I wanna punch 12 miles in the face

You can probably tell by this post title that I wasn’t seeing unicorns, hearts, and flowers  during my 12 miler on Sunday. It wasn’t that the run itself was bad per se. It’s that I was really grumpy before running and I think that carried over into the first 6 miles.

But let’s back up, shall we? The weather this past weekend pretty much stunk. Rainy and chilly both days, so I knew I’d be running on the treadmill (which I don’t necessarily mind!). I felt pretty good on last week’s long run–despite the blazing hot temps–and have attributed much of that to my “shake-out” run the day before. So I decided to do the same thing this week. Do a short easy run on Saturday and my long run on Sunday.

Saturday’s workout was at the UVa AFC, where I could run on the treadmill and then hop in the pool for a quick 800 yard swim (and then relax in the hot tub yahhh!). I mentioned last week that I HATE how some gyms have treadmills that face a wall or have tv screens attached. I just like to look out and let my mind wander. I also like to people watch 🙂 UVa has some treadmills that are perfectly positioned. One of my favorites looks out over the front of the gym so I can spy on see people coming in and out.

View from one of my favorite treadmills. Isn't this oh-so-much better than a tv????!

An easy 5k warmed me up to have a good swim and allowed me to stretch some key areas (right leg IT band) that have been nagging me.

By the way, I urge you to look past the "prehistoric" facade and displays of these treadmills. If you've never run on a TRUE treadmill, you're missing out. Take it from me, a self-proclaimed TM snob. TRUE TMs are much better than Precor, Life Fitness, and Woodways! I'd buy one but they're over $3,500

After the short run I booked it down to the pool to join Mitch, who had already swam 1500

I think I’m eyeing the hot tub here.

The hot tub is my reward for basically everything. I get really cold in the pool so I’m always excited when the swim is over! All in all it was a good mini workout that prepped me for Sunday.

Or at least that’s what I thought.

I woke up to this weather on Sunday morning. 

Hmmm, definitely not ideal for running outside. And I’m usually fine banging out my long runs on the treadmill but there was something about the dreary weather that just made me tired, lethargic, and cranky. I literally had to force myself to go to the gym instead of climbing under the covers (I think going back to work last week and adjusting my schedule has made me more sleepy than usual too). When I finally did make it to the gym, around 1:30pm, I was glad no one was really there. Because then I didn’t have anyone to complain to. I was just in that kind of mood

Before my run I was a sour puss. The good news? I finally got off my lazy ass and used my self-tanner so I don't look so pasty

Even after I had set my stuff up on the treadmill I was ready to pack it in and head back home. But then I thought about my 2-mile rule. I told myself I’d give it 2 miles to see how I felt. If I still felt like skipping the run, then I’d go home. Low and behold after 2 miles I decided to see how I felt after 6 miles. And then at 8 miles. And finally I just told myself to man up and finish the damn thing, especially because I had to cut last week’s run short due to the crazy hot temps. It wasn’t the best run I’d ever had, but it certainly wasn’t the worst.

I made a few minor adjustments to my “return to running” plan this week. I ended up running a tiny bit more (24 instead of 23 miles) but doing much less cross-training (although now that I am looking, I realize that I forgot to put in my 800 yard swim on Saturday, the equivalent of just 15 minutes of XT). I keep telling myself the same thing every week: Do more cross-training. But it just doesn’t happen! I’m definitely making it a top priority for this next week. Despite my XT deficit, I am satisfied that I made the 12-mile long run and didn’t wimp out and sleep instead.

How did your weekend run(s) go? 

When you feel unmotivated to go for a run can you talk yourself into going? How? (tell me please! I need tips…)

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, running, training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I wanna punch 12 miles in the face

  1. daphycee31 says:

    I ran a 10 mile race this weekend and yes, the weather was gross. I would have much preferred to stay at home in bed. When I feel unmotivated I’ll try the 2 mile rule, or I’ll bribe myself with some sort of delicious reward after. That or shopping 🙂

    • Claire says:

      Shopping ALWAYS works 😉 Actually, come to think of it, so does food hahaha. Just read about your race, great job!!! Especially in that nasty rain that we had (I drove up to D.C. from Cville late Sun night and it was still pouring!)

  2. Idlehide says:

    I ran 23 km (14 miles) so I was happy. I had planned to run 28, but I was going to puke because of an upset stomach:(
    Umm, 12 miles in under 30 minutes?? Can you say rockstar?!

  3. Way to stick it out! I’m super impressed you ran even half of that distance on the treadmill. I can barely make it to 3 miles on that machine.

  4. kaitwatts says:

    I ran just over 20 on the trails and the weather was beautiful. But, don’t hate me, because usually in Wyoming the weather is crappy. So most other times it hasn’t been nice. I love people watching at the gym too. The gym I go to now at the university looks out over the entire weight area. I love looking for eye candy!

    • Claire says:

      SO beautiful out there in Wyoming though. I’ve been trying to move out to Boulder, CO for years. Hopefully after I’m done with my PhD! 🙂

      And I’m with ya on the eye candy 😉

  5. Jim says:

    No runs for us in NC. It rained all weekend. I just make myself go. I’ve never been sorry for working out.

  6. i did a mud run this weekend! it was only 3.5 miles but SO hot and tiring! very fun though 🙂

    • Claire says:

      I’ve actually never done a mud run but I really, really want to! They look like a blast…and still kinda hard. It’s not like any old 3.5 mile run so I’m sure you got a great workout!!!

  7. phyllinphat says:

    ahh..the coveted treadmill overlooking the lobby. This is possibly the best people watching in the gym. Rainy days for me are either sink or swim – either I feel like an olympic athlete or a mini Homer Simpson.

  8. Pingback: When Life Gets In The Way And Your Ipod Dies | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

