Well that didn’t boost my confidence

I’m so glad my sister had a good last long run before this weekend’s race. I, on the other hand, wasn’t so lucky. My 8.5 miler yesterday was fraught with problems from the start. It’s not like I expect to PR in this race, like I did in my last half marathon in February, the Colonial Half, but I wouldn’t like to totally suck! A lotta shit–mostly involving my knee–has gone down since that last race and I just haven’t prepared in the same way.

Remember how I changed up my training the week before the Colonial Half and instead of running a 16 miler, I did 3 10-12 mile runs (including the half)? Β Yea, that helped me kick ass during that race.

Remember how I got an amazing night’s sleep before the Colonial Half, and how the great the weather was (not to mention I was finally not sick for once!)? Yea, that helped me kick ass during that race.

Remember that whole craziness with my Orthovisc reaction in the whole month of April? It definitely set me back and for that reason I probably won’t kick ass during the race this weekend. Not to mention, it’s supposed to be 90 degrees on Sunday. Talk about unfavorable conditions!

But I set out on my last mid-distance run yesterday with high hopes for a good run that would give me some confidence going into the race on Sunday. What I got instead was one of those duds, where everything seemed to go wrong (I was really hoping for one of these great runs where everything feels effortless!). I finished the run no problem, but there were some issues:

It was storming but I chose to go out anyway (I needed to get it done yesterday and couldn’t wait until today because I need to give my legs 3 days to rest!). Needless to say I ran most of the time in the pouring rain, which wasn’t that bad except for that my shoes had puddles in them for 5 miles of the run.

Picture of the sky before I set out. Yea, I knew what I was in for

By the way, how amazing is this house that was just built along my running route? Love it! If you by any chance happen to live here, sorry you saw me creeping outside your door to take a picture πŸ˜‰

Where was I? Oh yea, I got soaked

At least I was smart enough to wrap my ipod shuffle in a plastic sandwich bag before heading out (let me tell you, it’s an easy and cheap way to protect your electronics while running in the rain)

Around mile 5 I started to feel a twinge of something…something….AWFUL. It could only be one thing. The dreaded ITBS!!!!!!!!!!!! NOOOOOOOooooooooooo!!!!!

(source)

I did what I know I shouldn’t have done. I completed the run anyways. Sure, I stopped a few times to stretch and it seemed to help, but I know that once the twinges of ITBS come, they take awhile to go away. So I’ll probably be pulling out the ‘ole ITB strap on Sunday. I finished the run, but I was definitely worse–not better–for the wear. My hip has been hurting and I could just slap myself for trying to fit in one last run before the race.

I should know, more than anyone, that fitness is never gained during the last week or two. It’s much better to get to the starting line refreshed than injured. I’ve been lounging around in my compression gear and will probably wear nothing else until the race and hope that I can run without hip or knee pain on Sunday

Have you ever injured yourself right before a race?Β 

Do you like running in the rain?Β 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, running, training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Well that didn’t boost my confidence

  1. Oh no! I hope you wake up the morning of the race like superwoman and rock it πŸ˜€

  2. WOW I LOVE this post, you’re awesome! And I just adore your page ‘let’s go on a life spree’ BRILLIANT… we share so many interests, wow, loving it! πŸ™‚

    Anyway, yes that is true apparently that you don’t gain any fitness a week or so before the event, my coach usually gets us to taper before big events. With the injury yes I have been, many times unfortunately, too many to mention so I wont, in the past and I have learnt my lessons from them! I know listen to my body instead of running through pain… πŸ™‚ I LOVE running in the rain, but my dad being dad always tells me not to as I will get a cold… then I go out and he says I’m crazy… but he doesn’t get it… I know he means well though… must be a runner thing! πŸ˜€ Hope you don’t have any pain for your run on the wkend, and good luck! Happy running… Auds πŸ™‚

  3. Idlehide says:

    I don’t like running in the rain, if I had sunglasses maybe, but it hurts my eyes.
    That house is gorg! I hope you’re pain-free soon!

  4. I got caught in the rain on my run on Tuesday. It was nice, bc it felt cooler, but it also does suck having to run 4+ miles soaked. :-/

  5. Yes I did injured myself two weeks before the Miami ING Half. I ran it anyway, but was in excruciating pain for like a week and was out of commission for a month. I remember the frustration 😦 Hope you get better.

  6. Kailey says:

    sorry to hear about the pain that plagued you 😦 thats always rough physically and mentally!

  7. I’m so sorry to hear that you’re injured! I hope you can at least enjoy your race this weekend, even if you’re unable to pull out a PR.

    I think most runners know what we’re supposed to do but when it comes to making decisions about our bodies and our runs all of our knowledge flies out the window. Trust me, with a sane, non-runner mindset I never would have gone out for a 16 mile run after not running for 3.5 weeks to get ready for the Boston Marathon. That is pure stupidity and I paid for it!

    Seriously though, rest up and enjoy yourself this weekend. I hope you feel better!!

  8. katiemoves says:

    I can’t say I love running enough to run in the rain- i wish i did cause it’s been raining so much lately and my runs have suffered. I would probably bike in the rain tho? weird haha!

    I hope that stupid ITB pain goes away! i hate it too!

  9. Sorry to hear about the IT band pain, but I must say, wrapping your iPod in a plastic bag is BRILLIANT! πŸ™‚

  10. Does the rain ever affect your Garmin? I have the same one, but have never run in the rain with it. Sorry to hear about your ITB… don’t get discouraged!

  11. Idlehide says:

    I just wanted to let you know how much I love reading your blog and how much it encourages me to get out there and work towards my half marathon goal, because you did my goal! I’ve nominated you for an award, it’s on my blog post today so check it out:)

Leave a Reply

