Rainy Day Tuesday

Is it weird that I’m really quite happy that today is rainy and dreary? It was bright and sunny all last week when I was sick and it actually upset me a bit. I guess I just feel like I should be out doing things when the weather is nice and I feel like I have “permission” to stay in and hunker down when it’s dreary out.

Even Sophie knows it’s a snoozy day. I don’t think she’s gotten up from her bed once

I am definitely on the mend but still have some lingering cold symptoms. Colds can last up to 2 weeks and I’m right at the 1 week mark today (feels like it’s been an eternity) so I just have to give myself a few more days. I have been sleeping pretty well the last few nights (10 hours each night!) and waking up before my alarm feeling somewhat refreshed. That is a big win in my book! I do find that as the day goes on I get more fatigued, but hopefully I will be full strength by the end of this week. I plan on doing my last 22 mile run on Sunday or Monday–exactly 3 weeks out from the MCM, which allows for the perfect taper. I have to admit the final 5 weeks of my training did not go as planned since I got sick, but I guess that’s life.

So I’m using today to really focus and get work done. October is the craziest time because we have journal articles coming out and conference presentations to put together (I’m going to one of the big higher ed conferences in Vegas in November πŸ™‚ ) plus I’m now applying for jobs, which means putting together my CV and research/teaching statements. That whole dissertation thing? It’s on the back burner baby. So with all that I was really happy when I walked out of the bedroom today and saw how dreary it was outside. If I can’t see the top of the mountain I know it’s gonna be a good work day πŸ˜‰

I can just feel fall coming (even though it’s supposed to be in the 80s tomorrow through Friday…yuck!) and the trees are starting to change colors. Puts me in the mood to make cup after cup of tea/coffee with the trusty Keurig

And I LOVE this sugar-free apple cider. It’s probably all chemicals but it tastes damn good!

So that’s the plan for the day. Work, work, work. Later I’m planning on hitting up the gym with the bf for a mini “back from being sick” workout. Actually I went to the gym yesterday and ran a whooping 2 miles. I know, that’s like superstar mileage right there πŸ˜‰

Then after the gym we are going to see the movie The Master with some friends. FINALLY! Some social interaction! πŸ™‚

Do you like dreary days once in a while as well?Β 

What’s your favorite type of coffee or tea?

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in balanced life, Healthy, professional life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Rainy Day Tuesday

  1. jumpeatrun says:

    So glad you are starting to feel a little bit better! I totally know what you mean about the weather…I tend to really like gloomy rainy days when I’m sick (or feeling lazy). We are having the same weather in NYC today.

  2. ok so you are the one brining this rain… man I hate this weather!

  3. I have this Starbucks VIA instant pumpkin spice coffee that is really good…just add water or almond milk…perfect for fall! I also love chai tea in the afternoons when I need a little boost. Tea with honey is especially good when sick πŸ™‚

    I have my 22 miler this weekend as well…really looking fwd to getting it out of the way! Ready to get my TAPER on fosho!

  4. julie says:

    I’m sick now too so I’m feeling your pain!

    I love mint-y teas when I’m not feeling well. Luckily, my job stocks up on Tazo Refresh.

  5. Melissa says:

    I bought that same cider the other day–yum. Try some Mucinex before your runs if you’re feeling congested. That stuff does wonders–I always take it before long runs when it’s cold out, even if I’m not sick. πŸ™‚

  6. Jorie says:

    That apple cider looks delish. Also, can’t wait to hear what you think about “The Master.” I’ve heard some really good things so far. I also want to see “Looper.” Love Joseph Gordon-Levitt!

  7. We have so many foggy, dreary days in SF, sometimes I really enjoy them (and other times, I hate them!) They’re great when I can be home and cozy, bad of course when I am craving to be outside

  8. Melissa says:

    Glad you’re on the mend girl! I do like a dreary day from time to time and its even better if I can stay in and on the couch, lol. Hope the movie is good! πŸ™‚

  9. frhuman says:

    I’m definitely all about the dreary days every once in awhile. Sometimes they feel cozy!

  10. rain.. what i would do for rain!! i haven’t seen it since april 😦 well actually i lied… when we went to Greece I was actually praying for it to rain just one day (since i know it wont be happening in kuwait like ever). It never happened until we were sitting on the plane to come back to kuwait. What luck right? I was THIS close to jumping off the plane just to soak it all in lol.

    hope you had an awesome time out w/ your friends! ohh & start feeling better girl.. it’ so sad to hear that your still under the weather a bit 😦

Leave a Reply

