Oh Happy Day!

First off, thank you so much for your thought-provoking comments on yesterday’s post! I do think that runners support each other and welcome newcomers for the most part. I just wanted to highlight a trend (that may be growing) and was a bit frustrated as you could probably tell.

So on to today’s big news:

I didn’t get in to the 2012 NYC Marathon through the lottery. Just like I didn’t last year.ย 

Big shocker, right. That sucks.

But I must have read the new rules wrong because I thought I was one year too late to get in by the 3-consecutive entry year rule. After re-reading it I realize that I just eeeked in through that rule and if I don’t get picked again next year by the lottery then I will definitely be able to run it in 2014.

Qualifying by being denied entry three consecutive times. In the past, applicants to the marathon have been eligible for guaranteed entry if they have been denied entry three years in a row.ย This policy will be gradually eliminated. Applicants denied entry for the three years 2009-2011 will be eligible for guaranteed entry in 2012. Applicants denied entry for the three years 2010-2012 will be eligible for guaranteed entry in 2013. Applicants denied entry for the three years 2011-2013 will be eligible for guaranteed entry in 2014. Applicants denied entry for the three years 2012-14 will not be eligible for guaranteed entry in 2015.

Oh happy day!!!!!! I’m totally fine not running it this year because I’m already signed up for the Marine Corps Marathon, another race that is difficult to get into because it sells out so fast. I can certainly wait until 2014 because there are many other races I want to do that will fill my calendar.

So there is a silver lining to this deal ๐Ÿ™‚

Are you running the New York City Marathon this year? Did you get in through the lottery? Qualify? (by the way, as of next year they’re making it dramatically more difficult to qualify…the half marathon qualifying times are changing from 1:37 to 1:27 for my age group. Yikes!)

Have you ever run the NYCM? Do you want to?

This entry was posted in active life, running, training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Oh Happy Day!

  1. Idlehide says:

    You and me both, girl. I did not know that they’re eliiminating the 3-year consecutive option, since this is the first year I’ve applied I guess I’m doomed! Sigh:(
    I’m going to start my own NYCM and I’ll make sure you get to run it:)

  2. Carina says:

    So glad you’re still covered under the guaranteed entry option, so you’ll certainly get to do it in 2013 or 2014. It’s such a great race, but I think you’ll enjoy it more if you don’t have MCM the week before, so maybe it was fate you didn’t get in this year.

  3. Sorry you didn’t get in ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Theres always the raising money for charity option to get a bib. I’m doing the 9+1 program with NYRR this year for guarenteed entry next year. Otherwise, I don’t think I could handle the stress of waiting to find out!

    • Claire says:

      I’d do the charity route, but I’ve done it before and just don’t have time to do it. I can wait, that’s fine (there are a ton of other races I want to do in the meantime). I’m just happy that I eeeked in the final year before getting shut out completely!

  4. Avia says:

    I got in this year by the 3 consecutive denials…but I almost did not get my entry because they claimed they had 3 other people under my name (and tried telling me I ran it last year)! It was a fiasco and NYRR didn’t handle it so well in my opinion but be sure to save all your emails of race denial incase this happens to you! I have a really rare name so I was very surprised…good luck at Marine Corp my sister is running it too!

    • Claire says:

      Oh my goodness! Drama! I’m so glad you finally did get in and get a chance to run it ๐Ÿ™‚ Hopefully your sister has fun running the MCM as well!

  5. sorry you didn’t get in this year…but at e least you have a guaranteed spot in the future ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Claire says:

      thanks, it’s ok. I was having a panic attack because the odds are so damn low now and I thought that I was completely shut out, but after I read the new rules more carefully I felt better. Nothing like a panic attack related to running, or not being able to run, 26.2 miles to make your night hahaha ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. So sorry you didn’t get in, but that is good news that you will eventually get to run it. That qualifying time is crazy and kind of a random number. Why 27 and not just 30?

  7. Pingback: It’s Officially Running Season!! | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  8. Daniel says:

    I read in in another persons blog that 2013 was the last time to qualify by being denied entry three consecutive times. Like you I didn’t get in last year and the year before, I hope you’re right and they are wrong, but I can’t seem to find the new rules on the Road Runners site to check.

Leave a Reply

