Starting Marathon Training With A Half Marathon

Alternatively titled why I love to run in cheap sunglasses.

When you get up in the morning and the light is hurt your head
The first thing you do when you get up out of bed
Is hit that streets a-runnin’ and try to beat the masses
And go get yourself some cheap sunglasses

Some of my favorite running gear is pretty cheap. Case in point: my sunglasses. I love the “value sunglasses” they have a Target for running. They cost a whopping $5 and seem to fit perfectly under my hats/visors. I HATE how I look in the super athletic “ironman-esque” glasses. In fact, I’m peeved that there aren’t more options out there for cute running sunglasses that are also functional. But that is another story. Want cheapie sunglasses that you aren’t afraid to scratch/sit on/lose and which offer 100% protection against both UVA/UVB? Β Go to Target πŸ™‚

Rocking my cheapie sunglasses

I gotta keep the rest of this quick because I’m swamped with writing proposals today at work, but I wanted to recap my first official marathon training week. I hit 30 miles exactly for the week and topped it off with a 13 mile long run. I didn’t even have to get up at the crack of dawn for that run (unlike all of my long runs over the past month!). It was a bit cooler last Friday (highs in the upper 80s rather than 100) so I got up at 7 and started running. 7am wake up > 4:30am wake up.Β 

LOOK! I’m not even that sweaty….but wait, that doesn’t excuse why I still look half asleep

Ok, ok, so it wasn’t quite a half marathon (.08 miles too short), but I’m gonna count it. It feels pretty good to have built up a nice base so I’m starting at this point. I have to keep reminding myself of my goal: to get to the starting line of the marathon. It will be my 5th marathon overall, but my first in a few years so I need to make sure I just make it with my knee injury and ITB issues.

Necessary to that goal: consistent ice baths. So I took one after my run

I know I’m wearing one purple sock….I couldn’t find the other one!!! πŸ™‚

I love any distractions while in the ice

All of that was on Friday. And you know what I did the rest of the weekend in terms of exercise????? Nada. I meant to go for a quick run yesterday but drank way too much on Saturday night at the Death Cab concert (more on that to come!) so I’ve been feeling like poo. I’m still tired even today! Guess I’m too old to party like I’m 21 still.

Umm, but it was worth it… πŸ˜‰

So I’m gonna try to finish at least one of these proposals and then go for a run today. This training week is going to be a bit funky because I’m driving up to Michigan on Thursday and will probably not run at all over the weekend. So I’m going to do my “mid-distance” run (probably 8 miles) on Wednesday and then get my 14 miler in next Monday when I get back from the mitten

What sunglasses do you wear to run/bike?Β 

Anyone else starting their fall marathon training?

What is one of your fitness goals for the rest of the summer? Β 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, running, training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Starting Marathon Training With A Half Marathon

  1. nice job on kicking off the training!

  2. Nice job on your run!

    I don’t wear sunglasses when I run but I wear cheapos when I bike. Recently I’ve been wearing the sunglasses I bought for $5 at the Color Run. Might as well get some more use out of them!

    I’m so jealous you’re going to Michigan, have fun πŸ™‚

  3. I tried taking an ice bath after my half marathon yesterday, but I realized I’ll only stay in it for the full 15 minutes if I’m in the training room where I work… and have people to keep me accountable πŸ˜‰ good on ya! for both the training and the icing!! πŸ™‚

  4. Carina says:

    One of my brothers and another brother’s wife have a huge argument about whether Wisc or Mich looks more like a mitten.

  5. Melissa says:

    Awesome run!! And I haven’t been able to bring myself to do an ice bath…is it really painful/shocking? How long do u stay in there for? Glad u had fun at the concert! πŸ™‚

  6. jessie says:

    What a great run to start of your Marathon training!! Cannot wait to hear all about the concert!!

  7. nice job on the run! I must say I’m a little envious, that’s where I’d like to be at this point.
    Sunglasses… none for me and I know how important they are to wear. They’re on my list! Can’t wait to hear all about the concert:)

  8. Pingback: Your Perfect Running Day | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  9. Pingback: Summer 2012 Highlights and Fall Goals | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  10. Pingback: Baby Did A Bad Bad Thing | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  11. Pingback: 2012 “Year of the Comeback” Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

