My Skin Care Faves

Alternatively titled: Wear Your Sunscreen

It’s been awhile since I’ve done a “fave” post PLUS summer is coming and that means it’s time to take stock of our skin care regimens (yes, this goes for guys too).

I’ll say this before, I’ll say it again. And again. And again: WEAR SUNSCREEN. Oh, and wear a hat!!!!

IMG_0711

Wear a HAT (and sunscreen)!

I say that not only as a dermatologist’s daughter but also as a 30-year-old (sigh) person growing older and noticing changes in my skin. Starting around age 25-26 I became super careful in the sun and with my skin and for that I am so grateful because I have minimal wrinkles as of now. But if I could go back to before I was 25 and slap myself around a bit and slather sunscreen on every day I would.

eww

umm, eww

Because you think you’re immune to it when you’re young but YOU’RE NOT. The effects of being in the sun won’t even be noticeable until you’re my age (and not truly noticeable, if you wanted to compare yourself to someone who protected their skin, until you’re 35 or 40…then you’ll notice a HUGE difference). Don’t believe me? Come over here in 5 years and compare your skin with mine. Any takers? 😉

Aside from premature aging, the sun can also cause really serious skin cancer. I’m serious guys!!! This is no effing joke. Wear sunscreen. Along with flossing, it is the easiest, quickest thing you can do to prevent some of the most dangerous diseases out there.

tanning

Runners: we have be particularly careful because we can be out in the sun for hours at a time. Even when it doesn’t “look sunny” we can still be getting a whole lot of damaging UVA/UVB rays. So spray some on, okay? OK.

Ok, I’ve said my piece. So sunscreen is obviously a big part of my regimen. I use it year round but am extra careful during the summer months. You’ll see I use it under my BB cream (which also has suncreen).

First off, if you don’t have a Clarisonic you need one like whoa. They are amazeballs. Total exfoliation heaven and help your products sink in better

DSC_0339In the morning, I usually put my sunscreen on right after I wash my face with my Neutrogena Healthy Skin cleaner, which has Alpha-Hydroxy and Salicylic Acid which further promotes skin turnover (good thing!).  If you have sensitive skin you don’t want to use these two together. And you definitely don’t want to use this with the retinol I’m going to talk about in a min.

DSC_0341 I’m really digging the Shiseido Urban UV Protection Cream right now. It has SPF 40 and is oil-free and non-comedogenic (does not clog pores). Oh and it smells oh-so-fresh. I put it on my face and my neck <—- important! If I’m going outside for longer periods, I also use Garnier Nutritioniste Skin Renew Anti-Sun Eye Cream with SPF 15DSC_0342 Next comes my other new fave. Well it’s not really new since I’ve been using it since last summer, but it’s the Garnier BB cream, or “Miracle Skin Perfector”. I have tried almost every single BB cream out there. Fancy ones and drug store ones. This one takes the cake. It is oil-free (not all of them are) and covers like a foundation. Plus it has an additional SPF 20. Score! It’s affordable, so I highly recommend it. It also comes in a regular skin kind that is a bit more hydrating. DSC_0346If I’m going to the pool or beach or something, I usually use La Roche-Posay Anthelios SPF 50 Suncreen Fluid. Another amazing product. You can buy this at the drugstore, although it is a bit more pricey. I love it though

sunscreen Right now, you might be thinking, “but Claire, I want to get my summer tan on! I look ___________________ (*skinnier, fitter, healthier, younger) with a tan!” Well I’m sure I’m not the first person to say this, but use a self-tanner. There are so many good options right now! During the summer months, I self-tan almost every time I get out the shower. And I use an inexpensive product, Neutrogena Micro-Mist Sunless Tan (I use both the #2 and #3 shades). I’ve used this stuff for years–literally years–and it is still the best I’ve found. Spray it on and then rub it in evenly with your hands. It says just to spray but I like to rub it in evenly and then wash my hands. I even use it on my face!

DSC_0347 Here are some pics of me when I self-tan in the summer/on vacay (seriously, no sun was involved in these tans!)

IMG_0847 SAMSUNG SAMSUNGTo keep up with my skin care regimen I alway use my retinol products at night. Retinol, and Retin-A the perscription, are both Vitamin A derivatives and are the only ingredient that has been scientifically proven to prevent wrinkles (and even skin tone, and shrink pores). You know all those fancy schmancy serum and creams out there? If they don’t have some sort of retinol in them, they probably aren’t worth a damn. Ok, I take that back. They’re probably good at moisturizing your skin, but don’t have much to do with preventing wrinkles. I use both over the counter products with retinol as well as full strength Retin-A (or generically known as Trentinoin) I get from my Dad. Word to the wise: this stuff is super irritating. It takes your skin a few months to get used to it so be prepared for some redness and peeling. But if you stick it out, then you can use it whenever no problem. There are products made with retinol for sensitive skin, they just have less of the active ingredient.

DSC_0345

Now THIS is the stuff 🙂

I usually follow that sucker up with Neutrogena Heathy skin Anti-Wrinkle Cream. This is technically a retinol product but I use it solely as a moisturizer because it has little to no retinol in it. I also have a whole bunch of different eye creams: Olay, Roc, Lancome. I just switch them off. DSC_0343So, if you’re going to leave this post with one thing it should be?????? That’s it: wear your sunscreen and be careful in the sun (and never NEVER go tanning). Your 35-year-old self will thank me someday.

You’re welcome! 🙂

What’s your favorite skin product?

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Skin Care Faves

  1. katiemoves says:

    I love these suggestions! I am extremely diligent about skin care! Especially sunscreen, I used to get made fun of actually and I’m pretty sure I would say well when we are both 40 and I look younger, you probably won’t be making fun of me. 🙂 I use the same BB cream which i love Too and retinol at night! I’m glad you suggested that self tanner- definitely going to try. To you have any application secrets or is it very easy?

    • YAY! Sunscreen buddies 🙂 I’m sure you’ll look fantastic when 40!! For the self-tanner I usually just spray it on my arm like I am going to cover it and then rub it all over with my hand, just like it was lotion. It should look kind of “wet” so you’ll know you covered everything. But to be honest, I’m not that careful with it and it never really looks streaky or anything. The 2 shades darker color is the one I usually use unless I want to look really tan then I layer the 3 shades darker color on top of the 2 shades the next day.

  2. jumpeatrun says:

    Love the tips! I also wish I could go back in time and yell at my teenage/twenty-something self. I have been much better about taking care of my skin (especially since turning 30 a couple years ago).

  3. djfuzzy says:

    Thanks for bringing awareness to the subject! Thanks for alot of great tips on products too. I actually use Olay Complete Oil Free Moisturizer SPF 15 and have used it since I was 16! I’m 22 now and still use it everyday. I have totally clear glowy skin and get lots of compliments, too 🙂 At SPF 15, do you think I’m in pretty good shape? It has worked for me so far, but do you think I should up on the SPF count? I live in Santa Monica, CA, so lot’s of sun here!

  4. Awesome post!

    I am addicted to sunscreens too. 🙂 I actually talked a whole lot about it too in my blog. 🙂

    I completely agree with everything you said here! Wear Sunscreen! 🙂

  5. Ayana Diaz says:

    Nice post. I really loved the tips. I read too many articles and found out that everyone suggest using sunscreen and i believe it is the most important thing you need to protect your skin in summers. I read another interesting article about how to take care of skin in summers, get rid of tanning and so on. Really like it. Hope you like it too. Here is the link.

    http://beautyonaclick.com/skin-problems-cured-fullers-earth-to-the-rescue

Leave a Reply

