Making The Rounds

I’ve been at conference in Roanoke, Virginia learning about all of the exciting new instructional techniques happening in our community college system

I’ve never been to Roanoke before, but it’s surprising large. When I drove in I was shocked to see a “skyline” (I mean, there are taller buildings here). The conference is at the Hotel Roanoke, which is probably one of the nicest buildings in town

I’m presenting today and am busy finalizing my power point so I’ll make this post quick. Here are some links that might interest you today:

*Have you entered to win a Golden Ticket to be able to register for the sold out Marine Corps Marathon on October 28th? (the fee to enter is $95, the golden ticket gives you guaranteed ability to register) You can do so here

*Check out some fab Pour La Victoire and French Connection shoes and apparel today on Gilt (and log on right at noon to nab a Kooba handbag before they sell out in like 10 minutes)

*In between novels, I’ve been reading the Runner’s World collection of stories Going Long.

*One of my favorites so far is “Life and Limb”, the story of Tom White who cut off his own left let in order to be able to run again. It speaks to how important (and necessary) running is for so many people to live happy, fulfilled lives. You can read the full story online here.

*Are you on the crazy Hunger Games bandwagon? I read the books but didn’t think that they were that great—GASP—I know.  There is a lot of great fiction out there that has intriguing plots and is well written. With that said, I do love a good post-apocalyptic/dystopian storyline.  You can read the New York Times Movie Review, which compares a scene in the movie to my all time favorite movie The Last of the Mohicans. So  maybe the movie will be even better than the book? I mean, it doesn’t get better than Daniel Day Lewis in LOTM. I’ll leave you with that today 🙂

why HELLOOOOOO there

What’s your all time favorite movie? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Making The Rounds

  1. Carina says:

    I also didn’t love the books. I mean, they were fine, but there’s so much great stuff out there, fiction and non-fiction, that these just didn’t wow me. And since I can’t think of any instance where I actually liked the movie MORE than the book, I think I’ll just skip the movies…

  2. Pingback: 2-Mile Rule | Let's Go on a Living Spree

Leave a Reply

