Is that…a bear????!

We just got back from Michigan late last night after a loooong day of driving yesterday. The weekend was so much fun–visiting with family, the Ann Arbor Art Fair, and my cousin’s wedding πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to post some pics of everything!

But that will have to wait because I am in major catch up mode today. There is something I’ve been dying to post about since last week. I know I’ve talked about all of my wildlife encounters before on my runs but this takes the cake.

I’ll start at the beginning. I woke up bright and early at 6am last Wednesday for my mid-distance weekly run of 8 miles. I really wanted to get it done before we left for Michigan because I wasn’t sure if I could fit in any running over the weekend (it turned out I did fit in a hilly but fast [for me] 8 miler on Saturday…but more on that to come). I did the usual: got up, drank a ton of coffee, and set up my bottle on my favorite running route. It was a beautiful morning and held so much promise for a great run.

But there was one thing kind of strange. I kept seeing more wildlife than usual. I think I saw 10 deer in the matter of 10 minutes.

So I knew something was up. But I started my run with no problems and was happily chugging along….until…

Ummm, is that a BEAR?

Yea…not sure about you, but I never feel like getting mauled by a bear while out on my runs. I was pretty freaked out (well not sooo freaked out that I couldn’t snap a pic). But seriously, I know that bears are super dangerous. So I turned around immediately and went back to my car. I can honestly say that that is the most scared I have ever been on a run.

Not to mention, the bear effectively prevented me from getting my mileage. Sigh. And I hate getting up early for no reason. But I knew I shouldn’t have kept running. Safety first!

So instead of my planned 8 miler, I trucked it to the gym where I ran 6 more miles on the trusty treadmill. With no bear sightings πŸ˜‰

Although I was pretty bummed at the time that I couldn’t finish my run outside, it ended up working out really well. I was able to run 8 miles in Michigan, which capped off a stellar week that consisted of two 6 mile runs and one 8 miler (and I will do 14 tomorrow).

The only problem now? I’m afraid to go back to run on my favorite route!!!! I doubt I’ll see another bear because that is really rare, but still I’m afraid one will run up behind me when I’m running (is that a crazy irrational fear or what, lol?)

What is the most scared you’ve ever been on a run? Why?Β 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, running, training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Is that…a bear????!

  1. ya, I don’t mess with bears. I would have been right with you on the treadmill

  2. OMG! You are so brave to even get a photo, I would have been shaking in my compression socks! πŸ˜‰ Glad you got the rest of your miles in though!

  3. Melissa says:

    It looks like a nice route! That would have freaked me out too. There was a black bear about 15 feet in front of my car once when my hubby and I went to go for a hike at Hunter Mountain in the Catskills in NY one summer. The most scared I have been on a run is probably when I’ve gone out in the early am and have seen people just hanging around in desolate areas (i.e. near the canal that one week where I ran)…you just never know what people can do. Congrats on getting in some great runs! Good luck with your 14-miler. πŸ™‚

  4. Wow! I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything even close to as scary as a bear on my runs, even when I didn’t live in a city! Yikes!

  5. Gahh. that would freak me out so much. I’m glad you’re safe!:)

  6. I love how I’m not the only one who’s first reaction is, “OMG! I need photographic evidence of this!!” πŸ˜‰ Glad you made it out of there safely, and good on ya for going to the gym!

  7. eatpraytri says:

    OMG I would Fuh.reak out!! Good call on going back to your car. That is soo scary!! Glad you are ok and I hope you took that pic with the zoom?!?! LOL

  8. jessie says:

    Girl you are crazy for having the guts to snap a picture before heading back. I would’ve 1.) stood there @ first in disbelief, 2.) peed my pants and 3.) took off running as fast as possible!

    Glad you were able to finish the read on the mill though πŸ™‚

  9. Pingback: Your Perfect Running Day | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  10. Pingback: Kenyan Summer | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  11. Pingback: Summer 2012 Highlights and Fall Goals | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  12. Pingback: 2012 “Year of the Comeback” Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

