Ahhh it starts again

Technically marathon training started yesterday for the Marine Corps Marathon.

This is the first marathon I am “training” for where I am starting at a long run of 13 miles. I’ve done some really good base training over the past 6 weeks and running a lot of half marathon distance races this past year has really helped me as well, even though I’ve dealt with some major challenges as well after I tore the cartilage in my knee and have suffered irreparable damage (thus the PT straps below)

Naner after my 1:40:34 Half PR in February

I’ve worked so hard this past year and have had so many highs (half marathon PR, 2 AG awards) and lows (all my knee issues, the Orthovisc reaction) to get back to running…but not just any old running. Marathon running. I love marathon training, it’s addicting. It’s the journey, the difficulty, the payoff. The marathon is such a great metaphor for life. At least it is for my life right now as I have been working toward my PhD. The spirit of training and the distance is transformative (I actually find that I experience the 7 stages of the marathon during the training as well, especially as the runs get longer). I think I’m going to have to watch my favorite documentary, The Sprit of the Marathon, this week to get hype.

What running distance are you most drawn to? Why?

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, Healthy, running, training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Ahhh it starts again

  1. jessie says:

    Good luck with your marathon training girl. Can’t wait to hear about your progress in posts leading up to the big day πŸ™‚

  2. I can’t wait to hear more about the training! I never go into a race with a training plan and I always regret it the moment I get on the course haha.

  3. Melissa says:

    So happy you’re ale to train…those are some serious setbacks you’ve had re: your knee but I’m sure the highs outweigh that. πŸ™‚ it’s funny how marathons can be so addicting..after my first one in march I told my hubby It would be awhile for the next but then I became obsessed with BQing so I did the VT one 2 months later, lol. Thankfully I BQed or else I’d be dragging my hubby all over until I did, hahaha! Can’t wait to hear more about your progress. What do those straps do? Do you notice a difference when you don’t wear them? I just got that same white/pink Nike tank that you have on..I love it! πŸ™‚ have a great day!

    • YAY For BQing!!!!! Love the BM πŸ™‚

      The straps are a funny story. I never thought they would work, but after I lost the articular cartilage under my right knee cap, my doc told me that the strap might help keep my knee cap in place when I run so it doesn’t rub and get inflamed. I found that when I wore it consistently, he was right!! Unfortunately as a result of my injury, I have subconsciously favored my left leg ever so slightly (I can’t even tell I do it and have worked on it). So I have had ongoing ITBS in my left leg as a secondary consequence of the major cartilage injury in my right (ok, craziness, right?). The strap allows me to continue to run even through the ITBS (it does really work!). Not sure I still need it but once you get used to something….

  4. oh man, perfect timing for this post! I just wrote about my marathon blues. I would love to watch the spirit of the marathon. Still so impressed with your 1:40 half!!

    • I’m still super surprised by that time!!!!!! Probably the only race I’ve ever run where everything just came together (sleep, weather, etc). I wish that wasn’t so rare!

      So sorry you have marathon blues!!!! I’m gonna go read about it right NOW

  5. Yay for MCM training! I’m both terrified and super excited! It will only be my 2nd marathon, so while I have 1 experience under my belt, I don’t really feel like its enough. That being said, I think the 10mile distance is my favorite. It’s still a challenge, but doesn’t require the 3 hour+ long runs of marathon training.

  6. I love everything about marathon training. I love getting up early to complete the long weekend runs. I love pushing myself to run far. I can’t wait to start training in the fall. Good luck with your training πŸ™‚

  7. Great blog! I am training for MCM as well…it will be my 2nd time running it and my 5th marathon!! Cheers to your training! I am going to have to watch Spirit of the Marathon again too to get some motivation πŸ™‚

  8. eatpraytri says:

    How exciting! I can’t even begin to imagine running a marathon. So exciting that you are!! I really need to watch that movie! I’ve heard so many good things πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

