I’ve Got A Golden Ticket!!!!!!!!

And YOU can have one too if you want to register for the Marine Corps Marathon, which sold out in a world record breaking 2 hours and 41 minutes

Cue the Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Music

I earned mine while running the Irish Sprint 10k on Saturday, a grueling course fit for a marine. Β I’ve already signed up for the marathon, which means I have one EXTRA ticket with special code and password that you enter at marinemarathon.comΒ (or go here directly)Β to register (the cost for registering is $95). It is a coveted spot in the “People’s Marathon” in D.C. on October 28th.

Do you want a bib to run the Marine Corps Marathon? Leave a comment and I will do a random giveaway (if I get enough interest, otherwise if you are the only one who comments, it’s yours! πŸ™‚ ) The golden ticket expires on March 31st, so you have until ***March 28th, to comment.Β 

Do you want to join me and these lucky runners with a “golden ticket” and “golden twinkle” in their eye?

Oh and you’ll also be running with 30,000 others.

SUDDENLY HALF THE WORLD IS MINE, WHAT AN AMAZING THING

CUZ I GOT A GOLDEN TICKET

…AND WITH A GOLDEN TICKET, IT’S A GOLDEN Β DAY

πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in active life, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

170 Responses to I’ve Got A Golden Ticket!!!!!!!!

  1. Kelly Nelson says:

    OMG – amazing! I’d *love* to be considered πŸ™‚ Sign me up for your drawing!

  2. Pingback: I’ve Got a Golden Tiiiiiicketttt!!! | Hungry Healthy Happy

  3. How awesome! I was just saying I wanted to do a fall marathon. I’m crossing my fingers!!!!

  4. SkinnyRunner says:

    I WANT IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    whoa, i need to slow down and chillax.

  5. Kate says:

    How exciting!!

  6. Katy says:

    Best marathon ever! I’d love to run it again this year:)

  7. Pingback: MPH, A Giant Donut and Some Tunes

  8. Deborah Williams-Alvarez says:

    I would love to run the MCM! I was planning to run the 10K since i didn’t get registered. Please sign me up for your drawing. Fingers crossed. Thanks!

  9. Frankie says:

    I would love do do a full marathon!!

  10. Heather says:

    I found your giveaway thru HRG and would love to run the MCM!

  11. Amber L says:

    OH MY WORD!

    I would love this!

    Thanks for the opportunity!

    -a

  12. I would LOVE to run this marathon! I am trying to fill up my running schedule for the rest of the year and this would fit perfectly! πŸ™‚

  13. Jill Z. says:

    Being from DC, I have ALWAYS dreamed of running the MCM.

  14. katie says:

    ME ME ME!!!! PLEAASE! πŸ™‚

  15. This race sounds amazing! I would love love love to run it!!!!

  16. Lindsey says:

    I would love to run it! Count me in!

  17. Meg says:

    Me, me me!!! It is on my must race list and I still need to pick out my fall marathon. MCM would be perfect.

  18. Joelle says:

    omg! Running this is a History Teacher’s Dream!!! I would love to be able to get entry. Thanks for a great giveaway:)

  19. Anonymous says:

    I would love to run the Marine Corp marathon!

  20. Jordan Foster says:

    AH! that would be AMAZING!!!!!

  21. Maegen says:

    I would love the Golden Ticket!! What a GREAT giveaway!!

  22. jayloh says:

    oh, me! Pick me! I had my eye on this race as my FIRST full marathon. Couldn’t pull the trigger before it sold out. You’re very cool (in my prestigious book) for offering this as a giveaway. We’d be BFFs (just what you always wanted from a stranger, right?!) if this happened.

    • Hahaha, I love blogger BFFs (not that I have that many because I haven’t been blogging that long…or actually haven’t been making an effort to blog for that long). I’ve heard this is a fantastic first marathon so I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you πŸ™‚

  23. liz says:

    I would love to win this!!

  24. would LOOVE LOVE LOVE to do this marathon!

