I. Am. Freaking. Out.

This post is just me whining and complaining and for that I’m sorry.

Ok you guys, this cold has turned into a monstrous thing. I have been bedridden for the past 2 days and don’t feel all that much better today. In fact, the symptoms have now traveled down to my chest, which is really bad because I’ve always had a bit of asthma and ย getting sick like this can exacerbate it. Sorry to be TMI, but I’ve been walking around the apt sweating through every t-shirt and wheezing like a smoker. Why is this happening to me? WHY???????????

I haven’t run since my 20 miler 2 weeks ago and the marathon is in exactly 1 month. I saw this today on Facebook and freaked out

 

 

I worked so hard all summer building a base and making sure my knee didn’t swell up again. And now BOOM, I’ve been sidelined one month before the big event. I. Am. Freaking. Out.

Tell me your honest opinion: Do you think I’ll still be ok to run even though I’ve taken 2 weeks off and am now sick??????ย 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I. Am. Freaking. Out.

  1. I think you should be fine considering you have 20 miler under your belt. My advice would be to get better and then take a few runs easy before jumping into any long or speedy runs. You don’t want to hurt yourself coming back too quickly! You have a great base though so at this point I would try not to worry too much.

    I hope you get better soon!!

  2. ok take a deep breath! this is the time to visit a doctor, some medication and rest will do you well. hang in there!

  3. julie says:

    “David Nieman, Ph.D., who heads the Human Performance Laboratory at Appalachian State University, and has run 58 marathons and ultras, uses the “neck rule.” Symptoms below the neck (chest cold, bronchial infection, body ache) require time off, while symptoms above the neck (runny nose, stuffiness, sneezing) don’t pose a risk to runners continuing workouts.” -Runners World

  4. I think you’ll be fine! And I agree with Alex, go see a Doctor, get medicine that can kick it out for good and you’ll be on your way to running again ๐Ÿ™‚ Don’t stress, everything will be ok ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. jumpeatrun says:

    first of all…take a deep (wheezy ๐Ÿ˜‰ )breath. You are going to be fine. The hard work you did all summer isn’t going to just disappear. You are in great shape and because of that, this rest time might even make you feel stronger when you are healthy again. Just keep resting, drinking lots of fluids and you will be back out there soon. A month of running is longer than you think! btw- I am in the same boat- I haven’t done a long run in over 3 weeks and I am completely sick now with NYC marathon only a month away. Hang in there- we will make this happen!

  6. Carina says:

    It’s common to get sick after long runs like that, same as after a race, your immune system is weakened. Go to the doc and get some steroids to help with the wheezing, and maybe an antibiotic in case it will help, keep your fluids up, and you’ll be fine.

  7. You’ll be okay! I think it’ll take you a week to feel completely better once you start running again, but the body is amazing.

  8. Amanda says:

    You’ll be okay! A month is still a decent amount of time, and it sounds like what you have might need some antibiotics to kick it to the curb. I bet you’ll be out running next week. Just get the rest you need =)

  9. Yes yes yes you will! I hope this nasty cold kicks right out of your system!! Good thing is you are a 26.2 veteran, you’ve got this! Don’t be worried!

  10. Melissa says:

    Yes girl, you’re going to be more than fine! You have a really solid base + a 20 miler…you won’t lose any fitness if you take a few days off. Your body knows how to run 26.2 and will remember when the day comes for your race….I have no doubt! Just focus on getting better and taking care of yourself. Sending positive thoughts your way! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. If I were any kind of an expert I’d give you advice, but i’m not so I’ll just cheer you on. You can do this. Your body totally remembers how to run that far…it will all work out. Good luck and FYI in case you didn’t get the memo….I’m no longer at runningtobeskinny.com it’s now called sweatismysanity.com You may want to go back to your MMM blurb and change the link so your readers can find it if they see it. xo, Jessica

  12. I wish I could give you a hug & make you feel better! Go see a doctor though, and get yourself some medicine. I honestly think you’ll be fine to run the marathon. Just take your first few runs easy, and don’t over do it ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Pingback: MCM E-Card and Bib # | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

