Style is Back–Mad Men Premiere Party

If you haven’t yet, you have TWO more days to enter to win a Golden Ticket to be able to register for the sold out Marine Corps Marathon on October 28th (the fee to enter is $95, the golden ticket gives you guaranteed ability to register). To enter, write a comment here

***********

It’s been awhile since we talked fashion people!!!!

I’ve been so excited for the return of Mad Men. I love the show not only because of the fabulous style but because of the clever story lines and character development. I am intrigued by the plight of women in the 1960s to gain equal ground as men in the workplace and the show does a wonderful job of highlighting the challenges that women faced (which they continue to face today to a lesser degree)

So I knew I wanted to do something fun for the season 5 premiere of the show last night. Turns out, the Paramount Theater in Charlottesville was hosting a Mad Men pre-party and showing (actually, the party was put on by local advertising agency Payne, Ross & Associates…fitting for a show about ad execs, no?). It was a theme party so they encouraged attendees to dress up Mad Men style. I’m not one to turn down such a great opportunity because 1) I love to dress up and 2) I love the show. You can see a local news story covering the party here

Before we get to the rest of my pics from the party, let’s talk fashion people.

The fashion on the show, particularly for women, has influenced designers and popular retailers alike. Banana Republic has offered a special Mad Men line in concurrence with each season and ladylike silhouettes dominated the spring runways. Midi/maxi skirts, peplums with pencil skirts, and pleats galore. The mid-twentieth century was a time when people–women and men alike–got dressed up. They made an effort. And what’s not to like about that?

I really love the style of each and every character on the show but I especially like Betty Draper’s (January Jones). Even though it harkens back to the era of domesticity and housewives in which women had less power and freedom, the clothes were beautiful! Here are my favorite Betty Draper frocks

 

As you can see both the full skirt and more form-fitting pencil silhouettes are donned on the show and I needed to decide which way to go for the party.

Left: Betty Draper; Right: Louis Vuitton Spring 2010 Collection

I have a great full pleated skirt from Zara (which I wore here) and blouse with peter pan collar that I thought would be perfect but decided it wasn’t formal enough party attire. So I decided instead to go for a floral frock that mirrored Betty’s style in the above photo. Paired with a beaded necklace, sling-back pumps with bows, gloves, and a red lip, I was ready for the party. The pics are a bit grainy because I only had my phone camera, but you get the idea.

Dress: Maggie London; Shoes: Nine West; Clutch: Badgley Mischka; Gloves: vintage store find

 You can find the Maggie London Floral Print Satin Dress ($148) at Dillards. My friend channeled more of a Joan dress and she looked fabulous! I loved our shoes 🙂

 The men looked pretty dapper as well.

   Tickets to the party included one free drink from the bar,  h’orderves , and some candy cigarrettes 🙂 I chose to go with a dirty martini before sitting back and enjoying the season 5 premiere showing from the balconey

 P.S. White gloves are not practical. How did women used to wear them? Mine were stained within 5 minutes

The episode was amazing. Well worth the wait! I can’t wait to watch it again every Sunday night. And I swear now I’ll try to put an effort into my everyday attire and not just wear yoga pants and t-shirts. I’m going to start doing that tomorrow. Or maybe the next day… 😉

Do you watch Mad Men? Is there another show that you love and look forward to every week? 

This entry was posted in fashionable life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Style is Back–Mad Men Premiere Party

  1. Mrs. C. says:

    You look so cute! What a fun event! I don’t watch Mad Men, but I feel like I might need to find the other seasons and hop on the wagon, esp. because I am a history teacher and love decade based movies, shows, etc. . I love watching The Walking Dead, True Blood, Pretty Little Liars, and Army Wives.

  2. What a cool event! I love the BR Mad Men line, but sadly it doesn’t look as good on me as it does on the models. 🙂

  3. This looks like such a fun party! I love your dress. I have a black lace dress from BR’s original Mad Men collection and I swear I get endless compliments on it, it’s such a classic piece to wear. Since it is my first time here, I also wanted to say I’m really enjoying catching up on your very active lifestyle! It is very inspiring and you make it look very fun. I’m trying to fall in love with working out and it’s awesome to find people who make it look so worthwhile. Have a great one!

Leave a Reply