  25. kristen says:

    Pick me! I would love to win!

  26. david says:

    Would love to do this. Been running for many many years, since junior high, but have never done a full marathon. I’ve always heard that MCM is a fabulous first one to do. This is really great of you to offer this up.

  27. CJ says:

    So cool! You’re probably about to be inundated from the link on HRG’s blog (that’s how I found you, but I’m always glad to find another great running blog & even local in the mid-Atlantic).

    I missed the entry frenzy for MCM since I was distracted by celebrating my daughter’s birthday. Being in MD, I’d really love to make this my fall goal marathon.

    Looking foward to following your blog.

  28. Lucy says:

    I live in dc and would love to run the MCM!

  29. Jenn says:

    I want to run it SO bad. It sold out faster than Chicago this year!

  30. Britt @ runwithbritt says:

    Oh my goodness! I’m crossing my fingers for this one!

  31. Grace says:

    It sold out before I could get sign up!!!! I want in!! 2012!

  32. Meredith says:

    yes please!! moving to DC in 2 months and I was about 3 hours too late to register 😦

    • Wasn’t it awful how fast it sold out? Most people didn’t even get a chance to register! I’m actually moving up to D.C. (Alexandria) for a part-time job in the next month (will commute back down to Charlottesville sometimes). Training for this marathon in D.C. would be a great way to start out in the city πŸ™‚

  33. Adria Biasi says:

    I wanna win a golden ticket!!! I run extra hard for it!

  34. Kendall says:

    What an awesome opportunity this would be- I would LOVE to run this race! Good luck in it!

  35. Cate says:

    I would LOVE a bib!

  36. pamula2000 says:

    yes, yes, yes!! I’d love to do this! please sign me up! :))

  37. Amy G says:

    I would love to run this! One of my best friends is a Marine & I would run it in honor of him!

  38. Laura says:

    ahhh you are awesome. a bib would be AMAZING. and also I love your blog, i just found it through Hungry Runner Girl. i live in georgetown and love it that you spent your st. patty’s day here!

  39. Stefanie Christopher says:

    I’d love to run this race!!

  40. This is awesome! I’ve always wanted a golden ticket, mostly for the candy factory, but running would be fun too.

    But seriously, I want that ticket.

  41. kara t. says:

    What an amazing experience that would be! I would love an opportunity like that πŸ™‚

  42. Katie says:

    I’m running my first half in May, not quite ready for a full, but if I won this I would give it to my sister who is dying to sign up for the perfect marathon to do…and this is it! Her husband is already signed up for it, he got in because he is active duty military, it filled up before she could get in. So this would be awesome to win for her!

  43. Marina says:

    I want the golden ticket! i was injured and couldn’t run my first marathon, so here’s to not giving up!!

  44. Meghan says:

    Yes please!!!

  45. Cindi B says:

    I’d LOVE that Golden Ticket!!! I’ve been trying to get into the MCM for years when it didn’t coincide with Halloween weekend (I have little kids)…PLUS, this year it’s on my BIRTHDAY! =)

    • Oh goodness!!! Running the marathon would be a wonderful bday present to yourself. And I know what you mean about Halloween. I’ve chosen not to run it in the past because I didn’t want to take that weekend. They remedied that for us this year. Keep an eye out for the announcement early next week πŸ™‚

  46. Christina says:

    Saw a link to your blog on HRG πŸ™‚ I would LOVE to do the MCM!! I’m running the philly marathon in november but I can’t wait that long!

  47. Allison says:

    I would LOVE to win this!!!!!! How awesome would that be!!!!!

  48. I want to run my first marathon this fall so this would be perfect! And I live in Baltimore so it wouldn’t be too far away!

  49. Aditi Naik says:

    I would love to run this!

  50. Ashley says:

    I would love it!

  51. Leah says:

    Pick me, pick me!!! This would be my first marathon, so what better way to start!! I would LOVE the golden ticket πŸ™‚

  52. Lucy says:

    Oh my goodness! Pretty please! That is literally right before I plan to leave on a mission so it would be a serious dream come true!

