New Music Tuesday Wednesday

Ahhh I always bite off more than I can chew! Do you guys have that problem? I mean, I’m so obviously type A…I wouldn’t be getting my PhD if I wasn’t. I’m extremely driven but sometimes I take on so much that I burn out. Ideally I would go through life as if I was pacing myself for a marathon. A nice, efficient burn baby. The good news is that all the hard work [typically] pays off! I found out yesterday that I had two–not one, but two–proposals accepted to the biggest education conference in 2013 in San Francisco. Holler! Gotta build that CV 🙂 I usually get to present at a few conferences every year but this is the biggest conference and I had 2 accepted. Oh happy day! Now if I could only get a chance to interview for one of these jobs I want oh so badly…

So on that note, here’s some tunes that keep me energized and productive. Some of them also calm down my craaaazy anxiety that is just par for the course in a doctoral program. There is soooo much music in today’s post so if you see something that is not your cup of tea keep scrolling down. Let’s jam out friends, it’s Wednesday already!!!!!

First, check out the Punk Goes Pop 5 album. I’m all about some of these rock covers since the original sticky sweet pop tracks are sometimes too much for me to take–GASP, my late 90s *NSync loving high school self just died a little 😉  If you haven’t figured this out already, I have an affinity for rock (and classical music, especially violin concertos but that’s for another day). Can’t really find that many youtube clips but I’m digging Somebody That I Used to Know by Mayday Parade (as originally sung by Gotye) and Boyfriend by Issues (original track-Bieber). What is not good on the album? Paradise by Craig Owens. You just can’t do better than Coldplay on that one am I right? That is one of the best songs for running

I usually only listen to rock when I’m running. That’s it. So if you like running to rock and/or have a race coming up this weekend and need some cheesy guilty pleasure tracks to push you through, here are a few. I’m looking at you NYC Marathoners who will probably rock another 26.2 this week!

Just Like You Imagined (instrumental by Nine Inch Nails)–song as put to a video game, but whatevs you get the idea

Talk Show Host by Radiohead. Classic

Won’t Let Up by Papa Roach

Give Me Back My Life by Papa Roach

Stand Up by All That Remains

I Miss The Misery by Halestorm

Thick As Thieves by Cavo

Ne-Yo’s album also came out this week. Strangely it has the same title as Taylor Swift’s most recent album. We all know how much I hate her so I’m sticking with the story that she copied him 😉 Some good running tracks here though

Let Me Love You (Until You Learn to Love Yourself) by Ne-Yo

Be the One by Ne-Yo

And here are just some more jams 🙂 :

Better Dig Two by The Band Perry

Firebug by JD McPherson (I am LOVING this retro rhythm and blues rockability right now!)

North Side Gal by JD McPherson

Come Along by Vicci Martinez & Cee Lo Green (from The Voice!)

Disparate Youth by Santigold

Battle Scars by Lupe Fiasco (this one got me through some major cramping in the last miles of the MCM)

Live Like A Warrior by Matisyahu

Anything new you’ve been listening to lately? 

What little guilty pleasures help you get through the work week?

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Music Tuesday Wednesday

  1. CONGRATS such great news and well deserved. can’t wait to listen to all of these songs

  2. CONGRATS! Neyo’s album is pretty good!
    Thanks for all this!

  3. Congrats 2 u! Love Neyo!! Guilty pleasure…definitely a glass of vino and Real Housewives 🙂

  4. Congrats girl! I am a big nerd so I’m super duper excited for you, love it! Thanks for all the music, especially the Band Perry.. love them

  5. Pingback: New Music Tuesday | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

