Getting in the holiday spirit and an engagement :)

Yesterday, the bf and I put up our holiday decorations. I’ve explained before on here how I was raised Jewish although my mom’s side of the family celebrated Christmas. Now I’m a secular humanist, which basically means that I believe that people can be good without god, a really positive view of humanity (read this amazing book , written by the humanist chaplain at Harvard University, for more info). In terms of holidays, I’m an equal opportunity celebrator in terms of the secular traditions…you know, everything that xmas and Hanukah have come to be about in our country–parties, lights, hot cocoa, gifts πŸ™‚ . So of course we have our tree and our menorah. Don’t laugh at our menorah please. Real ones are pretty expensive and I found this kid one at TJ Maxx. My new favorite ornament on our tree? The owl in a sweater I got at Target last week πŸ™‚

Β And it just so happened last night that TWO of my most favorite holiday movies were playing on TV: While You Were Sleeping and Love Actually. It seems like just yesterday that While You Were Sleeping was in the movie theater so that goes to show how old I am LOL.

How CUTE is Bill Pullman in this movie? I definitely used to have a crush on him (from this movie only)

le sigh. I know you now kill zombies, but I’ll take you just like this Andrew Lincoln

Oye, those movies never get old! And speaking of LOVE, I’m so excited to report that my twin sis got engaged to her boyfriend recently! Love really is in the air!!! ❀

The beautiful couple

We spent much of Thanksgiving ooohing and ahhing over her absolutely, ridiculously Β gorgeous 3.5 carat engagement ring and starting the initial wedding planning rigamarole. I’m so excited for both of them!!!! πŸ™‚

Ok, I’m keeping this short and sweet today because the work load beckons. I swear one of these days I’m going to get back to writing interesting, longer posts!

What are your favorite holiday movies and traditions?Β 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in Celebrate!, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Getting in the holiday spirit and an engagement :)

  1. Congrats to your sister!!!

    Love Actually is one of my favorite holiday movies too!

  2. ok, at first i saw the picture and was like YOU’RE ENGAGED and then I read further and saw your twin sister. haha. you had me going there.

  3. awww congrats to your sister!! I looove Love Actually.. such an adorable movie lol

  4. julie says:

    That is so great about your sis! πŸ™‚

    I’ve been racking my brain about holiday traditions. This will be the first Christmas Jamison and I will spend together (we were doing the long distance thing last year) so I want to start a tradition. All I’ve got so far is our first ornament. Which is lame but very important.

  5. Love Actually…great movie! Congrats to your adorable sis!!

  6. Melissa says:

    My husbands favorite movie is love actually! Lol well…that and A River Runs Through It, haha. Cute decorations and glad you don’t discriminate, lol. πŸ˜‰ a huge congrats to your sis and holy crap, 3.5?!?!?! Dang..she got hooked up. Now…when is your engagement going to happen?!! U guys r too cute!! Hope work went well. πŸ™‚

  7. Congratulations to your beautiful sister & her fiance’ xoxo

  8. Congrats to your sister! 3.5 carat ring?! nice job, fiance!!

Leave a Reply