  53. Julie says:

    I’d love to run the MCM! DC is an AMAZING city!

  54. Pingback: There’s No Crying In Running | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  55. Danielle W says:

    oh yes please! MCM is my dream first marathon!

  56. Jamie says:

    Ah! So jealous! I would LOVE to run MCM! I’ve got my fingers crossed over here!

  57. Jamie says:

    OH I was JUST drooling over MCM in all of it’s sold-outed-ness splendor!

  58. Maggie says:

    I would LOVE to run MCM – my first! A golden ticket is just the motivation I’d need…

  59. Laura says:

    I heard about this from hungryhealthymj.
    I’m a MD native living in TX, so I would love an excuse to go back home in October. I would even break out my dad’s 1994 MCM shirt for the occasion (I run in his old race shirts, but can’t bring myself to wear that one until I’ve actually run the race).

  60. Sue says:

    I’d love to win the Golden Ticket and try to beat Oprah’s time ….:-) I bet someone famous will run it this year, which is always fun. (Last year was Drew Carey)

  61. Meredith says:

    oh please, please, please!! i would LOVE a golden ticket!! that way, when i see the “you paid for this” marathon signs, i can giggle to myself – “no, i won a golden ticket!!” πŸ™‚

  62. Neon Blonde Runner says:

    I would love it!!!! Thanks for such a fab opportunity!!

  63. Jennifer says:

    I want the golden ticket!!!

  64. Dawn Centanni says:

    It’s awesome that you are giving such a wonderful opportunity to a commentor! Thank you so much…I was dissappointed to have been shut out of this…but maybe, just maybe πŸ™‚

  65. Suzanne says:

    Ooh, meeee!!!!! Thanks for sharing your extra entry with one of us! I love D.C. and have been wanting to do a running event there.

  66. Heidi says:

    I would love to win the golden ticket and run this marathon! I’m from Canada and have never even been to D.C.- what an awesome way to experience the area if I did get this chance!

  67. Megan K says:

    I would live to win this! I have two friends running this race and it would be awesome to run with them.

  68. Pingback: Making The Rounds | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  69. Kara D says:

    I would love to run in the Marine Corps Marathon – I totally want it! πŸ™‚

  70. Run To Munch says:

    Sign me up! I would love to come back to DC for a rematch!

  71. Laura says:

    I found this through Janae also – that’s so nice of you to offer up an entry! I ran MCM two years ago (dressed as Supergirl, because it was on Halloween!) and would LOVE another chance at the steep hill at mile 26.1!

  72. Kate says:

    I just did my first marathon last Sunday, and I would LOVE to do MCM this fall!!

  73. loramarie03 says:

    OMG amazing!! Would love to do MCM!!!! *fingers crossed i’m super lucky today*

  74. Pingback: FRIDAY RANDOMNESS |

  75. Pingback: This Is What Happens When You Haven’t Run for 5 Days | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  76. Sandee says:

    Sign me up! :))

  77. Candice says:

    Please sign me up. I just ran my first race, the Rock n Roll Half, here in DC. I never thought I could do it. A marathon would be my dream. And it means a lot to my dad, a former Marine himself.

  78. Pingback: Irish Sprint 10k Recap | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  79. chip williams says:

    hi there… did you hear about the 2 peanuts walking in central park? 1 was assaulted (a salted)… sign me up for that golden ticket please!!!

  80. Jim says:

    I’m not sure if it’s too late to get in on this but I would like that Golden ticket!!! I just finished my very first Marathon and want to run this one for my Dad.

  81. Pingback: Style is Back–Mad Men Premiere Party | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  82. Pingback: Last Chance For A Golden Ticket! | Let's Go on a Living Spree

  83. Tom says:

    I would like that Golden ticket! It would be a great experience for my first marathon!

  84. Pingback: The Reader Roundup

  85. Erin says:

    I would love to do this race! I tried to get in last year and was too late to sign up!

