Indulgences

We all need to indulge in certain ways to relieve stress and, heck, just enjoy life! There are few indulgences I allow myself every week (or every once in awhile).

1. Music

While doing my last long run I got an idea about how I should do a weekly post every Tuesday on new music, both new releases and new-to-me. I find that I look forward to every Tuesday since that when the new releases come out. I usually end up getting a few tracks here and there from different genres to run, work, or relax to. I enjoy listening to Pandora but I really like getting tracks on itunes and making my own unique playlists. So I think from now on I will have a “New Music Tuesday” series so I can put up a post of new music and get recommendations from you guys πŸ™‚

Here are a few new tracks I’ve been jamming to this week. Some of them are new releases and some are just new to my playlists:

Ellie Goulding: Figure 8 and Hanging On (feat. Tinie Tempah)

MCK: All We Have (feat. Anna Yvette)

A Fine Frenzy: Now Is The Start and Pinesong

Michael Andrews feat. Gary Jules: Mad World (Tears for Fears Cover)

Glee Cast: Fly/I Believe I Can Fly

Jem: Yellow (Coldplay Cover)

Cat Power: Wonderwall (Oasis Cover)

Jay-Z: Young Forever Live in Brooklyn (feat. Beyonce)

2. A second indulgence I usually take are massages. I used to get one after all of my long runs up in Boston. They had a great place, The Boston Bodyworker, and they catered specifically to distance runners. We don’t have anything like that here in Charlottesville, but every now and then I’ll go get a massage at CitySpa. I got one today and it was heaven. I wish I could afford to go more often but when I do go I really appreciate it πŸ™‚

Hal Higdon also promotes massages and encourages runners training for marathons or ultras to get one once their mileage creeps up past what they usually do. He asserts, “A relaxed muscle is less likely to get injured”. #truth.

3. Finally I love my Dunkin’. Yes, I enjoy Starbucks on most days but my real indulgence is good ole Dunkin’ Donuts. There is only one DD in Cville and there’s little to no parking nearby so it’s a special day when I go.

So those are just a few of my indulgences that keep a smile on my face, especially when work/school/and going on the job market are stressing me out. Tomorrow my parents come to visit (and we’re all going to my friend’s wedding on Sunday in D.C.) so I’ll get to indulge in something else I love: eating out at restaurants πŸ™‚

What are your indulgences?

It’s almost Friday! Anything fun planned for the weekend?Β 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in balanced life, eating, Happy, professional life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Indulgences

  1. My indulgences…definitely Starbucks, massages (once a month! thankfully my flex account pays for that), and reality TV!! Oh and I love the coffee at Dunkin’…wish there was one close by me!

  2. julie says:

    I love that you are doing music posts on a regular basis now! I’m always looking for new tunes!

    Indulgences are wine (and lots of it) and chocolate… so I try not to partake too frequently…

    This weekend I’m going to Fall for Greenville, a food and music festiva,l and my first NASCAR race. I’m sure I’ll be indulging a little… πŸ™‚

  3. jumpeatrun says:

    oh indulgences…beer, chocolate, jersey shore πŸ˜‰
    Besides the super fun 20 mile run on saturday morning, Joe and I are hoping for good weather to get in a few skydives on sunday!

  4. Melissa says:

    Starbucks and running gear lol. I wish I could go for massages more too! And, my dad loves him some D&D!

  5. Megan@ Run Like a Grl says:

    Oh now I really want a massage!! And I Iove Starbucks too but the Dunkachino is my fab craving!

  6. a fellow DD lover… I knew I liked you

  7. we don’t have DD in Canada, but I sure love getting it when I’m in the US. We have Tim Hortons up here (and Starbucks)
    You always have great music links. I am loving The Lumineers lately!

  8. candy and wine! that’s how I treat myself after a long/hard/stressful/every day! πŸ™‚

  9. Man I could so go for a massage right about now, ha!

  10. Dash says:

    I love the Ellie Goulding track! I’m really excited about her new album.

  11. I love the idea of new music tuesdays!! I’m sooo not a music buff, so always trying to find new things to listen to on my runs!! My favorite indulgence is definitely lattes from Starbucks! They are my favorite thing ever!!

    I also need to get more massages.. πŸ™‚

  12. Pingback: New Music Tuesday | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  13. Pingback: New Music Tuesday | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

