Random Musings

Where to start, where to start. It feels like it’s been forever since I posted (real time: only 4 days, not including my quick post yesterday from my phone). We finally got internet and TV today so I don’t feel like I’m stranded on a deserted island. It’s amazing how much we come to rely on technology, isn’t it?

Like my Garmin. I used to swear that I’d never get one. I loved training without having to obsess over what my pace and exact times were. But after I started using one last year, I realized that it has become my crutch. I constantly look at my pace during training runs, which can be a bit annoying to tell you the truth. So I thought it best to go running without it yesterday, especially as I’ve been dealing with these crazy health issues. I wanted to just focus on my body, how I was feeling, etc. I’ll do a post on my run tomorrow, but let me just say that freeing myself from the Garmin for a day was glorious. Now, races….that’s another story completely.

Other than moving this week and going to the doctor over and over again, I’ve started to work on my dissertation again. I took a good 3 months off of it this summer but it’s time to get back into it because I need want to be done by the spring. Let the writing of the 400 page book commence!!! (ok, I’ve already written 100 pages, so it’s not AS daunting, but now comes the most important part: data analysis and findings).

that’s better

Oh, and I’m looking forward to this weekend! Mitch and I are visiting a couple that we are friends with–Jamie and Julia–who live in Greenville, South Carolina. Actually, Julia (who just started her own blog, which you can visit here <— come on, give her some love!!!) and I are running a 10k in Charlotte on Saturday morning. With my wonky health issues, not sure how that will go over, so we’ll just have to see. Like my last few races, I’ll probably take it easy and just treat it as another training run!

Jamie and Julia ๐Ÿ™‚

With Julia out at the Strawberry Festival in WV…ready for round 2 in SC!

I’ll be back a bit later with some new eats I’ve been loving!!

If you usually run with a Garmin, do you ever purposely not use it?ย 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, balanced life, professional life, traveling. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Random Musings

  1. I think it is so easy to become a slave to your Garmin. I try to go on ‘naked’ runs (sans music, sans watch) sometimes just to free myself from running with it all the time!

  2. katiemoves says:

    I use the Nike plus app on my phone so I can’t see it like a watch but I get feed back every mile. I like that I can’t stare at it constantly cause I think I would probably drive myself crazy! I hope you are feeling good as new soon!

  3. I used to run with my Garmin allll of the time, but after I got injured in the spring I completely abadoned it and haven’t seen it since. I run by feel now and its so much more sustainable (from an injury point of view).

  4. I switch up to wearing my Garmin and not. It helps me feel more relaxed sometimes and pay attention to my body more.

  5. I took a break from my Garmin too….I feel much more relaxed, but surprisingly, less accomplished. I like looking at all my stats after the run, but it would stress me out while I was actually running.

  6. Melissa says:

    It is soooo freeing without the Garmin. I enjoy my runs more without it…I don’t know why I keep wearing it, lol. I hope your health improves and just have fun with the race on Saturday. ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy the time with your friends!

  7. Julia says:

    Yay! So excited to see you too. This time we won’t have to worry about being overdressed ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

