Now That Was Just Plain Fun–NYC Half Recap

It’s been a week and a half since the NYC Half and I figure it’s high time I post a recap. Per usual, you can find my race calendar on the right sidebar (click for recap).

Dare I say, the NYC Half is one of my most favorite half marathons to date. You guys know that I don’t get all that hyped up for 13.1. It just doesn’t do it for me like 26.2 does. As I’ve talked about before, the half marathon distance typically isn’t in my radar. Probably because I went straight from 5 and 10ks to the marathon. And once you start running marathons, nothing compares. Not even getting a crazy 1:40 half PR….ok, who am I kidding? The day I ran that PR was pretty damn amazing.

But the NYC was just plain fun. Sure, it was absolutely freezing at the start

IMG_1154

last minute throwaway sweatshirt that I ended up KEEPING because the FI was standing right next to my corral

IMG_1161

But it was beautiful morning and I had some great conversations with runners in my corral (#4)

IMG_1179

And I was only in the 4th corral out of 20!

IMG_1170  IMG_1193 And just like always, the FI was there. He took a cab up to Central Park with me at 6am so he could wait with me at the corrals and then booked it to the South Street Seaport so he could be at the finish line. My only complaint? They closed the corrals at 7am and the race didn’t start until 7:30am so we had to stand there for 30 minutes. There were about 5 porta potties in my corral but still. In all my years of running races, I’ve never come across that policy before (not even in the really big marathons!)

IMG_1177On to the run. The first 6.2 miles in Central Park were relatively hilly but for some reason they just flew by. I know my pace would’ve been much faster especially considering how fast my training runs have been the past few months, but I really enjoyed running in the Park. It was one of those days where my mind was occupied (I was thinking about the gorgeous gowns I had tried on the day before 🙂 ) AND my playlist was on point. Every single song that came on was just…so…perfect.

nychalf1

Case in point. All of the Lights by Kanye West. Couldn’t have planned it any better, but it came on right as I was running through Times Square.

nychalf3

No, I’m not in that shot since I’m growing a conscience about posting copyrighted marathonfoto thumbnails. You can see my race photos (including all the really awful ones LOL) here: http://www.marathonfoto.com/Half-Marathon/NYRR-NYC-Half-Marathon-2013/LastName/mitchell/BibNumber/4420/offering/myMarathonfotos/RaceOID/26812013W6/Language/en

After Times Square the course was pretty boring. We took a sharp right on 42 street and then ran south on the West Side Highway. Nothing too exciting there. Running on a highway. There were some crowds but not many so. The upside? It was flat as a pancake, so who am I to complain?

nychalf2The final mile was all in a tunnel so it was dark and, oh yeah, have I said boring yet?  I also lost my Garmin satellite signal in the tunnel. As soon as we came back out though we only had 800 meters (read: .5 mile) until the finish.

IMG_1204Bet you can’t guess who was waiting for me. Oh you can? Surprise, surprise

IMG_1215

A good 50 minutes before I got there, the FI captured Kipsang’s victory

IMG_1230 IMG_1239I obviously failed at running the tangents because I had run an extra .4 miles. And when I think about how I lost my satellite service I realize that I probably ran even farther.

nyc3But obviously my official time didn’t reflect that. And it was not the 1:40 I was hoping for (has it really been a WHOLE year?) but good enough for a fun time 🙂

results

IMG_1237 IMG_1242

And that’s a wrap on the NYC Half. I was happy to get a bib for such a coveted race and am still looking forward to checking NYC Marathon off my bucket list (the last and only big U.S. marathon I haven’t run yet!). Note to self: train for Central Park hills.

Next up? I’m considering the Cville Half Marathon although–and I’m really sorry to say this on such a public forum–but I’m not all that happy about supporting the Cville Running Company. I’d rather support the other, non-profit running business in town. But we’ll see what happens, it’ll probably be a game time decision. Oh, and the Decker’s Creek Half in WV. I ran that in 2010 and I’m going to do it again this year 🙂

Ever run a race in NYC (marathon, half, 10k, 5k) or heck have you ever just walked all over the city?

Time to shout it out: what races are on your calendar this spring and summer? 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, running, The Good Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Now That Was Just Plain Fun–NYC Half Recap

  1. Your post just made me miss NYC all over again. I wish I could run a race in NYC. I would love to run in Manhattan!

    Thanks for sharing your recap. It’s beautiful! 🙂

  2. looks like such a fun race! I can’t say I’m sold on the 26.2’s yet, but it could be because I had a rough go at my first one last Sunday-it was SO hilly! It was an incredible feeling crossing the finish line though! Looks like a strong finish:)

  3. fun races are the best. I am dying to run NYC it is on my race bucket list.

  4. Carina says:

    Just curious, why don’t you like Cvle Running Co? I never dealt with them since I wasn’t really a runner when I lived in Cvlle. The nice thing about a big city like Dallas is there are two big running store chain options (both local to Texas I think), and they both have organized training programs and races, plus there are some other pure training/running groups. There are two race organizers I try to avoid b/c they generally do a crap job, but sometimes for whatever reason, I end up running one of their races anyway.

    • Good question! It’s not like I have something against them per se. It’s just that they put on races solely for profit and don’t tie any charity to any of their events. I’m sure afting putting the $$ to actually setting up and hosting the race they don’t have a ton of money left over, but RMR makes an effort to donate. So that’s the real reason. I have run multiple CRC races in the past few years and they’re always fun so it’s not that big of a deal

  5. Melissa says:

    Mitch is so great about being at your races–he’s a keeper, for sure!

    I have been eyeing DC half this year, but I’m not sure it’s a good idea to train for a half right now. I think I have to figure out my form nonsense before I do anything else. Fun to think about, though. I love that course!

    • I bet you’ll be back on the running horse and 100% to go by June. July at the latest. It’s amazing how quickly bodies heal and now that you’re thinking about form, you’ll be golden since you already have crazy natural running ability!!! (unlike me 😉 )

  6. jumpeatrun says:

    Man, you just reminded me of how much I loved that race! Except the tunnel…haha- that is truly a terrible ending- I think last year (the year I ran it) was the first year they did that too.
    So glad you had fun- you did awesome!

  7. katiemoves says:

    I would be on a high after wedding dress shopping too! 🙂 can’t wait. And you’re definitely doing Decker Creek!? Yay!! My best friend and I are all signed up! Can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

