1st Place (W 21-30) Strawberry 1 Mile

It’s been a long, crazy fun weekend in West Virginia. I decided not to run in my “secret” half marathon (it was the Historic Half in Fredericksburg for anyone who was wondering) and instead stay and party with my friends at the Strawberry Festival.

I’ll have a full recap of the festival this week as well as a final guest post from my sister before we run our race on Sunday. But first, some news from the 1 miler I decided to run on Saturday.

It was noon. It was HOT. It was FAST. And I ran 30 seconds slower than I did in 2009. But I still won the women’s 21-30 age group πŸ™‚

That’s a undefeated run for me with the Strawberry Mile (both times I’ve run it, in 2009 and 2012, I’ve won my age group). But let me tell you all again: I AM NOT A SHORT, FAST RUNNER. I like to go long and slow. The first half mile and last .2 of the mile race were excruciating. And the race wasn’t chip timed (??!??!!? I know…) so I had to basically run down 20 kids who were lined up in the front and were blocking the whole road, but I have another medal–my second of the year (my first was 3rd place in the Colonial Half Marathon)–to add to my collection. Not bad for a mediocre, amateur runner…not bad at all πŸ™‚

Oh, did I mention that Mitch, who is not a runner, still smoked me by almost 20 seconds? He’s a little peeved that he didn’t win anything (the competition for the men was obviously much more difficult than the women) but is just happy that he beat me πŸ˜‰

I like to remind him that I could outrun him if we were to run longer than a few miles

I also had a few other friends that braved the heat of the mid-day to sweat in front of thousands for a few minutes (the race starts off the parade so everyone is just sitting and watching from their chairs along the route)

And the best thing after a race in the summer? Hands down, watermelon. COLD watermelon

So I basically traded in my 13.1 race/training run this past weekend for 1 mile of glory. Oh, and a whole lot of beer and fried food. But it was worth it!

More pics from the weekend to come!!!

Did you run any races this past weekend?

Ever run a 1 mile race?Β 

What is your favorite food/drink after a race?

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 1st Place (W 21-30) Strawberry 1 Mile

  1. What a fun race, and ending on delicious watermelon is totally the way to go!

  2. Carina says:

    Woo-hoo! Congrats!

  3. Idlehide says:

    Great job! That’s so fun to be 1st! πŸ™‚ I did really poorly (by my standards) at my half this weekend, but we’re all allowed to have a rough race here and there, right?

  4. katiemoves says:

    So awesome that you won! 2 outta 2 aint bad! πŸ˜‰ looks like a fun time!

  5. Awesome!!! Way to kick bootay!! I love frozen grapes after a race or a long run. Yum yum yum. I did the Gladiator Rock N Run yesterday. If it comes to your area, DO IT!!! So much fun!!! Hope you’re having a great Monday!!

  6. YAYYY! THIS IS SO AWESOME! congrats πŸ™‚ i’ve never done a 1 mile race before but it sounds really fun. to just give it all you got for 1 mile. i want to do it!

  7. Pingback: Alexandria Half Marathon Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  8. Pingback: OrthoCarolina 10k Classic Race Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  9. Pingback: 2012 “Year of the Comeback” Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

