Following The Monticello Wine Trail

This past weekend we did what most central Virginians do when the weather is beautiful. Go wine tasting of course!

I love wine tasting because I get to come along!!!

Wine tasting is a part of the culture here in Cville. We live close to the “Monticello Wine Trail“, which is a trail of 29 vineyards and lodges perfect for tastings, picnics, and lounging.

I’ve written before about going to polo matches at King Family Vineyard, as well as tastings at Keswick/Castle HillPollack, Flying FoxVeritas, and Pippin Hill. There are still many more to visit and I can’t wait for more spring and summer days to go explore new places!

Although there are so many more vineyards to visit, sometimes we like to revisit our favorites. Such was the case this past weekend when we went back to King Family for a relaxing mid-afternoon tasting.

King family is out past Crozet and close to the Shenandoah National Park. On the way back to Charlottesville is a fabulous little market, the Greenwood Gourmet Grocery, that sells freshly prepared foods and sandwiches as well as home goods. My friend Claire (another Claire) swears by their chicken salad and I knew I needed to swing by and grab some for her since we were out there.

Whenever I start to feel trapped in this small college town I remember how much there is to do in the surrounding area and how many places I have yet to explore!

I’ve realized that many of my posts highlight local businesses or activities unique to Charlottesville, so I created a new page at the top, Life in Cville, which lists some of my favorite posts that highlight the beauty and culture of Charlottesville and the surrounding area (You can also find links to posts for restaurant reviews and social outings in the “Ville” on the “Social Life” and “Hungry Life” pages).

What are some unique aspects about where you live? 

What’s your favorite thing to do on a beautiful Saturday afternoon (not including running, biking, racing, etc)? 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in life in cville, social life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Following The Monticello Wine Trail

  1. Carina says:

    It’s so funny, whenever you post pics from a winery, I examine them so closely. I think I told you, my best friend from law school and her husband (who also went to law school w/ us) moved back to C’vlle a few yrs ago (he is working for the law school now), and they tend to go wine tasting every weekend. If you’re ever at a winery and you see a couple with twins who are 5 yrs old (or 6 if you see them next year), make sure you get them in the background of some of your photos! I wish I’d been more into wine when I lived there.

    Sandwich place looks awesome and again made me miss C’vlle! Is Crozet Pizza still popular? I remember going there a few times and enjoying it, but not really being sure it was worth the drive. I think when they were first discovered by at least our crowd, there was higher quality and it may have gone downhill a bit.

    • That’s funny! I bet we’ve crossed paths many times! And it’s silly that I go wine tasting all the time because I never have more than a glass. I guess I just go to sit outside and look at the mountains 🙂

      Crozet Pizza is still popular and it’s one of my favorites when we’re around that area. Sometimes my boyfriend house sits his bosses house in Ivy so we get pizza when we’re out there. When you were in Cville, did you ever go to Dr. Hos down 29? I think that’s better than Crozet Pizza

      • Carina says:

        Not that I recall. I’ll have to add it to my list, esp if I come next year to visit her and run the 4 miler or the 10 miler.

  2. katiemoves says:

    Just found your blog, seems so great- I’ll def be reading 😉 I am from near Gettysburg, PA. Such a great place to walk around on a beautiful Saturday! Lots of little shops, great food and places to eat and just enjoy being outside. Oh yah, and some battlefields and monuments to look at or something along those lines… 😉

    • Welcome!!! So glad you stopped by 🙂

      I’ve been to Gettysburg once and I really, really liked it! I taught high school history right out of college so the history geek in my loved visiting the battlefields. I bet that’s a great place to live!

  3. Idlehide says:

    Sometimes I feel a little trapped in our city, but then I realize how lucky I am to live by the ocean. Peggy’s Cove is about 1/2 hour away from here and it’s famous, so that’s pretty cool!
    Looks like a fun wine tour! We’re trying to plan a California wine tour trip for September:)

  4. Anonymous says:

    Hi Claire – I love reading your blog, thanks for all your happy, inspirational thoughts and for sharing your life with us, really does look like you’re living the good life 🙂 I’m training for my first 5K! As a beginner runner, I love learning from your experience. Thanks!

  5. Pingback: Pink Ribbon Polo Classic | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  6. Pingback: Bubbles & Arrows- Derriere de Soie Lingerie Show, Chocolate, & Wine | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

