Healthy Birthday Lasagna

Ok, ok so it’s been awhile. Over a week since my last post, I can’t believe it. Finally I have turned in my final dissertation draft and can check a HUGE accomplishment off my list (I basically did that after my defense, but I technically had some revisions so now I am REALLY done!). I wish I could say that I have some downtime right now but all of my work responsibilities just crept up so the article/proposal/presentation writing continues.

Quickly…today was my 2nd blog post as a “bride blogger” on Charlottesville Wedding Blog. Go check it out! 🙂

cvillewedding

One fun thing y’all did miss last week was the FI’s birthday. Ok, so it’s not like we did anything crazy. I just made him dinner and a cake. THIS weekend is when we’re really celebrating…by going to the Beale Street Music Festival in Memphis!!!!

Beale St

What’s the Beale Street Music Festival you ask? Oh, it’s just a 3-day rockin’ out concert fest right off Beale St (which has AMAZING live music as it is!) featuring the Black Keys, Black Crowes (the FI’s favorite), The Roots, Smashing Pumpkins, Phoenix, Wallflowers, etc.  It basically turns into one huge concert/block party. So psyched!

Beale3

bealest2

Until this weekend comes, I have a few fun posts planned. Yep, I said posts. Plural. Try to control your excitement.

Today I share my healthy “Birthday Lasagna” that I made for the FI’s bday. I haven’t written about our meals in awhile (you’ll see that the Hungry Life page hasn’t been updated in quite some time), but not much has changed: I cook for us about 4-5 nights a week and we go out twice/week (never more). That’s not to say that Mitch never cooks for us or helps out, but I really like going to grocery store every night after the gym to get food for our dinners and knowing what is going in the food we’re eating (ok, I guess I’m kind of a control freak that way LOL)

grocerymeme

I rarely cook any red meat at home; my meals usually center around chicken, fish, ground turkey, and the occasional buffalo (seriously!). Sometimes I branch out and try new dishes, but usually I rotate between the 20-25 meals I know how to make really well (casseroles, chicken dishes, tacos, salads, turkey meatloaf, stews using the slow cooker, stir frys with my wok, etc). My “healthy” lasagna is a really simple recipe and I make it for us probably once a month, but I knew that it’s one of the FI’s favorites so I made it extra special for his birthday.

Here’s what you need:

lasagna recipe

DSC_0319DSC_03201. Brown the turkey in a skillet. There won’t be much fat at all because it is 99% fat free, but I swear that this is the best product to use (I’ve made this recipe once with beef and it wasn’t nearly as good!)

DSC_03212. While the turkey is browning, mix together the following: the container of part skim ricotta cheese, half a package of mozzarella cheese, half a package of parmesan cheese, and 2 eggs, which will hold it all together. DSC_03223. When the turkey is browned, mix in the can of pasta sauce, the can of diced tomatoes (include all the juice in the can, you want this meat sauce to be extra “watery” because it needs to cook the uncooked lasagna noodles in the oven), and some diced zucchini and eggplant. You could add any veggies you like, I just like to use zucchini and eggplant. Simmer for a few minutes.

DSC_03234. Cover the bottom of a  9×13 pan (I use glass) with some of the meat sauce.

DSC_0324 5. Then layer the noodles on top of the sauce

DSC_0325

6. Then the cheese/egg mixture. You’ll probably want to use your fingers because the mixture is stubborn and difficult to spread out

DSC_0326 7. Then on top of the cheese, layer some more sauce (and I usually continue that process: sauce, noodles, cheese until there are 3 layers)

DSC_03288. Sprinkle the top with some extra mozzarella and parmesan cheese and IMPORTANT: cover the pan with foil (this will keep the steam in and cook the noodles).

DSC_03299. Cook in the oven at 350 for 45-50 minutes. When it comes out, it will be ooey gooey goodness. My recommendation is to let it cool down awhile. I actually think it’s best once it’s cooled down a lot (this makes fantastic leftovers…I like it even better the next day!)

DSC_0332DSC_0335 YUM. So that’s the basic recipe. Super easy, no? You could make so many different versions of this one recipe based on your own tastes/needs (like I said, this could be vegetarian, whole grain, gluten free, etc). This recipe serves at least 6 people so while it’s somewhat expensive to get all the ingredients, it yields a lot.

Do you have an easy go-to recipe that never fails?

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in Celebrate!, Happy, hungry life, life in cville and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Healthy Birthday Lasagna

  1. Mmm, the lasagna looks delicious, thanks for posting!

  2. what is better than melted cheese? answer NOTHING

  3. Yummm lasagna… 🙂 I make regular lasagnas for parties but I’ll definitely try this one! 🙂

  4. Melissa says:

    Oh yummy yummy! I want to see the cake you made! Hope Mitchell had a great day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

