Further Proof That Running Is A Drug

I’ve finally been able to test out a run. It’s been a week and a half after since that freak reaction to an Orthovisc injection (a lubricant that is similar to synovial fluid, a substance that occurs naturally in the joints). I am officially one of the less than 2% of people who get what’s called “pseudosepsis” from the shot. Basically that means that I had symptoms similar to a joint infection but my knee wasn’t actually infected. FUN, right?

So after taking the devil drug Prednisone for a week, icing like a crazy person, and most importantly not running, my knee has gotten a bit better. It’s still not 100% better and I’m not actually sure when or if that will happen without further treatment like a cortisone shot, but at least I’ve been able to eeek out some short (read: 1-2 mile) runs.

Such was the case yesterday when I finally got back on the treadmill. Not being able to run has been really difficult. I think it was even more difficult because I knew that I didn’t have a running injury! I had some really rare reaction, which annoyed me even more. I know most runners talk about the “runners high” and their addiction to running and my run yesterday provides great–albeit, anecdotal–evidence that running is like a drug.  I only went 1. 5 miles but it was enough to get me smiling again

As soon as I got warmed up I could feel the endorphins. I could literally feel happiness wash over me. Much like this scene but without the “I’m so….scared” part

 (source)

So what if I had to wear every PT strap known to man (the ITB strap is to prevent any lingering problems I had after the Colonial Half Marathon and the knee strap helped to compress my swollen knee).

I could FEEL the running love. I’m not saying that all runs are like that. Some are awful. But many are great, and I was able to really acknowledge how necessary running is to my life yesterday after taking almost 2 weeks off. I can’t imagine taking off time again soon so I’ve been careful to continue with my ice bath routine

hurts so good

The unforeseen break in my training schedule has definitely messed up my racing calendar. I planned on running the Charlottesville 10 miler this Saturday but now that’s not an option. The 10 miler is a really fun local race that has a very challenging, hilly course that takes you around the University of Virginia and downtown Charlottesville. I didn’t run it last year because it was one week after I ran the Shamrock Marathon and I didn’t want to risk getting hurt (I actually ended up running the Monument 10k in Richmond with my friend Melissa that day anyways).  But I ran it 2 years ago, 2 weeks before I ran the Boston Marathon, and I had a great race

About to run 10miles = Jumping for JOY!!!!

    I’m hoping to get back on track this and next week with my training for my upcoming half marathons. If you have any advice on getting back into training after taking some time off please share!!

*Oh, and I got an email from RnR with a special offer to register for the Las Vegas race this year (all race participants got the offer due to our awful experience last year). I’m kind of thinking about doing it again this year. Anyone else??

Subscribe bloglovin

This entry was posted in active life, running, training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Further Proof That Running Is A Drug

  1. Rebekah says:

    Just found your blog and love your vibe! 🙂

    Completely agree that the runner’s high is the best. Advice for getting back to where you were? I think it’s different for everybody, honestly. You probably know that! Just listen to that bod.

  2. Pingback: 2012 “Year of the Comeback” Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

