4 deer, 3 spiders, 2 snakes, 1 dead squirrel…and strawberries?

Eww, what?

Those are all the critters and creepy crawlies I saw (and almost ran over) on my run today. No joke, I almost stepped on 2 black snakes. EEEEeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek! They looked like this

It’s not like I was out bushwhacking, they were on the road! I literally shrieked both times and it’s good no one was around, lol. I’m guessing I saw so much “wildlife” because I changed it up this week and ran in the evening. I love evening runs in the summer. Yes, it’s sometime still hot, but I love that there’s something sweet in the air when I run at dusk (please tell me you know what I’m talking about? No??? Maybe I’m just crazy πŸ˜‰ )

(source)

Today’s run was the first I’ve run since being sick and it’s been over a week. While it wasn’t nearly as bad as the last time I came back after getting ill, I wouldn’t say I was seeing unicorns, flowers, and hearts. It was what it was. A mediocre 10 mile run…but a 10 mile run nonetheless

I’m glad I was able to get back out there on the road, especially before my crazy busy weekend. Bet you can’t guess where I’m off to tomorrow….

You’re dying of curiosity I know it….

The West Virginia Strawberry Festival!

The strawberry festival is your basic home town fair with a carnival, tons of parades, and in this case, strawberries!!

I’ve been once before, in 2009, and guess what else the festival has? A one mile strawberry run that basically starts off the main parade.

Now I’m not a miler, not even close. I don’t usually do speedwork (well not anymore) and my days of running 20 min 5ks are long behind me. But in 2009 I ran a 6:11 mile and won my age group. Did I mention that I was extremely hungover that day? We’re talking one of the worst hangovers of my life.

I’m in the pink tank top

With my first place age group medal πŸ™‚

That’s the thing about running in a small rural town–and actually in this case a state–where there aren’t that many runners. West Virginia is undeniably one of the most unhealthy states in the country. So my competition wasn’t the best (the next girl behind me in the 20-29 age group was over a minute and a half slower!). I’m planning on running again this year but am not sure whether I will go all out or not. Keep in mind I’ve got a secret race planned for SundayΒ (which I will of course reveal soon enough) and let’s just say it’s significantly farther than 1 mile. If I pull all my muscles running a one-mile race the day before my other race I’ll really be bummed. So it’s sort of a wait and see kind of thing. But you know I’ll be sure to provide a recap if I do run it πŸ™‚

What’s the freakiest, creepy crawliest thing you’ve ever seen out on a run?

Been to a local state fair or festival? Which one(s)?

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, running, training, traveling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 4 deer, 3 spiders, 2 snakes, 1 dead squirrel…and strawberries?

  1. A 10-miler after being sick?! Insane. I’m so going to follow you around with pom poms from now on πŸ˜‰ Welcome back to running! And yes, there’s something awesome about the air settling into night. (I swear, that’s the only way I can explain the way the air feels!) And whatever your race is on Sunday– go kick some bootay!! πŸ™‚

  2. Idlehide says:

    I’ve seen deer and squirrels. I am so scared to see a coyote though!! I love running first thing in the morning, but dusk is also a really nice time!

  3. Carina says:

    I ran last night for my first evening run in a long time and ugh. The air was so thick I could almost see it, and it was sooo hot. About 8 yrs ago, I always ran at night, but not I just can’t stand it. But the poor air quality at night of Dallas summer PM running will be good training for Beijing!

    Anyway, had to say, one of my fave things about small races or non-running places is the lack of competition! I’ve had 2 age group awards in the last 2 weekends — including 2d place in a half, when I was more than 1 min/mile off my PR. My PR would have put me less than a minute behind the women’s overall winner! It’s fun and encouraging.

    Hope your races go well — we have a blueberry festival near here, but I think I’d like a strawberry festival even more!

  4. Oh my gosh I would have freaked out if I saw those snakes! I live across from a park with a running trail and Ive only seen one snake while running but thats because my dog stuck her nose in a tree and startled it. Yuck, I hate all creepy crawly things. And I totally know what you mean about the sweetness in the air, it’s one of summer’s greatest scents πŸ™‚

  5. kaitwatts says:

    Ugh, I can’t stand snakes. There has been a family hanging out on the side of the bike path that I run on and I carry a rock in my hand. One morning while running with my dog, we came across a wolf. They had just introduced them to Colorado. It was pretty scary.

  6. i would totally freak out if i saw those on a run!

  7. Pingback: 1st Place (W 21-30) Strawberry 1 Mile | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

