Southern Derby Prep

This is the weekend us wahoos (UVa students and grads) look forward to all year long. It’s the Foxfield Races!!!!!!!

Foxfields is a day-long event on Saturday in which everyone gets dressed up in their finest Southern derby gear and tailgates  and drinks 🙂 Technically, the races are steeplechase, which means that unlike the Kentucky Derby, the Foxfield races have horses jumping fences and ditches and generally traversing the many intervening obstacles.  Last year was a such a blast and we had perfect weather (you can check out my recap of last year). Here are some pics from our 2011 plot…

I’ve been so busy with work and traveling this year that I haven’t even had much time to think about what I’ll wear tomorrow (this is half of the fun!) I went shopping for a hat yesterday because, you know, us southern ladies need a hat…and by Southern, I mean a northern girl who just so happens to live in a southern town 😉

Here were some of my options…

It was tough for me to decide on what color because I’m not even sure what dress I’ll wear yet, but I ultimately decided on a gold/neutral hat from Macy’s (not shown above).

Next, on to the dresses. Decisions, decisions.

Orange Maggie London halter dress

Green belted Max & Cleo dress

Marigold Shoshana dress

I’m leaning towards the first orange halter dress, but not sure yet. It looks like it will be on the cooler side out tomorrow so I have to take that into consideration as well. For accessories I’m thinking about some bigger pieces of jewelry or a scarf. I urge you to check out beautiful silver jewelry from my co-worker Sarena’s Silpada site.

She has an online botique and also offers parties for you and your friends to try on the jewelry and get some for free!!!

Overall, it looks like it’s going to be a great day tomorrow 🙂 That is, if my seasonal allergies (which have been awful this year) and the weather cooperate

Where will I fit in running this weekend? I’m not exactly sure, but I’m just playing it by ear. Can’t wait to post some pics of the weekend on Monday!

Do you have fun plans for the weekend? 

Doing your long run? How long? 

Have you been to a horse race/derby before? (Kentucky Derby, Preakness, Gold Cup anyone?)

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in Celebrate!, fashionable life, Getting Ready, Happy, social life, The Good Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Southern Derby Prep

  1. Becky says:

    have fun!

  2. get the biggest, most obnoxious hat you can find! The more flowers or bows, the better! Those Derby hats can get pretty crazy! 😉 Hope you have a blast!

  3. this sounds like so much fun! i really like the first orange dress too

    • Claire says:

      Thanks! I’m leaning toward the orange dress as well…the only thing that could change that is the weather (the back is pretty much open so there might be too much skin showing) 🙂

  4. I’ve never been to a derby but always wanted to go. Mainly so I could wear a big hat. Hope you have a great time!

    I really like the first orange dress and the green one. Both cute and derby-ish haha.

  5. I love the green! Have fun!

  6. phyllinphat says:

    I grew up near Louisville, Kentucky and I love to flaunt my pseudo-southern heritage during this time of year. I too will be dressing up this weekend for the Derby, but probably on my couch, mint julep in hand, and longing to be back home.

    Also, I LOVE The green dress!! LOVE LOVE LOVE

Leave a Reply

