Hoarding: Running Shoe Edition

Most runners have more than one pair of sneaks lying around. Most have a few they like to rotate through their training schedule and I’m no exception. I’m especially bad (or good, depending on how you look at it) because I wait until the shoes go on sale (when the new model is released) to buy multiple pairs. I at least usually end up with different colors but this time around I have four of the exact same pairs. Asics 2160s. I’ve worn the 2100 series for years now but don’t really like what they’ve done with the new 2170s so I think after these are worn out it’s time to switch shoes.

"You call this hoarding? Come see my toy bin...now THAT's a serious case"

I’ve had to mark the inside so that I don’t confuse them! ๐Ÿ™‚ Can you guess which ones are the oldest/newest?

ย They’re lined up oldest to newest from left to right. Right now I am rotating the two middle pairs and am waiting to break in the ones on the far right. Those suckers have seen a lot of miles!

"You're gonna take pics of stinky old shoes rather than ones of me? I want in on this action!"

How many running shoes do you have at once? Do you rotate them as you train? What are your favorite “go-to” shoes/models?ย 

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, running. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hoarding: Running Shoe Edition

  1. I have multiple shoes, but only two running pairs: the Sprint Vibram 5 Fingers, and the New Balance Trail Minimus. I have foot issues, so I have to have very minimal shoe between me and the ground. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ All of my other ones are Inov8s for when I do CrossFit. What shoes do you think you’ll switch to?

    • I’ve wanted to try out minimalist shoes but I’ve been using these stability babies for so long!!! I’ve worked hard on my running gait (landing on my forefoot) and cadence so I wonder how much more I could benefit from a minimalist shoe. I might look at the New Balance shoes your run in….thanks for the suggestion!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Rebekah says:

    I love your dog! So expressive!

    I hear you on the shoe love. I’m a diehard Saucony fan and I really love the Mirages. They’re a good blend of stability/minimal and they work really well for me. I’ve worked hard on forefoot strike as well and they seem to lend themselves to that.

    Doesn’t look like you’ll be needing any for a while, though! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I want to snuggle your puppy so bad.
    I wish I had some shoes that worked for me. Mine were discontinued and I’m not liking anything else I’ve tried. It is a ridiculous saga that is still going on. My feet are so snobby. They just can’t make up their mind. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Carina says:

    I used Sauconys for years, then moved to Brooks Glycerin, and now I also have one pair of Asics Supernova that I rotate in.

    My favorite idea for what to do with an older pair of shoes is to put a pair in your trunk and keep them there forever. They’ll be there in a pinch if you’re going to the gym and have forgotten shoes, but more importantly, they’ll be nearby in the event of any kind of disaster where you need to walk somewhere. Whether it’s running out of gas, a major road closure, or something on a bigger scale, having shoes nearby in which you can move will help. I keep a pair of socks in mine.

  5. Pingback: Run To You | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  6. Pingback: Back in the Saddle — “Prepping the Part” | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

