NYC Weekend and Bride Blogger

Hello friends and happy Monday! I’m just checking in quickly today because I still have a ton of work to do (that will probably taper off this week so I’ll be back later in the week with all the posts I’ve wanted to do but haven’t because of time). First things first, though. I was offered an amazing opportunity to be the first “Bride Blogger” on the Charlottesville Wedding Blog. Today was my first post just introducing the FI and me, but I’ll be posting every month sharing my experiences with wedding planning. You can check it out here ๐Ÿ™‚

CWB_Badge250

This past weekend in NYC was such a blast, I never wanted it to end!

wv

Dinner in the West Village

On Saturday, I went wedding dress shopping with my twin sis at Kleinfelds and Monique Lhuillier. We went together a month ago for her but this time it was forย me! ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh gosh let me tell you, it was the best day ever. Just trying on gorgeous gown after gown and feeling like a princess. I thought they were all beautiful. I may or may not have fallen most in love with an absolutely gorgeous Monique Lhuillier gown. It’s kind of a budget buster but it might just have to happen. More on wedding dress shopping another time though…

mlweddingdress2weddingdresshopping

ย 

ย 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Becauseย this also happened this weekend…

NYC Halfย As usual, I’ll wait to do my full recap until the pictures come in. But here are some pics that the FI took at the starting and finishing line. It was COLD…32 degrees with a 14 mph wind. I swear I couldn’t feel my feet for the first 3 miles though Central Park. But other than that, it was just plain fun.

IMG_1182Central Park was a bit hilly (a bit…nothing like crazy) so I didn’t have a 1:40 finish this time around, but I finished under 2 hours and had so much fun. I can’t wait to show you guys the pics of me running through Times Square. That was pretty incredible. Oh, you know how much I love a good big city race (although nothing will ever touch the Chicago Marathon, not even when I ran Boston).

IMG_1230ย IMG_1239ย IMG_1242

So basically the weekend consisted of all of my favorite things: shopping for beautiful dresses and running. Does it get any better? I think not.

I know there were a ton of other races out there this past weekend…RnR in D.C., Shamrock in VA Beach, and the Cville 10 Miler just to name a few. I can’t believe it’s been a year since the FI (then BF) and I ran the Irish Spring 10k and partied for St. Patty’s in D.C.

If you ran this past weekend, how did it go?ย 

Did you celebrate St. Patty’s Day?ย 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, balanced life, Happy, social life, traveling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to NYC Weekend and Bride Blogger

  1. Carina says:

    What a fun weekend. I remember feeling so sad and plain when I had to put on my regular clothes after the first day of trying on dresses. It almost felt weird not to be swimming in white.

    I thought Boston’s crowd support was so much better than Chicago’s, but I ran Chicago on a bad year, so I think that scarred my entire perspective. We just had it so good in 2011 for Boston!

    I did race this weekend and finished about 60 seconds shy of a PR, which was good enough for 8th I think in my age group out of about 400. 60 seconds off a PR isn’t bad … until I say it was in a 5k! That’s about 18 seconds per mile slower than my PR, which is a LOT. But it was a fun race nonetheless!

  2. pickyrunner says:

    I want to go to Kleinfelds! I love that show! Hopefully one of my friends decides to get married soon since it certainly won’t be me. That’s a pretty good time if you ask me! Any weekend in NYC is a good one. I love going to visit there and just wander around window shopping and running and eating at good restaurants.

  3. there were so many races. I want to run a race for you and I mean it. I am out for a 1.40 this next month and think you could totally be that rockstar to get me there. sadly you will not be running them, maybe just having your speedy genes in my blood. I think we both ran our races smart this weekend, I was quite happy with my 1.45 time for not racing. especially with the hills. can’t wait for your next race, I feel you eating it up

    • Aww thanks yeah I still had fun even though I didn’t even run close to my best time. You know when it’s a good race when you want to live in that day and run the race over and over again haha.

      Ummm, and 1:45 is like bang on KILLER Alex! I say, sign up for a flatter race and you’ll totally get below 1:40 no problem. I thought D.C. was pretty hilly too, especially over by Columbia Heights where you guys ran for that race. Plus I feel like you have a good amount of races coming up and the more you race the same distance the better you do (something about races just pushes us that much more than when we’re just out running). ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. sweet about the wedding blogger! Any luck with the dresses?!

    Can’t wait to hear all about the race, it’s def. one I want to do!

  5. jumpeatrun says:

    How cool is the wedding blogger thing?!?! I can’t wait for your full recap on the race. NYC 1/2 was one of my favorites…nothing can compare to that feeling running through Times Square ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh thank you!

      Ahh it is so fun, isn’t it? I didn’t like that we had to run through that tunnel at the finish (and I couldn’t see my Garmin because it lost satellite service), but everything else was amazing. I really liked Central Park too ๐Ÿ™‚ Hopefully I’ll be able to do the full marathon in 2014!

  6. Can’t wait to see pics of your wedding dress choices. ๐Ÿ™‚ Monique Lhuillier is love! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’d love to run in NYC someday! ๐Ÿ™‚ Looking forward to your full recap! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

