volunteered at the Color Vibe, and it was fun! I don’t know if I’ll sign up for another novelty run since they are so expensive and not really about running, but I might do a mud run someday. They seem fun and challenging!

  6. HOW!!!! That looks sooo awesome and fun!!1
    That Runner’s World Magazine cover just made me sign up for one too!!! 🙂 I did mudrun last year and I can’t wait to do the Color run this time! Running is supposed to be fun right?! 🙂

  7. Liz says:

    I’ve been saying for the longest time that I don’t do novelty races, which is sad because I have a ton of friends invite me to them. My response is always, “I’m too competitive for that; it won’t bode well for me.” I mean I get that they are enjoyable and new, etc., but I’ve done one poorly-planned mud run and the MetroDash, and the combination of the two threw me off of those races for the future. Seriously though, I paid a good amount of money for the MetroDash to only run less than 10 minutes. Not my cup of tea! Congrats on the job interviews–we will have to catch up soon!

Leave a Reply

