Bibs, bibs, bibs, and medals

When you’re sick like I’ve been over the past 9 days, you have a lot of time on your hands at home. Sure I spent 80% of my time in bed or on the couch but I got bored. I don’t know about you, but I have a hard time just staying at home when I’m healthy much less when I’m sick. I’m just not a homebody person! I start to feel like La Lohan on house arrest

I always like to be out doing something: out with my friends, out to a movie, out shopping, hiking, oh and yea running πŸ˜‰

By the way, the movie The Master last night was pretty kooky but I like strange movies like that (Meloncholia and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind to name a few more I love). Joaquin Phoenix was super, super good–but when is he not, right?

Anyways back to being sick and bored. On Sunday morning I started to get some crazy cabin fever and needed a little project. Not sure about you runners out there but I have kept ever bib from every race I’ve ever run over the past 6 years. A lot of them in the beginning were 5ks but I have only run one 5k in the past 3 years so as I ran more races and amassed more bibs they became bigger and more fun πŸ™‚ Β After each race I write down the race, date, location, and my time on the back and what I have been doing is just keeping them in a few big envelopes along with some of the marathon guides and newspaper results I also kept.

But this is no fun since I never really get to see them and it is obviously a very crude storage/organization method. So I got all the bibs out and made sure they were in order (yes I am that anal). I laid out all of the bibs just from the last year and a half since I started the blog (2011 through now). Actually now that I look at this picture, the Shamrock Marathon and WV Strawberry Mile bibs are out of order and that bothers me to no end πŸ˜‰

Some of my favorite bibs are from races I ran before I actually started the blog (you can barely see it in the bottom right corner below, but if you live in Boston run the Jim Kane Sugar Bowl 5 milerΒ in Southie or the Marathon Sports Cambridge City 5 Miler <—5 milers are such a great distance that I just don’t do anymore but there are a good amount of them in the Bean πŸ™‚ ). Obviously I have a sweet spot for my ’08 Chicago Marathon bib– the first marathon I ever ran–as well as the Boston Marathon bib and Iron Girl bib, the first triathlon I ever did in 2008.

And looky here! The bib from the first race I ever ran, a 5k outside of Boston in 2006. It looks so sad, small, and plain, but it holds great significance to me

SO, my plan is instead of stuffing all of these into envelopes, I will put them all in a big photo album so they are protected and so I can flip through anytime to see them. Does anyone else have any other ideas of ways to store bibs or things to do with them??? (I don’t want to turn them into a handbag though…)

I actually don’t even display my medals right now, although I was thinking about hanging them. Here are some of my favorite medals. I included the 10miler from hell I ran last Saturday because I earned that medal dammit, haha. I love the Shamrock Marathon medal because it is also a beer opener (sweeeet!) and well, duh, I like all of my marathon medals. I also like some of the cheesy ones that I’ve won for placing in shorter races when I was a fast 25-year old πŸ˜‰ Oh, and my 3rd place AG medal from the Colonial Half Marathon this past February is a big achievement for me since I’ll probably never win anything like it ever again. It’s too bad I’ve run so many half marathons and longer distance races that haven’t handed out medals because it’s fun to collect them as well.

And if you didn’t think that was crazy enough, I also keep all of the official race programs from my races

And for the big races I usually get one or two pictures just to have them. I’m sure I’ll get one from the Marine Corps Marathon this month. Don’t know if you can see, but the picture in the upper right is actually me pacing my sister in the final miles of the 2007 Chicago Marathon. She got into distance running well before I did (she tells her story in her “Back in the Saddle” posts here, here, here, and here) and that wasn’t her first marathon, but it was the first time I was involved. I saw how awesome it would be to run one and I was hooked. The following year I ran my very first marathon. Oh, and you can also get a peek of the bf when he was a young 23-year old (I’m almost 2 years older than him) and helped me run the final miles of my first marathon (he’s not propping me up in that picture or anything, LOL, we are just posing)

So it was a fun trip down memory lane and it got me itching to be healthy again so I could run and finish out my MCM training. I have one more long run–22 miles–and I was planning on doing it Sunday, but now looking at the weather it looks like Monday is the day to get it done. I mean just look at those amazing fall temps early next week! I can sleep in and get my long run in. I could ask for anything better πŸ™‚

What do you guys do with all of your race bibs? Medals? I need some cool ideas!

This entry was posted in active life, running, swim/bike/run! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Bibs, bibs, bibs, and medals

  1. i wish I kept all my numbers. i throw them out, how terrible

  2. Melissa says:

    Sadly all of my bibs, race guides, medals, and D-Tags (yep, I keep ’em!) are kept in shoe boxes. I asked my parents for one of these for Christmas last year but my father said he would just make (he’s a carpenter) them for me instead. I know he’s working on it πŸ™‚
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/90498560/running-medals-and-race-bibs-holder-in?ref=sr_gallery_17&ga_includes%5B%5D=tags&ga_search_query=race+bib+holder&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery

    • Those are AWESOME!!! I wonder if I could get the bf to make me something like that. I was also thinking about just framing the big races (marathons, half iroman) or putting the bibs and medals in shadow boxes to hang on the wall. I bet you’ve got a TON of bibs/medals! πŸ™‚

      • Melissa says:

        LOVE the idea of a shadow box for big races. Been thinking about doing that for Marine Corps (my first marathon last year) – definitely collected enough memorabilia for it!

  3. My mom actually has some of them framed at her house, but a lot of them I either didn’t hold onto or they are just randomly in drawers in my apt! I guess I should do something with them! I do however have ALL of my medals though hanging up on my bedroom wall. Love the shamrock medal!!

  4. aww that’s such a cute idea! That’s mainly why I want to start running a couple races… to get some medals and stuff haha

  5. Carina says:

    All my bibs from the last 2 yrs are in a drawer, the older ones are in a storage bin. All my medals hang over a corner of our bedroom dresser mirror. I’d guess I have over 30 medals — 16 marathons, tons of half mars, some random 5k AG medals, etc., and my husband says every time I hang a new one that they will soon all come crashing down. For AG awards, I usually put it on our kitchen counter for a couple weeks if it’s a glass or a trophy, then it usually gets moved to a bookcase in the garage (unless it’s a glass or mug we’ll actually use).

  6. I have all of my stuff too but I’m not sure what I want to do with them. I know I want to get something to hang up my medals but I’m at a loss with the bibs!

  7. jumpeatrun says:

    I had kept all of mine until I moved a year ago and I just got so frustrated with clutter that I threw them out 😦 Kind of wish I didn’t. I’ve been saving them again though. I use to hang them on a wall, now they are in a box. But, for Xmas last year I took all of my boyfriends and made him and album with his #’s and pictures.

  8. Amanda says:

    I don’t have too many race bibs, so I hang them on my wall with the date of the race, my finish time and the race name (if it’s not already on the bib) to look at!

  9. Jorie says:

    I LOVE that you keep those bibs! I’ve done a smattering of 5Ks and I threw out all the bibs. I think if I ever worked up to a 10K or a half, I would keep them too. I’m a saver πŸ™‚

  10. I wish I kept more of my race bibs– what a neat collection! Sounds like a perfect sick-day project

  11. Melissa says:

    I like your idea with the bibs. πŸ™‚ mine are on my dresser but I don’t have that many since I don’t race much. My medals r in my gym bag, lol. Hoping you’re still on the mend! Those temps look awesome!

Leave a Reply

