Cheese Curd Hangover

Ok, I don’t really have a cheese curd hangover because I didn’t just eat cheese curds on my trip back to Madison this past weekend, but I am definitely feeling the effects of eating fatty foods and drinking tons of beer. If you checked out some of my eats/activities on instagram, you know that A DETOX is necessary. I’m also in major catch-up mode for work since I didn’t do anything last Thursday or Friday. I’ve spent almost all day so far on my data analysis software and it has been boooooring. So I’m taking a quick break to recap my trip back to my old college town. Here it is in numbers and pictures πŸ™‚

4: Days (and, well, 3 nights) that I spent drinking heavily. I go out a good amount still in Cville, but don’t usually drink that much so my body was thrown for a loop. Because, you see, I’m not 18-21 anymore. I’m 29 about to turn 30. And this old body of mine can’t take the booze like it once could. But it was fun nonetheless πŸ˜‰

2: For 2nd row. We sat in the 2nd row at Camp Randall Stadium to see the badgers beat UTEP handedly. I purposely got the seats because they would allow me to see my beloved Bucky and because they were on the end of the student section, where we could take part in all of the cheering, dancing, and singing traditions

1: I ate ONE brat the entire trip. It was a 8am the morning of the game. It was hot and juicy and paired perfectly with the beer that flowed out of the hundreds of tailgates lining the streets around the stadium. Although I did eat a TON of crap, I tried to be somewhat careful and ate salads for dinner twice. Despite my attempts I think I gained 5 pounds. Seriously.

tailgating at 8am

0: The number of days I ran or exercised while in Wisconsin. In fact, since my 20 miler eight days ago, I have only had 2 short runs. Ughh. So I really have to get back on my running game, especially with the marathon coming up in 4 short weeks (eeek!). I do have to say that even though I didn’t run (and obviously never ended up doing the fun 10k I wanted to do), we did a ton of walking. And Madison has that great bike share program so there were bikes that we “checked out” to ride around town.

Although biking is the most popular form of transportation in Madison, mopeds come in a close second. I had one in college (a ’88 Yamaha Razz!) and they are part of the campus culture

100+: Times I told the bf a story about a building, bar, cafe, street, house, apartment. He was such a good sport and listened to all of my reminiscing and even added some humor! By the end of the weekend he was making up all of his own “memes” for the places and common occurrences around campus.

I followed tradition by climbing up on Abe’s lap on Bascom Hill for a picture. Someone had stuffed red lace panties into his crotch. No joke πŸ™‚

My house junior year on Mifflin St, home to the famous Mifflin St block party

My house senior year that I shared with 6 girls. My room was in the upper turret πŸ™‚

The Memorial Union sunburst chairs

Teaching him how to Bucky

In addition to all of the eating, drinking, and reminiscing, I did realize–yet again–how beautiful Madison is and can’t wait to go back again soon to visit πŸ™‚

View of the downtown across Lake Monona (the smaller lake)

View of Lake Mendota from campus

street I lived on senior year

As soon as I finish up some of this work I am gonna catch up on all of my favorite blogs, I promise! I feel like it’s been forever and I’m missing my blog friends.

Since I’ve been completely out of the blog world this past weekend, please tell me one fun thing you did!!!

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in social life, traveling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cheese Curd Hangover

  1. Gah looks like a freaking blast. For some reason I have always wanted to try a cheese curd.

  2. Looks like you had a super fun weekend! I spent my weekend running through the hills of MD. Still fun, but nothing like tailgating & football at your alma mater! Glad you had a great time!

  3. Melissa says:

    Looks like an amazing lil vaca you guys had…so glad u got to relax and have a good time before its back to the grind! :))

  4. I love that selfie you guys took in the window:)
    Bahh, what’s 5lbs? A great weekend rules over 5lbs;)

  5. What an awesome trip back to Madison! I am quite jealous of all the fun you had though :-X You & the boy are so stinking adorable!!! Ohh & can I just tell you I love your outfits!

  6. Looks like you had so much fun!! Loved peepin’ all ur pics on instagram…OMG the marathon is coming up so fast! 4.5 weeks to go baby!!

  7. This post is AHHH-MAZING! Isn’t our undergrad university the best?! So beautiful.

    Glad you had fun and got to do all the best things. You saw a great game on Saturday too πŸ™‚

    You should get the shirt that says ‘I Learned How to Bucky!’ … it’s my favorite one!

Leave a Reply

