From Here To There…And A Secret Race

My cold has decided to stick around for a few more days (although fingers crossed the worst–my extreme fatigue–is over and I’m not just left with a stuffy nose). That means no long run today, like I had initially planned (I can’t believe it’s already been a week since my last long run), which sucks because the weather outside is gorgeous: sunny and low 70s. I’m not going to push myself to run like I did last time I was feeling sick. I’m also back in Charlottesville, which is my favorite place to do my long runs. Don’t get me wrong, there are amazing places to run in D.C., the East Potomac Park for 6 milers and the C&O Towpath for 10+ milers, but my long run route in Cville still reigns supreme.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

VS.ย 

ย Alas, that run will have to wait until at least Saturday or Sunday. I was planning on doing it with my twin sister up in NYC this weekend (and going to my good friend’s engagement party) but some stuff came up and instead I’ll be staying down in Virginia. Probably for the best considering I’m sick, but I was really looking forward to running with my sis! I guess I’ll have to wait a few more weeks until the Alexandria Half Marathon ๐Ÿ™‚

Speaking of upcoming races, I have kept a secret from y’all. I have stealthily signed up for a race that happens…well, let’s just say soon. I’m not putting it up on my race calendar on the right-hand sidebar or talking about it here because I really just want to treat it as a training run (it is exactly one week before the half marathon in Alexandria with my sister) and I’m afraid if I talk it up here my competitive side will take over.

My “competitive” side…don’t the double jazz hands scream competition? ๐Ÿ˜‰

And really, it’s all about prepping for May 27th. I’ll be sure to give more details and do a recap soon, but I just wanted to let on a little bit about my running plans the next few weeks.

So for now, it’s Cville for the weekend. I went from this on my commute back from work yesterday

Lincoln Memorial on my drive back from work

to this

Horses taking up a lane on route 29 back to Charlottesville

Ahhh, I love how I get the best of both worlds ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you treat all races the same or do you treat some as “training” runs and others as the real deal?

What factors go into how you plan your running/racing calendar? ย 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, life in cville, running, The Good Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to From Here To There…And A Secret Race

  1. Rest up! Hopefully you kick this cold’s butt! All of my events are “training” for me. I’m not fast, and I like to just run and enjoy being in new places. Plus, I’m the only one in my family and the only one of my friends in NorCal who run, so my competitive side doesn’t come out. Now if I was running with people I knew, then, game on! Let’s go! LOL

  2. Oh no, I also agree. Cville is my favorite place to run, their 10 miler is my favorite race around. I am getting nervous to find new running routes in DC, I hope to join a running group for some mornings.

    • Love the 10miler ๐Ÿ™‚ I drive out to White Hall to do all my long runs and it is seriously like therapy every week. Don’t know how I would have gotten through it here without that. But there are really good places to run in D.C. too, it’s just there are so many PEOPLE hahaha. I like to set my water bottles out for my long run and I just feel weird doing it there. The C&O towpath that starts in Georgetown has some water fountains and a bathroom 4 miles up so that works pretty well.

      I’m gonna keep up with your blog to see if you join a running group. I’ve always wanted to do that, even when I lived in Boston!

  3. Idlehide says:

    isn’t running in nyc the best? although your cville run looks really peaceful!I only run a couple of races a year so I usually go in it to try and PR. I always plan to sign up for leisurely runs, and then the run comes and goes. Oops.

  4. yayyy i’m so excited to hear about the race ๐Ÿ™‚ feel better soooon!

  5. Carina says:

    I do both kinds of races — serious ones and training runs. My favorite kind is to run a half during full training, and practice going marathon pace for the first 6 miles, half-mar pace for the next 6 miles (so about 1 min/mile faster), and then trying to drop the hammer to 5k pace for the last 1.1 miles. Doing a race like that will NEVER get me a half PR (because my half PR is running the entire thing at half-mar pace), but it’s such good practice for race morning routine, and learning how to old marathon pace despite other people around you and a chip on your shoe.

  6. I find it incredibly hard to make a race just “a training run”. Ultimately, my competitive side always comes out!

  7. I’m super competitive (especially with myself) so “training” races always seem to become more than that. Its so tough to hold back!

  8. Pingback: 4 deer, 3 spiders, 2 snakes, 1 dead squirrel…and strawberries? | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

