Gosh Golly I Needed That

A weekend long run that capped off a great week of running and a couple of fun nights out with friends!

1) First, the running.

This past week has been pretty good on the running front. Although I felt like I was coming down with something on Thursday, I got out there for a nice easy 5.5 mile run. I never did end up having a full blown cold so after resting on Friday I was able to get in two good runs on Saturday and Sunday.

Wait…hold the phone. TWO runs in TWO days? And one of them was “long”? Who am I, someone who hasn’t been dealing with running injuries galore???

Yep! Although I went out late on Friday night (more on that in a minute), I was able to get out for a nice 3.5-mile shake out run on Saturday. My legs felt pretty good even though it was really hilly (I ran out near the Keswick Country Club) and warm out

Sunday’s mid-day run was a bit longer, but still went pretty well even though it was HOT outside! 88 degrees. Whew.

For some reason I didn’t plan well enough and ran in the middle of the afternoon when it was the hottest. You can see how muggy and hazy it was out

I had 11 miles planned but started to really feel the heat around mile 9. I decided to do something I don’t usually do: listen to my body!

My left calf was starting to cramp up (I think because of the heat) and I was starting to run out of water. I usually set out 3 bottles along my long route but I only had 2 to use on Sunday so I was short by one bottle. And I used much of the water to cool myself down so I ran out more quickly than usual. Β I ended up running 9 miles (in 1:28) and walked another mile to make it to an even 10.

Even though I didn’t go all the way to 11 like I had planned, I’m glad I didn’t push myself too far especially because it was so hot out.

So all in all it was a good end of the week on the running front. This is what my “return to running” plan set out for me and this is what I did:

Pretty good. Even though I didn’t push it my long run to get to 11, I made up for that extra weekly mile by adding a bit to my “maintenance” run (3.5 instead of 2).

2) The second part of the weekend was going out with friends

Crazy fun times. Need I say more? πŸ™‚

How do you prepare to run in the heat?

Do you run with water? Fuel Belt?

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, running, training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Gosh Golly I Needed That

  1. Looks like you had a great weekend πŸ™‚

    I am SO jealous of your running scenery.. that is beautiful! I wish I had some mountains or grass to run near on my long runs. haha. Anyway, great job I can’t believe you even ran that much in this heat! I overheat so easily so I’m nervous about the heat when I return to running. Hopefully it cools back down to normal temperatures ASAP!

  2. katiemoves says:

    Good for you listening to your body πŸ™‚ It can be hard sometimes. I know I was feeling the heat sunday…amazing how much worse it feels just cause you’re not used to it yet!

  3. Good for you for sticking it out in the heat! I got my Sunday run in early to purposefully avoid it. If I am gonna be out under the sun though, I usually pack a hand held or waist pack and always, always a visor.

    Hopefully the east coast does not have a completely scorched summer ahead. I don’t know if my running legs could handle it!

    • So smart to get your run in early and I always wear a visor too! Even when it’s not sunny I need a hat or something. I hate running early in the morning but in the summer I usually plan ahead and get up really early for my long run (I figure I can handle getting up once a week πŸ™‚ ) But for some reason I didn’t even check the weather this past weekend until it was time to run….gasp, that’s blasphemy!!!! πŸ˜‰

  4. I went out for a run on Saturday and also had to adjust bc of the heat. I had planned to do 9, but ended up only doing 7.5. I could just tell that I was working too hard from the get-go AND I had left my water bottle at home. I don’t run well in the heat, so I try to avoid it as much as possible. But def, come summer, my handheld water bottle is a necessary accessory.

  5. good job for listening to your body!! that is sometimes so hard to do. but it’s the best thing to do πŸ™‚ awesome runs though!

  6. runningfarce says:

    You deserve a gold star for running in 88 degree weather. No way I could do 10 in that heat.

  7. You earned your gold star! I just started listening to my body. Previously I would just push through anything and not think about the consequences. Duh! Hello, injury! Granted, there are still times that I don’t listen and I regret it later but it’s a learning process!

  8. Jim says:

    Kudos for making it through in the heat. It’s never easy. I usually just carry bottles with me. I can’t take hydration belts, too much bouncing around going on there.

  9. Pingback: I wanna punch 12 miles in the face | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

