10 Miler and “Return to Running”

Not to steal from Cely’s blog, but I literally had to go run off the reeses today. I’ve told you guys about my obsession with Easter candy (specifically Robin’s Eggs Whoopers), but I haven’t mentioned that I start to hoard it once it’s first stocked in the stores.

Reeses eggs, jelly beans, robin’s eggs, and gum drops galore. This past month I’ve been going through bags of candy like it’s my job. ย That’s why I’m kind of happy that Easter is over. No more Easter candy! And there’s not much in the foreseeable future in terms of holiday eats…

Ok, well I take that back ๐Ÿ˜‰

My biggest fear of taking time off running to let the swelling in my knee go down has been that I would gain a few pounds. Because, let’s just be honest here: I can’t control my eating. Most people just say, “just reduce your calorie intake while you’re recouping and you’ll be fine!” Easy for them to say!!!! I can’t give up my favorite foods and nighttime binging for anything.

So it’s nice that I’m getting back on track with the running. As I mentioned last week, my 7 mile run was certainly not the 16 miler I would’ve run had I not had a rare reaction to an Orthovisc lubricant injection. BUT, I’m bouncing back and have actually put together a “return to running” training program that will get me to running the Alexandria Half Marathon on May 27th with my twin sister!!! This training program was something I initially put together for my sis to follow to help her get back into running (she’s run multiple marathons and was actually the one that got me into running in the first place, but she took some time off and is now returning to it). I just modified it a bit so that I could fit it into my endurance level.

So instead of running a long run of 16/17 this week, I ran 10 on the treadmill. Why 10? Well, I knew the jump up from 7 to 10 would be ok for me, especially because I’m not recovering from a true “injury”, and that I had only taken 3 weeks off from running so my past endurance has held up a bit. I’ve wanted to do some of my first long runs on the treadmill to ease back into things but I’m hoping to do my mid-week run outside this week. Also, look at how empty the gym was!!

Even though I had my pick of treadmills I always run on the same one! And see that woman in the back left? She's on my TM. MINE I tell you! Grrrrr

Took a Jet Blackberry GU...because I gotta train my belly as well as my legs!

The PT strap for my knee is here to stay. It keeps my knee cap from moving around (and exacerbating my cartilage injury)

Another reason I wanted to run 10 was that I like to follow a simple formula. I want the total miles of my weekday runs to equal my long run. Most training programs follow that rule in some way and I find it easy to incorporate into my “return to running” plans when I’ve needed to take some time off. The next two weeks of the return to running plan I created, which will hopefully help me get back to 30-35 weekly miles and a long run of around 16 miles by the end of May, looks like this

Slowly yet surely!

Tons of questions for you today:

How far did you run this past weekend?ย If you’re not a runner, were you able to get out and be active?ย 

Do you have a favorite treadmill or exercise machine? If someone is on it do you wait until they get off or use another machine?

–I will wait 25 minutes max if someone else is on my TM (because even though the treadmill is at the gym, it’s mine) . If I walk in and see that someone is on it I automatically get annoyed. I’m protective of it. We’ve logged some really good miles together! ๐Ÿ™‚

What is your favorite candy?

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 10 Miler and “Return to Running”

  1. Idlehide says:

    that’s too funny, I have a favorite treadmill too. It’s the third one in on the left and…it’s mine! I get kind of angry when there is someone just walking on it. Yup, it’s mine.

  2. kaitwatts says:

    I have a favorite treadmill too, but I can’t be picky in the mornings because I am on a time schedule. This weekend I did 7 on Friday and 15 on Saturday. I wanted to try pushing hard two days in a row and practicing running on tired legs. Great job on your 10 miler. I also have to train my stomach.

    • That makes total sense. I’ve tried to run more in the mornings (other than the days I do my long runs in the summer), and I just can’t! I’m definitely a 5:30-6pm right after work gym-goer ๐Ÿ™‚

      Nice mileage this weekend!! You’ll have to let me know how running on tired legs went, that’s really good practice for a race!

  3. I think it’s great that you are taking it nice and slow to get back into running. You surely won’t regret it if you take those baby steps! I do not have a favorite treadmill (I avoid those things at all costs), but I do have a favorite spin bike. Second row, so not too far back. Not against the wall, but close enough so that I can’t really see the clock and get obsessed with checking the time every 5 minutes. I get pretty peeved when someone else grabs it for a class!

  4. I wasn’t able to run this weekend but I’m hoping to get out there tomorrow and test out my legs.

    I really don’t like the treadmill and tend to avoid it at all costs but when I do use it I like to switch it up. Especially for long distances! If I’m running 10+ on the treadmill I’ll run the first 7 on one and then switch over to another. It gives the workout more variety!

    • That’s a really good idea! I bet switching it up helps mentally with the long runs on the TM as well. I’m definitely going to try that! (although now that it’s summer, I won’t have to run on the “dread” mill as much lol)

      Good luck with your taper before your race!

  5. Even though I don’t really go to the gym often, I am pretty particular about which treadmill I use. I like to have a nice view overlooking the rockclimbing wall below (entertain to watch), don’t like being trapped in the corner, haha.

  6. 10 miles on the treadmill! major props to you. i start going crazy after awhile ๐Ÿ˜‰

    when i do run on the treadmill, i like to do speedwork. so a minute jog a minute sprint and so on.

  7. Sandee says:

    I am nursing a sore hip so I have been trying not to run and miss it. I was in Palm Dpings this weekend and ran in the pool (ALOT). I was grumbling about it the whole time but it really worked my calves so I was happy about that. Next weekend we are doing a 100k bike ride and I’m kinda nervous because I just got the clips and they totally scare me. (glad you’re feeling better)

  8. Pingback: Gosh Golly I Needed That | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  9. Pingback: New Job, Gym & Space Shuttle Sighting | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  10. Pingback: I wanna punch 12 miles in the face | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  11. Pingback: 2012 “Year of the Comeback” Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

