MCM E-Card and Bib #

It’s official now! I got my bib # and confirmation card yesterday so there’s no turning back now (not like there was before). For being out of 45,000, it’s a pretty low number

This is by no means my first marathon but it’s still just as exciting. I think that no matter how many marathons I do I will still get excited because they are all pretty big commitments! I just think of all of the early mornings I got up over the summer and the obstacles I have overcome (achem: fainting/migraines, illness). That’s the great thing about the marathon: it’s the journey as well as the “destination”/event.

A year ago I was complaining about my knee and how I could barely run. I was eeking out some runs (like the Richmond Capitol 10 miler) but they weren’t pretty. I find that ever since my cartilage injury, I’ve make progress with my running, but very slowly. It’s like four steps forward, three steps back…rinse, repeat.

I only have a few weeks left before the marathon. I’m going to try to do 8 today and for my long runs left: a 22 miler on Monday, a 14 miler the following weekend, and then a 8 miler the week before. That’s the taper formula and there’s a reason why it’s used even though it drives everyone crazy.

Luckily, Muse just came out with their new album, which is A-mazing! I love running to Muse so I added some of their new songs to a playlist I created for my runs this week. It starts slow, as my playlists usually do, but picks up with the new Muse songs ๐Ÿ™‚

What is the one song that pumps you up when running? It can be cheesy, serious, fast, or of any genre. I’m looking to get some new stuff for my final long run on Monday

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, running, training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to MCM E-Card and Bib #

  1. Amanda says:

    I love listening to Mumford & Sons while running. All that fast-paced banjo music helps keep my pace up! My two favorite songs on my running playlist are Shake It Out by Florence and the Machine and Keep The Car Running by Arcade Fire.

  2. WOOT!! So exciting. These next few weeks are going to fly by! Oh, and check your email so we can plan a blogger meet up ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. jumpeatrun says:

    SO exciting! I got my bib # for nyc a couple weeks ago too! It’s definitely about the journey and the destination and I am so glad you are healthy and fit to run this one! you are going to kick a$$!

  4. Yay! So cool that you’re doing this marathon. You’re going to kill this marathon, I know it. I just heard of Muse the other day and love their sound.
    I am looking into running a full in CA next year, hopefully in the Spring. We have airline miles and are looking into a little getaway. Do you know of any good ones in the Spring?

  5. Melissa says:

    You’re gonna an thisssss and it’s gonna feel so good bc of everything you overcame! So excited for you! :)))

  6. ya girl! I hope to come watch that day!

  7. julie says:

    Lately, I’ve been listening to Gary Clark Jr.,WALK THE MOON, Passion Pit, The Killers, Hawksley Workman… But Bad Girl by Usher, Ego by Beyonce and In the Morning and Can’t Get Enough by J Cole always get me moving ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ll be sure to steal a couple songs from your list too!

  8. Ahhh! I got the email too! I’m so excited/nervous! Taper time is so hard, but it makes it all worth it when you cross the finish line (and the marines hand you a medal!)!!!

  9. Jorie says:

    Go, Claire! Congratulations are in order and a good luck too!

  10. It feels like sooo long ago I won’t the golden ticket! I can’t wait to get there and run it! Getting the e-bib was a fantastic and exciting feeling! I need to get to work on a playlist!

  11. Oh girl, I am SO SO excited for you! These weeks are going to fly by, and before you know you’ll of completed yet another marathon!

    I don’t listen to music when running.. i know crazay!

Leave a Reply

