Running The City

The NYC Half Marathon is this week!

NYC Half

I’m ready to feel the excitement of yet another big city race. This race literally runs The City. It is the second best thing to the full NYC Marathon, which I will be running in 2014. Just like its (bigger) counterpart, the half has thousands and thousands of runners, live broadcast, and a whole bunch of happy-go-lucky runners from all over the world 🙂 I can’t wait to run through Times Square! nychalfI’m particularly excited for this race since my last “bigger” city race, the MCM, was just so awful. I mean it was just the most boring course (other than the .25 miles in Georgetown) and definitely put me off running any more races in D.C. Well that and living there this past summer. Blech.

So it’s only appropriate that I put together a high energy playlist for my run on Sunday. I’m gonna need to be pumped up, since I won’t be sleeping much this week. I am finishing my dissertation to send to my committee by Friday and then we are going out Friday night in the City. Oh yeah, and I’m going wedding dress shopping at Kleinfelds and Monique Lhuillier on Saturday. So I’m not expecting to run the best race since I won’t be preparing per se. More like running on absolutely no sleep. But I’m just excited to have a bib for this coveted race! Here are some of the jams I’m adding to my ipod:

The City by Madeon

E-Pro by Beck

Back to Life by 3OH!3

My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark (Light Em Up) by Fall Out Boy

Right Now by Rihanna feat. David Guetta

Tonight I’m Getting Over You by Carly Rae Jepsen

Can’t Hold Us by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis feat. Ray Dalton

I Need Your Love by Calvin Harris feat. Ellie Goulding

I Love It by Icona Pop (Cobra Starship Remix) feat. Charli XCX

Here 2 China by Calvin Harris & Dillon Francis feat. Dizzee Rascal

Lassitude by DJ Fresh & Stigma

Bounce by Calvin Harris feat. Kelis

Fight by DJ Fresh

Turn Around by Conor Maynard feat. Ne-Yo

I know there are a ton of races this weekend (Shamrock in VA Beach, RnR in D.C., Cville 10 Miler). Any songs you’re adding to your playlist?

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Running The City

  1. 3Oh3! and Can’t Hold Us… just thinking of those… for real. Love it. Good luck this weekend.

  2. pickyrunner says:

    I’m surprised you don’t like running in DC! I love it! I’ve only done it once… but still! Good luck this weekend- I’ll be pretending I’m running with you while I run the DC rock n roll 🙂

    • I know! Most people I know love it like you do! I just really hated living there…to me it’s like a nondescript city (and i completely acknowledge that I am in the minority thinking that!!!). You can tell I hold a special place in my heart for Chicago and Boston. Plus the MCM was the WORST course ever. The first 10 miles were SO boring. Maybe that’s also why.

      BUT forget all that, you’re gonna kill the RnR!!!! GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  3. katiemoves says:

    Shoot! Should have got an appointment at kleinfelds Saturday lol!! Hope I see you at some point. I’ll be in the city til Monday! I’ll admit this post made me very excited to run through NYC! 🙂

  4. Amanda says:

    Can’t wait to hear about your race! I hope it’s a good one 🙂

  5. Awesome, this is def. on my list of runs to do. I can’t wait for your recap, kill it with another 1:40:)

Leave a Reply

