NYFW / BCBG

New York Fashion Week kicked off last night and I for one can’t wait to see what the trends will be for the fall and winter of next year! You all know that I try to keep up with some of the trends (chartreuse, pleating/midi-skirts, high-low hems, maxi skirts, etc) even though I live in the small town of Charlottesville, which has a strong Southern “preppy” vibe (fab for spring and summer!). I usually try to take what I see in terms of trends and adapt them for life here.

I also try to live vicariously through my twin sis who lives in NYC the epicenter of it all. She can rock a downtown hipster vibe and not look out of place at all (unlike if I tried to do that here). She texted me earlier that she had been spotted by a street style photog on her way to work and had her picture taken. I of course needed to see how fab she looked

She looks gorg in her silk blouse (love it buttoned all the way up!), army green vest, and Forever 21 sparkly necklace πŸ™‚

Because I can’t be there to rock some trends and get followed by the paparazzi like my sis, I have to follow all the action on the blogs.

Celebs at The Heart Truth’s Red dress Collection Fashion Show, which kicked off fashion week last night, looked fantastic in red.

Can Christie Brinkley look any better? Geez, she hasn’t aged at all (she’s 58 years old!). What is her secret????????

(Source)

In an attempt to look more youthful it seems that Rose McGowan has overdone it on her lips. Now she just looks scary (though I love her Cavalli gown). Minka Kelly, on the other hand, looks gorgeous as usual in a DVF sparkly number.

(Source)

NYFW is just getting underway so all I’ve really seen (other than The Heart Truth’s show) is BCBG. I personally went through a BCBG addiction when I lived in Boston. The dresses are gorg and the brand is still (relatively) affordable. Here are some of my favorite past BCBG dresses

Summer 2007

Spring 2007 (I'm on the right)

Fall 2007

Spring 2008

Winter 2009 (I'm on the left)

Summer 2010

Summer 2010

Winter 2010

Many of those dresses I still own, but a lot of them I have given away or consigned. That means there is room for more!! Today’s BCBG show featured the color-blocking trend that’s been going strong for over a year now. Rather than bright colors, though, the garments showcased more muted tones (makes sense for fall!)

Makes me want to go shopping…I’ve had my eye on these BCBG Color-Blocked Sandals

A-mazing!!

Is there a designer or brand you feel just suits you?Β 

This entry was posted in fashionable life, shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NYFW / BCBG

  1. Love the blog! So glad you mentioned it over brunch at Westville.

    There’s absolutely a designer that suits me. I adore Karen Millen and would gladly dress head to two in the company’s designs if only I could. I bought my first two dresses in Edinburgh years ago. The clothes used to be tough to get in the US except online, but slowly more retail stores are popping up.

    -Julia

  2. Idlehide says:

    you guys should share your beauty:)
    Great dresses for sure!

  3. Now I know why I like your blog, I’m in LOVE with all things BCBG…it’s a serious staple in my closet too. I just wish their clothes were more reasonably priced (or I wasn’t such a cheap ass).

    • YAYYYYYY!!!! I know, I agree sometimes it can be pricey. Usually they do a huge sale of everything every few months (like 75% off). When I lived in Boston the store clerk would call me to let me know πŸ™‚ Also, the outlet store is pretty great πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

