New Music Tuesday: Running the Extremes

Ok, it’s Tuesday night…almost Wednesday. But better late than never, right? Today I have a treat for anyone who enjoys a wide range of music genres like I do. I find myself listening to all different types of music depending on the context or my mood. The same goes for the music I listen to on my runs. Sometimes I like to be more contemplative whereas other times I like to pump up my motivation. So today I have 2 playlists for you guys. I’m calling this “running the extremes” since classical and rap/hip hop are definitely at different ends of the music genre spectrum –> although…as with most things, they are not completely mutually exclusive; there can be overlap such in the case of The Flobots, see below.

And let’s not forget about other rap/hip hop songs that sample classical music:

I Know I Can by Nas (sampling Beethoven’s Für Elise)

Like You by Kelis (sampling Mozart’s Queen of the Night from The Magic Flute)

I’ll C U When U Get There (Pachelbel’s Canon in D)

Know some good hip hop/rap jams that sample classical pieces? make sure to comment at the bottom!

So without further adieu, here is my first playlist, a compilation of all hard(er) hip hop/rap I like to run to and some samples thrown in for good measure

raphiphop1Dey Know by Shawty Lo

Swimming Pools by Kendrick Lamar

Da Art of Storytellin by Outkast

Can’t Tell Me Nothing by Kanye West

I Wish I knew Natalie Portman by K-OS

Breakfast by Chiddy Bang

And now—-whoomp—-let’s pull a 180. I have said this before and I’m sure I’ll say it again: I love the violin. I was brought up playing the piano for 10 years but I would have loved to play the violin like my older sister did. It is so incredibly beautiful. I could listen to a violin concerto any day of the week and just be blissfully happy. Ok, with that said, here is a playlist of some of my favorite classical and soundtrack music to run to (if you have never run to classical please try some of these!!!!). Yes, some of these are covers and they are amazing!

classical Concerto for 2 Violins, Strings & Continuo in Di Minor composed by Vivace

Violin Concerto in D Minor, Op. 77 Allegro composed by Vivace

Danse Macabre Op. 40 by Camille Saint-Saens 

Nothing Else Matters by Apocalyptica (Metallica cover)

Out of Africa Main Theme composed by John Barry

Robin Hood Prince of Thieves Overture by Michael Kamen

Next week I promise to do a new NEW music roundup, including some acoustic sessions.

What are your favorite rap/hip hop and classical songs to run to?

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Music Tuesday: Running the Extremes

  1. YESSSSSSSSSSS best post ever. my day is complete thank you

  2. katiemoves says:

    I can’t wait to get home and check some of these out! I definitely need some music for my training- I’m getting bored! One of my favorite songs lately to run to is “Valerie” glee version- weird but good. Mostly I prefer country music tho

Leave a Reply

