We did it!

It was hilly, it was HOT, but we did it. They weren’t our best times (my time of 2:14 was a far cry from my half marathon PR of 1:40 I set in February at the Colonial Half), but we finished this morning’s Alexandria Half Marathon.

My sister (who has been sharing her experience as she returns to running after a long hiatus in her Back in the Saddle series), killed it and finished right around 2 hours. I, on the other hand, had a few problems. My legs felt fine but I started to feel lightheaded around mile 7 and then heat exhaustion really set in. The aid stations just had lukewarm water and did I say it was HOT? 86 degrees, no clouds in the sky, and crazy humidity

I had to stop at the ambulance around mile 8 because I threw up (it was  mostly my GU…TMI?) and then just ran/walk the rest of the way. I’ve never felt the effects of heat exhaustion but they are pretty awful. Just so you know (I didn’t), the symptoms of heat exhaustion include:

  • Very heavy sweating (more than normal while running in the heat)
  • Pale or ashen skin
  • Cool moist skin
  • Excessive tiredness or weakness
  • Feeling dizziness, faintness, nausea, or headache
  • Rapid weak heartbeat or pulse and low blood pressure
  • Shallow rapid breathing

I definitely had the feeling dizzy, nauseous, headache thing down. I thought maybe I had a migraine. During the race! So obviously that was no bueno. Also, my Garmin went all haywire around mile 8 so I had no idea what time the finishing clock would say and was honestly surprised it said 2:14 and not like 3 hours or something. Once again, 2:14 is a far cry from my 1:40 time of 3 months ago, but I’ll take it. And it was fun to do a race with my sister! 🙂

I’ll be sure to do a full recap of the race and the rest of our party weekend on Monday or Tuesday. Hope you’re having a rockin’ Memorial Day weekend!!!

This entry was posted in active life, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to We did it!

  1. Kailey says:

    I still think that is an amazing time considering you got sick & had to stop. Not to mention the weather was not ideal 🙂 You rock my friend!

  2. Idlehide says:

    Good job!! You and me both ran a half on a hot day and didn’t get our best time, but we finished!!
    I’m proud you kept going because most people would have stopped once they got sick!

  3. katiemoves says:

    good for you girl! i felt the heat running 3 miles so i can only imagine how you felt!!

  4. CONGRATS! And I’m glad you were able to finish, no matter what the time 🙂

  5. Carina says:

    I know exactly what you mean about the time warp when you’re having a bad race and your watch has issues — I also had a hilly and hot half yesterday and no PR, but at least we’re running, right?

  6. I had a 4mile race Monday that was SUPER hot and humid too! If I had to run 13.1 miles in it, I might not have made it. Awesome job on your finish and persistence!

  7. Pingback: Alexandria Half Marathon Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  8. Pingback: 10 miler and some science of energy supplements | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