  86. Sandy says:

    Pick me! Pick me!! I want that golden ticket!!

  87. Lizzie P says:

    Amazing giveaway!! The race sold out before I could sign up – I’d love another shot to run!

  88. Emily says:

    Wow, thanks so much for hosting this giveaway! I have heard fabulous things about Marine Corps and would love to run it, plus I have family in the DC area that I would love to have the opportunity to see while out there!

  89. halfmilehamm says:

    My sister is moving to Maryland in April and I’ve been looking for races to run in that area… it would be my first marathon, and I would be so honored to have it be such a prestigious race!

  90. deb yingling says:

    Deb Yingling…..a PE Teacher here…..I have been training for a full….just completed my second half…JUST TURNED 40! ug…a new decade of faster runners πŸ™‚ I am determined to complete 26.2!!! I would be honored to run on your golden ticket πŸ™‚ Thank you!!!!!!!!!!

  91. oh my gosh, so cool. I would love to run MCM!

  92. amee says:

    What an awesome giveaway! You must totally feel like willy wonka! I sooo want to run this!! Sold out before I could sign up 😦

  93. Amy says:

    I would love to win the golden ticket! Thanks for the opportunity!

  94. Amber says:

    Perhaps this will be the push I need to continue running!

    Now I have Willy Wonka in my head. Thaaaanks. (The movie scared/scarred me as a child…*shudders*)

  95. Melissa McCarthy says:

    This marathon would fulfill my goal of 3 marathons this fall!!!!! I’ve been trying to figure out which and it’s a week after my second!!!!! I did two last year! I want to end 2012 with a bang (or at least some really tired legs πŸ™‚ )

  96. ebougie says:

    I live at the start/finish of MCM! If I got the Golden Ticket, I would totally let you freshen up after and feed you Georgetown Cupcakes. A little bribing doesn’t hurt, right?

  97. andrea s says:

    I would like to be entered in this please. Thank you!

  98. taratru says:

    Oooooo! I want it!
    p.s. – Thanks for putting that damn song in my head.

  99. leynao says:

    Wow – that would be phenomenal to win that! Just heard about this from Skinny Runner. This would be my first ever marathon!!

  100. jen says:

    i’d love to be considered! my friend is running it for her first marathon and i’d love to join her for my first too!

  101. kylee says:

    Omg I would loveee this!!!

  102. Emily says:

    yes, please!!!!! this would be my first full πŸ™‚

  103. Nguyen says:

    I’d never run this marathon before and would love to win the entry. Thanks for the giveaway.

  104. AnneB says:

    Ohhh pick me!! Its just what I need to dedicate to my first marathon!! πŸ™‚

  105. Caroline says:

    This would be an amazing marathon to do!!!!

  106. Tara says:

    I would love to run this one!

  107. tdowell says:

    I would love to do the MC marathon!! DC is one of my favorite cities and I’ve always wanted to run a race there! Plus, there’s this boy living there who I think might be my soul mate, and I could use the weekend there to convince him of that fact! πŸ™‚

    ~Tiffany

  108. David Yoo says:

    I wanted to run MCM but was overseas on business and missed the window if opportunity! Oh how I would love a shot at a golden ticket!

  109. Sarah S. says:

    I signed up for my first marathon for September 30th, but I live just outside DC – why not run another in 4 weeks? πŸ™‚

  110. Rachel F says:

    I would love thissss πŸ™‚

  111. Kristina says:

    I would love for this to be my first full!

  112. Especially Erin says:

    I’d love to win this! (Not a very original comment, I know.) Fingers crossed!

  113. I would love this as my first marathon! Do I get extra credit for my husband being a vet? Haha!

  114. Julie says:

    Saw your giveaway on Skinny Runner…I *tried* signing up and missed it by just a few minutes! I’d love another chance to get in πŸ™‚

  115. Erin says:

    I’ve been wanting to do my first marathon in the fall so I’d love to win!

  116. kaitwatts says:

    I would love to have this opportunity to run the Marine Corp Marathon!

