New Music Tuesday Wednesday

Oh goodness, I totally missed that yesterday was Tuesday! I swear my head has been in a fog lately, mostly because I am juggling so many balls right now: dissertation, graduation, job search, wedding help for my sister, getting engaged. They’re all good things but they just keep me busy and I’m not as sharp as I usually am.

Before we get to the music, a few updates:

1. I’m definitely running the Virginia Is For Lovers 14k in Virginia Beach this Saturday. I thought it made sense given the recent circumstances 😉 I haven’t been running that consistently so we’ll so how it goes

14k

2. Ok, I’m a brat–such a brat–but here it is. I’m finding it hard to do any work because I keep getting sidetracked by the shiny thing on my finger. I’ll be all into writing a paragraph in my dissy and then–oooh ahhh, what’s that sparkly thing in the corner of my eye? Seriously though it’s not good for my productivity. I’m sure I’ll get used to it soon enough haha.

now you can all see my chubby fingers

Ok, so I can’t capture the crazy sparkle in the picture but you get the idea. And now you can all see my chubby fingers

3. Little Sophie bear had to have her tail removed completely yesterday. She’s been having a reoccurring cancerous growth so the final option was just to take it all off (a caudectomy). Poor little girl doesn’t know what’s happened, just that her bottom hurts and there is something missing 😦 She had a bit of a bathroom problem all night last night but today just seems to be sleeping and recovering. I’m hoping she’ll be back to her crazy goofy self this week!

sophiesurgery 4. I’ve started a Pinterest board for my ideas about our wedding. We will be working with an absolutely amazing planner and photographer (I’ll post about them another day) here in Cville and there are things I know I want and we will definitely have even though they cost an arm and a leg (Sperry tent, farm tables, cross-back chairs, peonies, bluegrass band, etc) and others I have no idea about and am excited to take my time and stress out as little as possible. We’re taking inspiration for our June shindig from one of my favorite songs from The Decemberists (which is managed locally by Red Light Management), June Hymn. Hearing this song and thinking about marrying my best friend just makes me SMILE 🙂 It is just so perfect for the venue that we chose (a gorgeous historic estate and we’ll be using the whole property, which has beautiful fields, flowers, and trees)

Here’s a hymn to welcome in the day
Heralding a summer’s early sway
And all the bulbs all coming in
To begin
The thrushes bleating battle with the wrens
Disrupts my reverie again

Pegging clothing on the line
Training jasmine how to vine
Up the arbor to your door
And more
You’re standing on the landing with the war
You shouldered all the night before

And once upon it
The yellow bonnets
Garland all the lawn
And you were waking
And day was breaking
A panoply of song
And summer comes to Springville Scottsville Hill

A barony of ivy in the trees
Expanding out its empire by degrees
And all the branches burst to bloom
In the boom
Heaven sent this cardinal maroon
To decorate our living room

And once upon it
The yellow bonnets
Garland all the lawn
And you were waking
And day was breaking
A panoply of song
And summer comes to Springville Scottsville Hill…

P.S. our venue is in Scottsville so that’s why I changed it there 😉 

The Pinterest board is a start to the overall vibe we’ll be going for. We’re always open to advice from any married peeps out there 🙂

whatiwantSo with those updates out of the way, let’s get to some tunes shall we? I said last week that this week’s playlist would be some of my favorite acoustic songs and compilations but I thought I should do a love song list just because I’m in that kind of mood. PLUS, it’s almost Valentine’s Day! Is this too gooey ooey lovey dovey yet for ya? Don’t worry, I’m not the overly sentimental kind so it’s sure to wear off in the next week or so. Here are some of my favorite romantic/love songs right now:

You Belong to Me by Jason Wade (my absolute favorite rendition, this will be played at my wedding!)

A Real Hero by College feat. Electric Youth (the FI will know why I put this here 😉 )

Ain’t Love Somethin’ by Sam & Ruby

When You Find Me by Joshua Radin (love LOVE all JR’s songs, but this is hauntingly beautiful)

Nowhere Warm by Kate Havnevik

Duet by Rachael Yamagata feat. Ray Lamontagne

First Day of My Life by Bright Eyes

Birds of a Feather by The Civil Wars

The Lighthouse’s Tale by Nickel Creek

Give Me Love by Ed Sheeran

Come Around by Rosi Golan

The One Who Loves You the Most by Brett Dennen

My Love by The Bird and the Bee

Love Is Never-Ending by Brad Paisley (ohmygawd, this is one of my most favorite country songs of all time)

Oh I could go on and on. I love all of these cheesy love songs so much!

What is your favorite love song? 

What was popular for slow songs when you were in middle and/or high school? (for me: Boys II Men I’ll Make Love to You, Celine Dion My Heart Will Go On <3)

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Music Tuesday Wednesday

  1. that ring, beautiful, keep on staring. so many winners with this.. joshua radin. man I am in music heaven. hang in there busy lady!

  2. pickyrunner says:

    Your ring is SO GORGEOUS! Oh man I can’t stop looking at it. And lots of good music to add to my playlist 🙂

Leave a Reply

