This Week’s Recap in Numbers and Pictures

I absolutely LOVED your comments on my post a few days ago. I am fascinated by what people do professionally and the [sometimes circuitous] road they take to get to where they are in their careers. I haven’t had much time to respond–I hate it when life gets in the way!– but I plan on doing so today. Writing that post also really helped me to reflect on my experiences the past 3 years and I feel more prepared to be uber productive this year so I can finally finish.

Things have been crazy busy this week with the POTUS coming to town and with the academic year starting for students (I don’t take classes, but other responsibilities pop up once everyone is back on grounds). I’m also going out of town for the weekend for a bachelorette party, so I’ve been cramming everything in. Here’s my recap in numbers and pictures:

20: Times I tried to talk myself out of running 16 miles. I eventually prevailed at doing so after my knees started to really hurt at mile 6 (most likely due to the hilly race I ran last weekend, which did a number on my knees). I almost made it to 12 miles but forced myself to stop because I didn’t want to do too much damage and have to go through a more lengthy recovery. It’s too bad I had to stop because I was feeling good otherwise–no headaches or nausea. If it’s not one thing, it’s another….

hey, at least I’ve still got a smile

I tried to get the cool view from our apt in the background. What I ended up with was just a bad quality pic. Whoops!

HOLD THE PHONE: I found this spray park just a mere 2 blocks from our apt. My runs will be ended here from now on!

5: The hours I stood in line and in a huge crowd waiting for President Obama to fly in from Colorado to give a speech in Charlottesville. It was HOT and I was TIRED but it was TOTALLY WORTH it! No matter what your political beliefs or who you will be voting for (although you can guess who I will vote for), it is pretty cool to see a President that close up.ย He is such an amazing orator, really. And I obviously wholeheartedly agree with his higher ed and climate change policies.

Look how close I got!!

12: Midnight that is. That’s the time I got home last night after going to the Pretty Lights concert and while that’s not that late, I am feeling really tired today.ย The concert was at the same venue as Obama’s speech but was of course a much different experience. I think every undergrad at UVa was there partying. There was a lot of obvious underage drinking and drug use. Not 100% my scene, but it was kind of fun nonetheless. I got to wear a really nifty vintage tee I found last weekend in Greenville with a ton of other neon and glow stick accessories. And compared to everyone else at the concert, my outfit was tame ๐Ÿ˜‰

Check out my major hula-hooping skills. and by major…I mean I can’t keep that dang thing up for more than 5 seconds

4: Major things on my to-do list this and next week for work. I have two research jobs, I teach a history course at the local community college, plus I volunteer every year to help organize the school’s research conference. This year I think I bit off too much to chew, but I wanted to round out the “service” part of my CV (for those of you out there trying to make a career in academics, you know how it goes: 1. research, 2. teaching, and 3. service). It’s also really fun to put together a conference for students to present their research and I’ve seen this thing grow from it’s first year (4 YEARS AGO when I first started helping out) to now.

Oh, see what’s at the bottom of that list? That damn dissertation. I swear I’m going to make time for it.

Tomorrow I’m off to Dewey Beach, DE for a bachelorette weekend. Should be a great time! Hope you have a great Labor Day weekend!

What’s one number that you can think of that best recaps something in your life this week?ย 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, balanced life, life in cville, professional life, running, social life, training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to This Week’s Recap in Numbers and Pictures

  1. I am just blown away by your balance of work and play. I need to work on that badly.

  2. julie says:

    First of all, I love the shirt you wore to the concert ๐Ÿ™‚

    8… The eight long hours I’ve struggled to get through this week. I have had worse bouts of procrastination than usual. Yay, for a long weekend!

  3. Totally jealous you got to see Obama! Sorry to hear about your knees but glad you’re not feeling sick as of late! Looks like you had fun at the concert! ๐Ÿ™‚ Have fun this weekend girl!!!

  4. Kailey says:

    I think you made a very good decision NOT to keep pushing yourself with the knee pain – never good to get an injury ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  5. I give you so much credit for all that you do. You truly do have so much going on in your life & you seem so relaxed & calm. I’m sorry about your run hunnie… but so glad you listened to your body & didn’t continue! Ohh & I loveeee your lipstick color!

  6. jumpeatrun says:

    You really are insanely busy! I give you a lot of credit for being able to handle it all! Have a great weekend!

  7. Pingback: Summer 2012 Highlights and Fall Goals | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

