It’s a work from home kinda day

It is GORGEOUS out today. High of 68 degrees and sunny. The weather doesn’t get much better than this!

So I decided to stay at home and soak up the natural light (our new apartment has a ton of windows and has great light, which I love!). I really love working from the breakfast bar in our kitchen because there’s a ton of space and I’m close to the food and Keurig πŸ™‚

See those oranges? I started to feel like I was coming down with something after the 20miler and have been eating tons of fruit. I know that studies have conclusively found that vitamin C doesn’t really help with colds, but I do feel better! So it was probably a fluke πŸ˜‰

Sophie is also enjoying the sunlight πŸ™‚

You can see above we still have a tool box lying around. Slowly but surely, though, our new apartment is coming together.

We’ve decided not to do any curtains or window treatments in the living room because the windows are so big and the view is so beautiful. We didn’t want to block any of it. Plus, it’s super hard to find a curtain rod long enough for the windows we have on the side of the room. I had bought some gray modern-looking curtains and then returned them when we decided to go for a minimalist look πŸ™‚

We opened one of our boxes of books to load this bookshelf. I still have five more to go!

And look what finally came together: my closet! Ok, I actually still have two wardrobe boxes full of winter clothes in storage and I have to figure out were the heck to put them, but I’m almost there! I swear every year I go through and give away and consign so many clothes but I always seem to have too many.

We live in a 2 bedroom place (well actually it’s more like 3 bedroom since our bedroom area is lofted). I have a whole room to myself for my desk, books, clothes, accessories, etc. If anyone has any ideas about how I could turn half of the room into a cute closet space please let me know! Something along the lines of this would be super cute (you can buy those extra racks for pretty cheap from Target and Ikea)

Ok I gotta get back to work because a big group of friends and I are going to see GIRL TALK tonight in Cville! And I’ve got to pack because the bf and I leave for Madison early tomorrow morning πŸ™‚

Super excited. I’ll leave you with two of my favorite GT mash-ups

What are you excited about on this Wednesday?Β 

What is one project you want to work on at your home?Β 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in life in cville, The Good Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to It’s a work from home kinda day

  1. oh gosh I feel you. I wish Icould work from home today. Plus your place is gorgeous.

    • Thanks! It’s amazing what you can get here in Cville as opposed to Boston or D.C. I was so surprised when I first moved here from Boston that I could spend the same amount on rent and get a huge place. I actually didn’t like D.C. that much, it just never grew on me. I hope you really like it though!

  2. Um, jealous! Wish I could work from home. Your place looks lovely πŸ™‚

  3. Jorie says:

    Claire, I love your views! All those trees…so amazing. It’s things like that that make me wish I didn’t live in a city. Also, I am working from home today too! (And maaaybe catching up on a few of my favorite blogs πŸ™‚ )

  4. Amanda says:

    I love those views! I don’t know if I could work from there. I think the views would distract me, haha!

  5. What a cute apartment! And 3 bedrooms must be soo nice! We’re in a cramped 1 bedroom (rent prices in SF are absolutely ridiculous– it’s $2500 for a 1 bdrm) and craving extra closet space

  6. Melissa says:

    Love the apartment and your closet and that you can work from home, lol. Have fun in Madison! πŸ™‚

  7. You view from the window is so gorgeous!!! I wish I lived down there haha it’s too cold where I am :/

  8. LOVE your new place. It’s adorable, and those views are amazing!! Have a wonderful day hunnie xo

Leave a Reply

