The Great Whoopie Pie Fiasco of 2011

I had a major baking FAIL yesterday. Although I’m pretty good at sticking to cooking 4 days a week and I don’t typically ruin my cooked dinners, I am not a baker (the only recipe that I consistently get right is my pumpkin bread). I even messed up a boxed baked good! I found this whoopie pie mix at the store and thought it would be a great idea to make for a holiday party my friend Claire was throwing. Everyone typically makes cookies for the holidays so I thought these would be a different treat to enjoy.

It started out so well. All I needed to do was mix oil, an egg, and some milk into the gingerbread batter

Then put them on a baking sheet and bake them for about 10 minutes. But when they came  out they were flat as a pancake! Not fluffy like the picture on the box 😦

And the frosting? Don’t even get me started on the frosting. The directions said to beat some room temperature butter until fluffy, then mix powdered sugar and vanilla. I followed the recipe exactly and the frosting tasted like straight butter. BUTTER. Plus, it was yellow (umm, did I say it had a lot of butter?) not white like on the box. Ok, ok I can admit that the “picture” on the box was a cartoon-like illustration…but mine didn’t turn out even close! I couldn’t even eat one. The “pie” cookies were flat and the frosting was just like buttered sugar. Eww.

So I threw them all away and made some gingerbread chai tea instead

And I didn’t end up bringing anything to the party. But my girl Claire had some amazing food and beautiful Christmas decorations, so my whoopie pies weren’t missed

Look at how gorgeous her tree is!

These cookies look so much better than the whoopie pies anyways!

Do you have a recipe you like to make or treat you like to eat over the holidays? 

This entry was posted in eating, hungry life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Great Whoopie Pie Fiasco of 2011

  1. Carina says:

    I’m about to do all my baking! Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

