Moody Monday and Getting Out of Your Head

A little down in the dumps today. Not sure why…I had a fab weekend with my friends, got to dance like crazy at the bar,  and got in a good 10k run.

Club can’t even handle this peplum right now

My life is pretty simple for the most part (as you can probably glean from my blog). What makes me happy: running, food, friends, boyfriend, traveling, and yes working. I don’t usually post about “personal issues” because frankly–and I really don’t mean to sound like an ass here–I haven’t had that many recently. I really don’t have that much drama in my life or in my head and I want to keep it that way. That might make for a boring blog, but I just try to live life and not dwell on stuff too much.

It’s not like I have NO issues–everyone does.

But I can acknowledge that I have a relatively healthy relationship with food and fitness (nothing too restrictive, nothing too excessive) and people in my life. It hasn’t always been that way. In fact a few years ago I went through a rough time where I feel like I was “in my head” all the time. A lot of it had to do with my relationship, which has gotten infinitely better with some practice in better communication. I even went to go talk to someone and I think that might have made it worse in some ways. I was ruminating, or thinking about what I was thinking about, way too much. The problem about being in your head all the time is that you’re just not living life. Since then, I’ve learned somehow to just live life and not think too much about things. I find myself go days and weeks without having to examine “how I’m feeling” or “what I’m worried about”. Life seems so much easier, and it’s glorious and I realize I’m happy

This morning for SOME reason (I think I had a weird dream?) I realized that I was in a bad mood for no reason other than I was just “in my head” (does that even make sense to anyone out there???). This week is Summer Restaurant Week (you can check out my Orzo review during the Spring 2012 Restaurant Week) and my bf wrote to me on gmail asking me if I wanted to go out. SURE! I mean who doesn’t want to be asked out to a nice dinner, right?

I have a ton of work from both of my jobs, including multiple conference proposals and a final project and meeting due in to the President this week. But that’s not out of the ordinary, it’s always that way. Maybe I am worrying that I haven’t worked enough on my dissertation this summer? Not sure.

Maybe it’s just that I know that the next few years will bring BIG changes in my life. I’m turning 30 in November, and while I know that I am happy with my lifestyle now and don’t really want things to change anytime soon, I will want more in the future. I’ll start looking for faculty jobs this fall (for the following fall, that’s how the hiring cycle works), I don’t know where I’ll be living, and I know I might have to leave friends behind and “start over” somewhere new. I’m planning a HUGE 30th bday bash in Las Vegas as well as a hiking trip with my twin sis…and that doesn’t even touch on my plans to get a Round The World ticket for after I graduate next year (more on that soon!!!!)

Oh, and I have a smushy little doggy that loves me. How can life be bad???? Her sole idea of happiness is sitting in my lap and romping around the grass. The simple things

My personal life, including my relationship, will probably (and hopefully change). It’s gonna be a lot of change all at once. BUT WHY AM I WORRYING ABOUT IT NOW? Just a random day where for some reason I’m “in my head”.

So this is what I’m going to do. I’m going to take one of these

And change my environment. Moving to a coffee shop to do more work instead of staying inside at my office. That usually does the trick. Oh, and a workout later. Can’t deny the power of endorphins 🙂

Do you ever find yourself “in your head”? 

How do you remedy a bad mood?  

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in balanced life, Happy, Healthy, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Moody Monday and Getting Out of Your Head

  1. I hope you feel better soon! When I’m feeling off I try to think about whats really bothering me. Usually it’s not what I’m upset about. Then I go for a run or a swim. I always feel better afterwards!

  2. katiemoves says:

    i HATE waking up in a bad mood for no reason. sometimes it just happens and i don’t even know why. annoying. honestly usually getting some fresh air from a walk/run/bike usually lets me feel better. music really affects me too so some good tunes help! Your birthday bash in vegas sounds AWESOME!! 🙂

  3. I think most people all have days like that…when nothing in particular prompted a bad/sad mood…but you still are just in a funk. Running really helps me to be honest…when I run I just focus on that and not the insignificant crap (which most of the time it is) that’s consuming my mind for some reason. You have a lot of stuff going on and a lot of changes are going to be happening so I think it’s natural/normal for you to have moments like these. They are saying that the traditional mid-life crisis is actually being seen more and more in people in the mid-20’s, early 30’s because of all the transitions during that period of our lives as well. Allow yourself to have a bad day/be in a funk/have time for yourself…but have that outlet(s) you need to bring yourself out of it (like with your workouts or even grabbing dinner with your bf or friend could help) when you are ready. Also…it could be just a “case of the mondays” lol…sorry had to throw that in…hopefully it made you smile (and hopefully you’ve seen that movie or else you probably just have a confused look, lol).

  4. what a great post and something to realize. i honestly love your approach on this and give you loads of credit for handling it all so well. that balance is hard to hit.

  5. First off, you have the cutest outfits! Love that necklace you are wearing.

    I used to feel “in my own head” wayyy to much. It was like I couldn’t go on without worrying/thinking about something. It took me a longggg time to get over it. Yeah, there are still some days that I over think situations but for the most part, I’m happy 🙂

  6. Carina says:

    I think your general happiness is why I like your blog. I frequently feel, among the people I know in the real world, that I’m one of the happiest people I know — but you’re right, everyone has those days. I can’t wait to hear about your RTW plans. I’ve looked into RTW tickets within the last 3-4 months b/c it’s something I seem to consider about once a year but we’ve never done. My friend who did had an incredible time.

  7. You have the best clothes on Earth!

Leave a Reply

