Some recovery runs and National Running Day

Happy National Running Day!

No matter why we run–and we all have different (yet mostly the same) reasons–we can all probably agree that a day dedicated to our passion of running is pretty darn cool. I looked up National Running Day online and found 10 suggested ways to celebrate the “holiday” (in addition to, well, just running). You can find the list here. I’m using today to focus on #8:

Choose a running resolution – Kick off a new fitness goal on National Running Day. It can be anything, including adding five minutes to your next run, running a new distance, or signing up for a road race.

Since the Alexandria Half Marathon a week and a half ago I have been sort of up in the air about what June and early July would be like for me before I really start training for the Marine Corps Marathon. So I’ve decided to create a more concrete plan. Much like my eating plan for the summer 😉

But first, some of my “recovery” runs since the race. I say they’re “recovery” even though I wasn’t sore at all after the race…in fact, my left hip/piriformis that had been bothering me has only felt better since!

The weather this past weekend couldn’t have been more different than Memorial Day weekend. The weather this past Saturday and Sunday felt cool and fresh and almost having to DNF in the Alexandria Half due to heat exhaustion the week before seemed like a distant memory. When I started my run at 10am on Sunday it was sunny and 65 degrees. Perfect.

I only went 9 miles because I wanted to give myself a “taper” week after my race to let some of my nagging ITB and hip issues resolve a bit. And it was a pretty good run, with the first half at a very slow over 10 min pace and the second half at under a 9 min pace.

And I ran in my new Adidas tank top! It’s so light and soft. And it has a little side pocket perfect for storing extra GU or chapstick (I like to run with chapstick sometimes)

The back is pretty cool too

An ice bath rounded out the day

I planned on running again on Monday because I didn’t go that far on Sunday, but life got in the way. And we know about what happened yesterday. Major stress breakdown. I knew I needed to get out there for a run after work but my legs just felt so heavy. Either due to the stress or the whole bag of Hershey’s Cookies ‘n’ Creme drops. I tried to run, I did! It was just one of those days where I could only go a mile before having to stop. It was mostly mental. So instead I walked most of it. And while I didn’t get the endorphin high I really needed after a very stressful day at work, I did feel a little better that I went over 3.5 miles.

So that brings us to today, National Running Day. I do plan on going to the gym to run today to celebrate (it’s really raining out) but I also want to create a running plan for the rest of June. Officially, Marine Corps Marathon training doesn’t start until July 9. But what does that mean really? I usually create my own training plans because I’m not all gung-ho about PR’ing a marathon. With my knee injury, I just want to get to the starting line healthy. Seriously, that is my only goal. Get to the starting line. My body will get me to the finish on the day.

So I’m going to take the rest of June and focus on getting in some good consistent runs that help to maintain the base I’ve already built. I’d like to be able to be up to around 15 miles for my long run by July 9th because 15-16 miles is usually where the wheels come off for me, if you know what I’m talking about. So my marathon training plan has me running A LOT of 15-16 milers throughout July and August before moving up to higher mileage runs. I also want to do my hip strengthening exercises at least 3 days a week that way I am stronger come July.

Oh, and you know what else I signed up for today? The Revenge of the Penguins 20 miler, a perfect training opportunity in D.C. on September 16th.

That means I’m only running one other race until September, a 10k in Charlotte North Carolina (you can see it on my race calendar to the right). But maybe it’s good that I just focus on training and not racing. Pushing myself to go faster is usually how I get hurt and let me just reiterate my goal: To get to the starting line of the Marine Corps Marathon. 

How are you celebrating National Running Day? 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, running, training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Some recovery runs and National Running Day

  1. I have that same Adidas top in red and I love it!

  2. Carina says:

    I think the plan of less racing while training is good. Getting in a couple races is great so you can check your progress, pacing, and prediction times, but more racing interferes. For national running day, I’ve planned not just a two-a-day workout, but a three-a-day! Two down, one to go. I’ll have to write about it tomorrow.

  3. katiemoves says:

    I am going to go for a short run today to celebrate. I mean short.. Lol 🙂 love that tank! And mmm… Cookies ‘n cream drops!!

  4. jessiemck says:

    Love your blog! You’re so hard core with those ice baths! Yikes!

  5. Loving that running shirt, I wish I could take ice baths. My legs loved those when I was at school with an unlimited access to them.

  6. Idlehide says:

    booooo. I have a pinched nerve in my leg for national running day?? I have a physio. appt in a few minutes so hopefully he’ll fix me up!

  7. That is the coolest race name..EVER!

  8. Pingback: Heat Advisory Run & HOT new playlist :) | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

