2012 Academy Award Fashion Rundown

Thank you so much for the nice comments and support on my half marathon PR yesterday! I still can’t believe I ran that fast, especially because the course was extremely difficult (it even says that on the website and I don’t know how I missed that) and my knee had been hurting the day before the race (it didn’t hurt at all during the race!). My body today is really sore, especially strange areas like the bottom/sides of my feet. I figure if I hurt myself running my best half marathon time ever, well then hell I went down in a blaze of glory (even though I didn’t even get a medal for the race…they handed out finisher cups).

While I wait for my official time to be posted and for some photos from the race to post a recap, here’s a rundown of some of the fashion favorites and questionables from last night’s academy awards.

It's time for glitz and glamour people!

I suppose the theme of the night was Red, White and Metallics. Here are a few collages of my favorite looks of the night (sources for pics here and here)

Red, Coral, & Crimson

From left: Emma Stone in Giambattista Valli; Michelle Williams in Louis Vuitton; Natalie Portman in Christian Dior

Let’s just start off with Michelle Willaims who was hands down my favorite (and most everyone else’s favorite) of the night. Her coral LV tiered peplum gown was stunning. It was perfect with her skin tone and hair. And the brooch at her waist was perfection. I’ve been looking for a peplum dress/top lately because I knew that the style was huge for spring and now I really want one! Although Emma Stone’s dress has been compared to Nicole Kidman’s 2007 Oscar dress, I absolutely adore the crimson color on her. It’s hard to wear certain colors as a red head and I think she looks gorgeous. Finally, I’m a little up in the air on Natalie Portman, just because her dress is a bit too informal for the Oscars, but I think her retro hair makes up for that. She has a whole 50’s vibe going on, which is (or going to be) huge right now.

Whites

From left: Octavia Spencer in Tadashi Sjoji; Rooney Mara in Givenchy; Gwyneth Paltrow in Tom Ford

These ladies look smashing! Octavia Spencer has been killing it all award season long, donning Tadashi Sjoji at every show. Her dresses synch and gather to give her a nice waist and figure. Rooney Mara has recently been called a rock and roll Audrey Hepburn. She is so delicate looking with alabaster skin but still rocks some modern avante garde frocks. Her Givenchy choice last night was a surprise since she usually chooses black. But the white 20’s inspired gown looked stunning. Finally, does Gwyneth Paltrow ever get it wrong????? If there was one celebrity style that best fits my own style aesthetic it would be Paltrow’s. She usually wears something that is structured and modern but not severe. Her white Tom Ford dress with matching cape last night was gorgeous. Not everyone could pull that off, but Paltrow’s statuesque frame works perfectly with the dress.

Gold Metallics & Nudes

 

From left: Ellie Kemper in Vivienne Westwood; Jessica Chastain in Alexander McQueen; Kristin Wiig in J. Mendel; Cameron Diaz in Gucci

Gold metallics and nudes also dominated the red carpet last night. These colors are sometimes difficult to pull off because they can either clash with hair colors or skin tones.  I’m a bit undecided on Ellie Kemper’s look. Overall, I really like her dress; it’s different than the usual sequin dresses we see but somehow it is too matchy matchy with her hair. And I’m not sure about her heavy, blunt bangs. They may be too heavy. Jessica Chastain is so freaking beautiful. Seriously. I know that a lot of people didn’t like her dress but I really do. It is so ornate and embellished and her easy hair and makeup are perfect. She didn’t overdo it because the gown speaks for itself. Kristin Wiig’s J. Mendel choice is another dress that some panned. But I really like it! The corset top gives really nice structure and the nude is the right color for her skin tone. The only thing I would have changed would have been her hair. It is a little too easy breezy beachy for the Oscars. She should have done something more formal with her hair. Finally, there’s Cameron Diaz. She looks beautiful, no doubt about it. But haven’t we seen this before from her? I feel like she is very predictable. My take: beautiful but boring.

Dark Favorites

From left: Rose Byrne in Vivienne Westwood; Tina Fey in Carolina Herrera.

I absolutely loved these two looks! Aside from Michele Williams, these two were probably my other favorites. First off, I can’t get enough of Rose Byrne (I have a crush on both Byrne and Emma Stone). She is so strikingly beautiful and is a fashion risk-taker (I adored her Ellie Saab jumpsuit she wore to the Golden Globes)

Her one shoulder Vivienne Westwood sparkler was perfectly structured and paired well with her modern bob. Plus she is just so freakin’ skinny (but not in an overly anorexic way like Angelina Jolie). You didn’t get to see it that much, but the back of her dress was fab.

I also really liked Tina Fey’s gown (and I’m not just saying that because she is a UVa alum). The navy peplum style is really in right now (once again the peplum!). Sometimes her choices are questionable, but last night she got it right. Her hair, makeup, dress, and jewelry just all worked.

Questionables

From left: Jennifer Lopez in Zuhair Murad; Stacy Keibler in Marchesa; Angelina Jolie in Atelier Versace

Ahhh Jennifer Lopez. Can you please, PLEASE, choose something more appropriate for the Oscars? Did anyone tell her this wasn’t the Grammy’s? So confusing. She always wears these types of low-cut gowns and I’m sort of sick of it. The dress itself is stunning but I just think Lopez needs to do something new.

I’m not sure how I feel about Keibler’s dress. The strap that hangs off on the arm is a trend that is making a comeback and I for one think it just looks sloppy. Like she needs to pull it up on her shoulder. Plus, that big rosette sewn into the hip just looks silly. Maybe because it doesn’t go with the slinky gold color, which is usually best on more plain, modern dresses.

Finally, the leg seen round the world. Jolie’s Versace dress with the awkwardly placed thigh-high slit just doesn’t do it for me. I hate how everyone always ooohs and ahhs over Angelina, but I think she 1) Is way too skinny to be attractive 2) Chooses strange dresses that are either completely covered up or show a lot of skin. The slit in her dress last night was gorgeous, don’t get me wrong. But it was somehow placed too far over to the side. Had the dress been constructed with the slit more on the front of her leg, she wouldn’t have had to pose so strangely. Bottom line, she just looks too contrived.

I saved the best…or in this case, the WORST, for last. What was Shailene Woodley thinking?????? Her white Valentino dress is way too stuffy for anyone at that venue, much less a girl who is only 20 years old.

But those are just my opinions about last night’s fashion. What were your favorites? Least favorites? 

This entry was posted in fashionable life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