  117. I would love to run this race!

  118. Kristin says:

    Pick me, pick me!!!!

  119. kpowers021 says:

    This is amazing!!! Pick me!!!

  120. Wow! Congrats on registering in time!!! And congrats on winning a second ticket!!! Count me in for the drawing! Thanks for offering this to everyone! You rock!!

  121. Well this is exciting. I have been looking for a full to run in the fall, so this may be it.

  122. I might be too late, but I have to comment anyway because this marathon is on my 25th birthday. Really can’t think of a better way to celebrate!

  123. sarah says:

    I would absolutley love to win this! Thanks for being so generous!

  124. Jacqueline says:

    Sign me up! What an awesome giveaway!

  125. Christina Keenan says:

    I want this to be my very first marathon!!!!

  126. Anonymous says:

    I’m a day late but I still want to try!!

  127. Freja says:

    Oh my goodness gracious. What a fantastic giveaway. This marathon is at the top of my bucket list so I’m crossing my fingers big time!

  128. suerocks30 says:

    I would love to do this race!!!

  129. Melody says:

    I’m probably too late! Wish I had known but would love the chance to run my first marathon as the Marine Corp Marathon!

  130. Jenn says:

    I want to explore the town on foot and be part of an awesome race. I’d love to be considered!

  131. Patty says:

    Would love for this to be my first ever marathon race!

  132. Randi Rasco says:

    I would love to challenge myself at this Marathon! I want in!

  133. jess says:

    love love love to win! πŸ™‚

  134. Heather S says:

    I would love to run! I had actually planned on registering but I was too slow 😦

  135. Bridget Walters says:

    I want to play! Pick me!!!

  136. Tara says:

    I would love love love to do a marathon! It would be my first ever, and I love DC!

  137. Christina says:

    I’ve heard that’s an amazing race! Pick me pick me πŸ™‚ How awesome you got the winning ticket!!

  138. Phebe Lockyer says:

    i would LOVE to run this marathon. i’m running my first half soon, and i am already itching to run my first full. race fees aren’t easy on a college student’s budget– winning this would be a dream come true!!!

  139. Sarah says:

    I would absolutely love to run this! This would be my first full Marathon and I could pick a better race to be a part of . I am so excited to take on the full marathon I have done a few halfs and can’t wait to take on a full πŸ™‚

  140. I read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory to my third graders and…um…(sigh) played Augustus Gloop’s mom in Playhouse Theater’s version of the book when I was in high school. “Augooostus! Augooostus! Not the chocolate river!”..uh, yeah. It was a stellar performance.

    Count me in!

  141. Madi says:

    Do you know. What I would give. PLEASE!

  142. thoughtsoflp says:

    I, like so many others, would love to win this! I was so upset when I wasn’t able to sign up for this race!!

  143. Michelle says:

    ME ME!!! PICK ME!!!! I’m working on my Marathon MANIAC number and this one would fit right into the plan! PLEEEEEAAASSSSEEEE!!!!!?!?!?! πŸ™‚

  144. Überfeff says:

    I’ve been wanting to graduate from half marathons to full marathons, and sounds like this is one of the best. Hope I win the golden ticket πŸ™‚

  145. Stacey T. says:

    I really want to run this one!! It sold out before I made my move but I’m crossing my fingers for the golden ticket!!! I already bought my mega millions ticket πŸ™‚

  146. Kathleen O says:

    Ooooh!!!!! I would LOVE to run this!!! My Dad and brother are Marines! This would be my redemption marathon, 1st one a disaster!! IT band issues killed me, took me over 5 hours to finish!
    Id love to give it another go in DC!
    Pick me please!
    Semper Fi!

  147. runrmomma says:

    Oh my gosh!!! I would LOVE to have this entry! My oldest son is a Corporal in the Marine Corps and just returned from Aghanistan. It would be AMAZING to be able to run this in his honor!! Semper Fi!
    Kristin

  148. Rebecca says:

    This race is on my bucket list. I would LOVE to have this entry. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

