When Life Gets In The Way And Your Ipod Dies

“Hurry slowly. Be dedicated and disciplined and work hard, but take your time. Move ahead, but be patient.” – Grete Waitz

Don’t know if you’ve noticed, but I haven’t had the chance to post much this past week (and I also haven’t had much time to read and comment on some of my favorite blogs!) Work (both of the research projects I work on) has been absolutely crazy and along with all of the writing I have been doing for my jobs, I had to put together a conference proposal by Wednesday (it also didn’t help that it took me two whole days to recover from Saturday’s Foxfield races).

Not surprisingly, my running has taken a backseat this week, something that rarely happens

Don’t forget about me! You’ve had less time to shower me with affection

I wanna frolic at the park!

And roll around in the green grass πŸ™‚

Not only has work gotten in the way, so too has the weather. I planned on doing my long run on Tuesday morning in D.C., but when I woke up at 6am it was pouring. So I knew I had to get it done today because it’s been a week and half since my last long training run.

But have I mentioned that its ridiculously hot out this week? Every day has been close to 90 and humid. This hot already? This early in May? Yuck. When I finally did get a chance to get out there for my run today it was HOT (again?)

So I dropped off more water than usual at my drop spots and even included some bags of ice (they helped so much!). But you know what they say about best laid plans… (remember reading Mice and Men in 9th grade?)…they goΒ awry.

About 1 mile into my run my ipod died. Yep, I had put together a kick ass playlist and was ready to rock out to 2 hours of music when suddenly…nothing. I thought I had enough batteries but I guess I was wrong. And let me say this: I rarely run my long runs without music. That’s especially been the case since I hurt my knee because I have to run with (not through) a little bit of pain on every run and music helps me get my mind off of it. So losing my music so early on in the run was definitely a mental challenge. I was so close to just turning around and making it a short run.

But I told myself that if I could prove that I could overcome my disappointment and push through my run without my ipod, I’d feel that much better. Plus, I didn’t want this freakin’ long run hanging over my head. And you know what? It wasn’t that bad. By the end I didn’t even realize that I didn’t have music. Overall, despite the blazing heat and no tunes, the run went pretty well!

I made 12 miles (the first 10 miles were closer to my normal training pace, around 9:30, and the last 2 when I got really hot were pretty slow, around 10:30)

Whew! I was a sweaty mess at the end!!

I’m just really proud of myself that I was able to overcome these challenges and persevere. That’s why I included that quote at the top of this post (“Hurry slowly. Be dedicated and disciplined and work hard, but take your time. Move ahead, but be patient.” –Β Grete Waitz). We have to be patient with ourselves and sometimes things–like runs–take time (time to get to or time to complete), but as long as we stay the path we can complete some amazing things. Too cheesy? Probably. But there is something I really like about the “hurry slowly” mentality.Β 

Anyways, I had to reward myself for sticking with that run, so I made a stop at The Cookout on the way home. The Cookout is a fast food chain that serves good, cheap bbq, burgers, sandwiches, hushpuppies, and the absolute best shakes anywhere πŸ™‚

I didn’t go overboard (although I could have!) and just got a grilled chicken sandwich. But it tasted sooooo good after the run

There are so many things that can go wrong during a run: ipod dying, shoelaces coming undone, GI probs, weather, etc. How do you overcome these challenges when you are faced with them?Β 

How do you like to reward yourself after a hard workout or a long run?Β 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, eating, hungry life, life in cville, running, training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to When Life Gets In The Way And Your Ipod Dies

  1. katiemoves says:

    Great attitude πŸ™‚ I have come to notice that when I’m running and really in the zone I can’t even tell you what songs i listened to on my iPod so it might be a good thing you barely notice after a while, meaning you were in the zone! My recent problems when running have been dog encounters…and I won’t lie, i got mad and walked and then I ran out my frustration…it honestly helped

  2. There have been sooo many times when I start my run only to realize that I left my knee strap (for ITBS) at home. When that happens, I just go as much as I can, making sure to stretch along the way. I’ve also accidentally forgotten my iPod, Gu, even my water bottle. Ha, I guess I should start writing things down before my runs.

  3. A sweat band UNDER the Garmin– how have I never thought of that! I love it!! Thanks for the inspiration!!! And congrats on the long run sans tunes! I’m slowly teaching myself to run without music, but it’s definitely a mental challenge. I don’t really reward myself after hard workouts… I take a shower and keep on getting on with my day. But I have been known to say, “I can’t run in these capris anymore. I need some new Lulu in order to really kick butt.” πŸ˜‰ So I guess my reward comes before my workouts πŸ˜‰

    • For some reason my Garmin strap doesn’t fit my wrist well (do you have that problem too?). It’s either too tight and uncomfortable or too lose. The thing is just clunky overall so I find a sweatband makes it more comfy.

      Nothing like new workout duds to inspire and motivate!! πŸ™‚

  4. RunningFarce says:

    Nicely done. It’s funny how a good run can make a bad day good again. When I get done with a good run I go around high fiving everyone I see. Everyone.

  5. Idlehide says:

    I have a long run hanging over my head. I’m doing it tomorrow, but I see rain in the forecast. Eeeks. Holy yummy menu! I reward myself with a homemade egg mcmuffin and it hits the spot each time! Good job on your run:)

  6. Sandee says:

    Great quote! Great job on the run!

  7. Pingback: From Here To There…And A Secret Race | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  8. Pingback: 2012 “Year of the Comeback” Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

