What’s Gotten Me Through

Let’s talk for a hot minute about all the crazy, guilty pleasure activities, food, music, pursuits that have helped get me through the long days of writing, sleepless nights, writer’s block, and anxiety–you know, everything that goes along with writing and defending (next Wednesday!) a dissertation. I’m not proud of everything I got “hooked” on, but you gotta do what you gotta do. Am I right?

Twilight. Over and over and over. And over again.

twilight

The FI thinks I have literally lost my mind but I have watched each Twilight movie now like 15 times. What can I say, Bella and Edward transport me to a different time and place…away from my dissy! πŸ˜‰

Junk Food Central.

bugles

Umm yeah. I have a sweet…wait make that a salty…wait, no a sweet tooth. And I love my junk food at night. I’m fine all day long and then BOOM night comes and I turn to the good stuff. I’m not proud of it. But I’m not hiding it either. And I’m not stopping

Wedding Planning.

coralcharm

my love affair with coral charm peonies

pinterest

Oh I am in Pinterest heaven! Just so you guys know, I don’t pin things that I won’t have at my wedding. It’s not really an “I think I might want this so I’m going to pin it” board. It’s a “I love it, it’s happening” board. My Sperry tent, cross-back chairs, peonies and dahlias? Non-negotiable. I also have a secret Pinterest board because I don’t want to give everything away. Overall, I LOVE taking time off my dissy to immerse myself in the oh-so-lovely world of weddings πŸ™‚

Game of Thrones.

gamethrones

The FI and I just got into this and I’m all about it. I love it when we get into a TV show and then watch it late into the night so we get no sleep really get into the storyline. We’ve done the same thing with almost all of our TV shows: Dexter, The Wire, Mad Men, Breaking Bad.

Running.

SAMSUNG

Big surprise here, right? My runs lately have been of the angry type. Do you like running angry? I don’t actually mind it, but I usually feel very serene on my runs so I’m not all that used to it. I guess I’ve been taking all my stress out on the road/TM .

Oh, and This Little Girl.

sophs

Light of my life, apple of my eye. She makes all the bad go away.

Friends, this time next week I’ll be in full celebration mode! I’m going go all out. But until then, it’s the final push so I’m hunkering down to prepare for my defense.

Any guilty pleasures you turn to that help you get through?Β 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in balanced life, Healthy, professional life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What’s Gotten Me Through

  1. pickyrunner says:

    I’m 100% a junk food eater at night. I always have been and I don’t see it stopping anytime soon either. I think my biggest PRs with swimming and running have been when I’m mad at someone or something. Maybe I should think about that before my meets…

  2. I love learning more about you this way. I have to say my guilty pleasure have to be Kiss 108 Matt y in the morning when I run, trashy reality tv (aka housewives, real world), the following tv show (so freaking good), any kind of sugar filled candy or salty junk food… oh man I could go on.

  3. jumpeatrun says:

    I share quite a few of the same guilty pleasures! haha- hang in there- you are so close to being done!!

  4. Amanda says:

    Haha I actually hate Twilight, but sometimes I enjoy watching the movies. I don’t know why, but it always makes me laugh!

  5. Hang in there! All those guilty pleasures are giving you fuel to write! I’m there with your living spree. . . as long as it includes fine wine and dark chocolate!!

  6. Yay! I’m not alone when it comes to Twilight! Well, I’m team Jacob!!! πŸ™‚
    My guilty pleasure would be shopping!!! When I’m having a bad day, I’ll just go drive to the outlet mall and do my own little me-time! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

