20 Miler Playlist

Sohpie and I thank you for the well wishes yesterday! She is doing much better and mostly back to her crazy, smiling self.  And a special thank you to Jorie for the shout out! 🙂

Ok, it’s Friday party people! That means it’s almost the weekend and…

Ok, so I don’t have a crazy party weekend planned but it should be fun nonetheless. Just watching football and running. Not at the same time you sillies. I’m stoked for my first 20 miler since tearing the cartilage in my knee over a year ago.  I’ve run the distance tons of times, just not since the injury. And even though I have more bad running days than good now because I’m at a serious disadvantage, I never thought I’d be able to run marathons again (or run at all for that matter) so I’m pretty giddy. I’d be even more giddy if the temps this weekend in D.C. were below 60 degrees. Alas, they never seem to be!

And I have to remind myself that I have made some serious progress since the injury. I killed my half marathon PR and have been running more consistently!

My medium distance and long runs in the weeks leading up to the Marine Corps Marathon will look like this (my weekly maintenance or “junk” miles typically stay the same: 3 and 4)

I usually change up my playlists for most runs, but since this is something of a commemorative run (just like my first half marathon back from the injury was, where my recap was featured on My Race, My Story), I created a special playlist. It’s a little over 3 hours because I want some flexibility in changing the music if I’m just not feeling it at the time. The first part is slow as usual because I like to ease into my long runs. Loving The Raconteurs and Wolfmother right about now! And gotta have my Rusted Root, Rodrigo y Gabriela (if you haven’t, SEE them in concert, they are awesome) and Guster. Also, the Lumineers just came to Cville (they opened for OAR) and they are great!

The playlist then kicks it up a bit with some hard rock (that I never usually listen to, just run to) and some of my fave hip hop jams. It ends with Girl Talk because, well, GT rocks. Also GT is coming to Cville in less than a week and a big group of friends and I are going. Can’t wait!!!

I won’t be posting this weekend, but check my Instagram for updates and behind the scenes action 🙂 Wish me luck!

I know some of you have some kick ass weekend mileage plans that makes my runs look wimpy. So call it out! How many miles do you plan to run/bike/walk/drive this weekend? 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, running, training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 20 Miler Playlist

  1. well I will be thinking of you tomorrow as you rock those 20! No idea how many I plan to do tomorrow I am feeling a distance but probably no more than 12

  2. Jorie says:

    You’re welcome for the shoutout! And good luck with your 20-miler! I love your playlist. The Lumineers are amaaaazing; I can’t stop listening to “Ho Hey.”

  3. julie says:

    I plan on running a 12 miler. It will be my longest and put me almost to the hald marathon mark. Good luck on the 20! I’ll be as awesome as you some day!

  4. I LOVE the new Muse song Madness!! Stoked to see it on your playlist, good luck on the run =)

  5. Melissa says:

    You’re gonna kill that 20 miler! And I seriously need to update my playlist so I’ll be sampling some of your tunes! I have my last peak wknd…a 4 and a 5 hour run…mileage combined should be 50+ if I don’t pass out, lol. Have an awesome weekend! :)))

  6. Can’t wait to hear how the 20 mile race went!! Loving your instagram posts 🙂

  7. Pingback: Let’s Talk About Running Surfaces (Revenge of the Penguins 20 Miler Recap) | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

