I swear it’s good news this time

After a craaaaaaaazy week of working, moving (my office), planning, running (yes, running!), and then recovering (I have yet another cold :-/), I have some good news.

Yep, ladies and gentlemen, I have finally been chosen via lottery for a race. The New York City Half Marathon! πŸ™‚

nychalf

I hope they don’t think I’m not going to run the full marathon in 2014. They are still required to give me a bib for that race….

But it is a happy happy day indeed. I was waiting until next week to plan my 2013 race calendar but I think I’ll get a start on it tonight. I really think I am going to focus on half marathon races or similar distances in the next year. It’s not that I don’t want to run more marathons, I do…much more! But I have started doing something new lately. It’s called long-term planning. And what I really want to do is do a whole bunch of halfs in 2013 and then one or two fulls in 2014 (including the NYC Marathon). So this is a sign! The universe is letting me know that I was right on with my plan.

Even Sophie, who has been getting into the holiday spirit, is happy for me.

sophieclaus

I’ve been slaving away at the oven tonight making cupcakes and cake pop baskets for the homemade gift yankee swap I’ll be participating in at my bf family’s house tomorrow–by the way, these treats are turning out much better than last year’s whoopie pie fiasco

cake pops

But I think it’s time to stop, relax, and celebrate! It’s Friday people. And the holidays!

Tell me something good

πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in active life, Celebrate! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I swear it’s good news this time

  1. Caroline says:

    Woohoo! Congrats on getting in! A half marathon on St. Patrick’s day sounds fantastic. My something good is that I ran for the first time today post-injury! : D

  2. pickyrunner says:

    Yayyyyy congrats on getting into the race! That’s so exciting πŸ™‚ Hope you get some treats for yourself too! Those cupcakes are too good not to save!

  3. Julie says:

    Congrats on the half! Exciting!

    Something good? We get to party tomorrow night πŸ™‚

  4. jealoussssss I would love to run a race in nyc this year. that is totally on my bucket list.

  5. jumpeatrun says:

    Congratulations!! I somehow managed to get into the NYC 1/2 last year via the lottery. It’s a really fun race- lots of cheering and live music along the course. And, mile 6 through time square is really cool πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

